We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good mid-range hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good mid-range hotel.”
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Stayed here for one night with 2 day business meeting either side also at the hotel. The hotel has a good location although a little tricky to find the entrance!
My room was clean and roomy & well equipped. The hotel in general was very clean and well maintained.
Hotel staff were pleasant and aimed to please. Check in/out was easy & fast.
Food was disappointing at lunch - pasta dishes were either too dry or too oily, breakfast looked uninspiring and generally the dining/food quality is the only thing to let this place down. Although a big 'thumbs up' for the fresh Welsh cakes served with our afternoon tea break!
Conference meeting rooms were fine, equipped with a flat screen TV for presenting which was a bit small to view at times. No facility in our room for hanging/placing flip chart posters on the walls for workshop events but we managed.
Overall this hotel is good value for money and would benefit greatly from improving the food quality.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Przemek K, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Dear Rachel O

Thank you for your honest review of our hotel. We’re very glad that your overall stay was positive. Our staff work very hard to maintain the cleanliness of the rooms and quality of the service so they will all be very happy that their hard work is noticed by the people who really matter. We will also always relay any more negative points with the correct departments. Recently we have been changing the way our kitchen is run and the introduction of our new Head Chef is something that we believe will soon help reform some of the finer points and issues. Our Food and Beverage services are extremely important to ourselves and our guests. You have our promise that we will always be striving to reach the standards that our customers expect. I hope your next stay will prove this with evidence of improvement.

Kindest Regards

Przemek Kaminski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,433
    1,427
    425
    140
    75
See reviews for
999
1,269
102
485
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dursley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Great location and easy to find. Rooms are large and clean and tidy. Did not have an evening meal here, but did have a drink in the bar when returning at end of day. beer not too good - rather cloudy and not well looked after (CAMRA member).
Breakfast was an experience - very busy half term week. Not enough staff to clear tables or wait at the tables. Buffet Ok but kept running out of food, and could never seem to get everything you wanted - hence average rating.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Przemek K, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear Malcolm A

Firstly I would like to thank you for the review. I’m very happy that you enjoyed your overall stay with us at the Future Inns Cardiff Bay. Although the fact that a member of CAMRA did not enjoy their beer leaves me concerned. For which reason we have decided to investigate the reason for your cloudy beverage. I can assure you that the majority of Beers served at the hotel are thirst quenching and from a well maintained stock. Whether it was a staff training issue or an operational problem, you can be assured that we will investigate the causes and rectify this so that your next Beer you enjoy at our hotel will be to a much higher standard.

I would also like to apologies for your less than perfect experience at Breakfast. Sometimes the weekend can mean very high demands during peak hours and although we try very hard to get staffing levels correct, the fluctuation in demand does leave us short on occasions. I will be looking into putting extra staff on half term weekends and/or the idea of multitask training staff from other departments, so that they can support our current restaurant team.

We really do appreciate your feedback, and we hope that next time you stay our actions will have improved the service the hotel offers and the quality of the products available.

Kindest Regards

Przemek Kaminski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed here for my birthday weekend in Cardiff with my sister. Have not visited before so was unaware of location and what was around for tourists etc.
Quick and easy check in, friendly and polite staff who were very willing to help with pointing out how to get to the bay area and what route to choose if we wanted to walk or bus etc.
We were pleasantly surprised with the room, two huge double beds meaning we could have one each, good facilities, clean and smart.
Bathroom was nice, and you could use the toilet even if someone was having a shower etc which was a bonus.
Limited car parking right outside of hotel which may be an issue for some but we could park in the next car parks for the likes of Pizza Hut etc with no issues.
Hotel was central enough for us but it did involve about 20 minutes walk to the center, but buses were available.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsG1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Przemek K, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear MrsG1982

We are truly delighted to read your review and that you enjoyed your visit to the Future Inn Cardiff Bay. Your comments and appraisals have been passed on to the relevant departments. We do pride ourselves on the cleanliness of the hotel and it’s fantastic location, we all hope that the next time you venture down to Cardiff to stay with us again, that your experience will be just as good.

Kindest Regards

Przemek Kaminski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Large modern hotel with its own car park (free a real bonus) just 5 mins walk from the Millenium Centre. Room very big with a comfy bed. Breakfast was quite good although some of the food was a bit cold. Very good value as we booked through Alpharooms and got B&B for £60. Very helpful staff. Bit difficult to find as hotel can be seen from the roundabout but no access from there. If coming from the direction of the M4 need to turn right at this roundabout heading towards the Red Dragon Centre, at next rbt turn left and left again (by the 'something chicken restaurant).
3 mins walk to bus stops but note you need to have the exact money, no change given and they don't take notes. £1.70 for a single, £3.40 for an all day ticket. Better to use the train which takes you to Queen Street, takes about 2 mins and the conductor gives change, will take cards etc and its cheaper ( I think it was £2.40 return)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRewse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Przemek K, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Dear S Rewes

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We at the Future Inn Cardiff are always happy to have helped in creating a positive experience. We’re sorry for the food being a bit cold at breakfast, we do try to make sure that the turnover of fresh food on the buffet is regular and kept under hot lights. We will always pass on all positive and negative comments to our staff and in doing so we hope to make the service we provide better and strengthen our team to ensure you’ll come back and enjoy the same experience again and again.

Kindest Regards

Przemek Kaminski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

location - excellent. great for visiting the stunning cardiff bay. and only a few minutes drive from the centre.
car park - excellent. plenty of room. free of charge
reception - excellent. very big and of a high standard.
staff - very friendly and helpful.
rooms - very big. clean. modern.
bar - very nice
breakfast - very nice. good variety.

overall - cant believe this is a 3 star. could easily be a 4 star. ive stayed in many 4 stars that were poor compared to this

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven Jenkins A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Przemek K, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Dear Mr Jenkins

We are completely thrilled by your review and all of us at the Future Inns would like to thank you for taking the time to write your thoughts down. We are a small chain and we aim to do as much as possible to meet the needs of our guests, so to see that you enjoyed your stay and to read your very kind review is a wonderful reward for us.

Kindest Regards

Przemek Kaminski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

A very comfortable business hotel close to Cardiff Bay. Staff are friendly and professional. Rooms are comfortable and spacious. Beds are the best I've ever slept in a Hotel! Breakfast was good quality and tasty. There is free WIFI throughout the hotel. Only minus is the lack of a real gym but this is only a small issue.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshSmash1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Przemek K, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Dear AshSmas

Thank you for your kind review. Our beds are very comfortable, and it is true that free WI-FI is a benefit that our guests respond very well to.
We always like to have met or exceeded expectations and so we were very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is true that we do have a very small, unmanned, exercise facility, but we do have plans for the future.
I would like to point out that we do not only caterer for business guests and we have many offers to aid people in enjoying Cardiff’s many available Leisure Pursuits.

We hope that you can get an opportunity to come to Cardiff and let your hair down, and enjoy our facilities with out the burden of work.

Kindest Regards

Przemek Kaminski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

The location of this hotel is excellent, just a short stroll away from all that Cardiff Bay has to offer. The hotel itself was spotless with very friendly staff and a lovely clean restaurant serving a variety of delicious food. The breakfast choice was huge. Our room was very spacious with 2 queen size beds and all the extras you would expect from a good quality hotel. The only downside was the noise from the traffic which kept us awake at night and the humidity in the room which made it difficult to sleep. The beds themselves were very comfortable though and we would definitely stay here again if we return to Cardiff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room farthest away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Przemek K, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Dear Alison B

Thank you for your very kind review. We at the Future Inns Cardiff Bay are really pleased that you enjoyed our hotel and its facilities. We are proud of the effort put in by our staff to create a positive experience for so many of our customers. Our location and ease of access does mean that we are very near a road and a lot of guests don’t notice it exists but this is something that some people do have trouble sleeping with. We will always be happy to locate you on the quieter side of the hotel and this will be assured if you make a request on making your reservation.

We hope that you come and stay with us again and that your next stay will tick all of your required boxes.

Kindest Regards

Przemek Kaminski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
1.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
1.3 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Future Inn Cardiff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Future Inn Cardiff Bay

Property: Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Address: Hemingway Road, Cardiff CF10 4AU, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Future Inn Cardiff Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Future Inn Cardiff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Future Inn Cardiff Bay Hotel Cardiff
Future Hotel Cardiff Bay
Future Inn Cardiff Bay Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing