We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very happy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very happy”
Reviewed 8 March 2013

I wasn't visiting Cardiff for pleasure and therefore chose a hotel that would have free parking and a big bed! And that is just what I got. Check in was very easy, our room was really clean and big, bed (although a bit hard) was huge, and there was plenty of free parking (and I didn't have a problem in finding a space at 9pm). Overall, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JR-LOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Przemek K, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Dear JR-LOR

Thanks for taking the time to jot down your thoughts. We are very pleased to have met your expectations. Your comfort is the number one priority for my colleagues and I. I hope that your next stay with us will be even more enjoyable and maybe next time your visit can be to enjoy the leisurely side of Cardiff. With the Wales Millennium Centre, Cardiff Bay and The City Centre just around the corner there are many things to do in Cardiff than hard work.

Kindest Regards

Przemek Kaminski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,433
    1,427
    425
    140
    75
See reviews for
999
1,269
102
485
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Have used the Future Inn many times over the last 4 years as it is my standard business stop in Cardiff. The key point here is value for money. This isn't a spa hotel but it isn't trying to be, it is however a good stopover with a reasonable breakfast, clean and well kept rooms with plenty of space.

My only complaint would be the rather odd but still functional cupboard where it is only easy to access one garment at a time. Still I always stay here and have a good service and my complaint isn't a major thing.

Breakfast is pretty good with a wide buffet selection for a full english.

This isn't the ideal hotel for the centre of Cardiff or sightseeing but is only a short taxi ride to get in there and is well place for motorways etc.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CliftTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Przemek K, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Dear CliftTravels

Obviously as a regular visitor to us at the Cardiff Bay Future Inns, your opinion is vital to our continued success, so we would like to express our gratitude for your review. You are correct in recognizing that we are marketed as a value for money option in Cardiff. Though it is not all we intend to be. We want to make sure that we hold on to you as a customer by supplying a service that we believe is generally unmatched by our competitors. We have a hotel with character and one part of that is our very large beds and sizable rooms. We do understand that our cupboards are not the largest but we hope that we will continue to mark highly in other areas and that you will keep staying with us as long as we do so. You can sign up to our rewards point scheme, as a regular customer you’ll be able to earn points really easily.

Thanks for your time and continued support.

Kindest Regards

Przemek Kaminski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
236 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013 via mobile

Good hotel convenient for the Bay.
Good large rooms which are invariably spotless. Even better since they have got rid of the computerised tellies!
Big firm (and for me therefore comfy) beds.
Will be back soon.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westwalesfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Przemek K, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Dear WestWalesFoodie

Although your review is short it is also sweet. We are very happy that you will return again and we hope that each time you stay you will have as good an experience, if not then much better.
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, your opinion is very much appreciated.

Kindest Regards

Przemek Kaminski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Spent a night here with friends as we were going to the Opera in the mellenium Centre. Check in and check out was easy, quick and efficient. The room was nice very clean, with two large double beds, well equiped bathroom, tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen TV. Didn't eat dinner here but had a drink in the bar after the concert. Staff were friendly and helpful and nothing too much trouble.
Had a good night sleep but breakfast was chaotic. We arrived at 10.10 on the sunday morning and there was a queue of about 10 people waiting to be allocated seats and to pay. We had already paid for breakfast when making booking. When I told the cashier that we had paid she said we still had to wait. Breakfast finished at 10.30 and by the time we got to the food there was very little left and staff started putting things away before we could even make a cup of tea. Breakfast food was average. Judging from the amount of hens and stags here they should make the breakfast till 11. Not many people want to get up early after a Saturday night out! If this could get sorted the hotel would be perfect. However, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Candicemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Przemek K, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Dear CandiceMarie

Thank you very much for spending the time to review our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your overall stay and that the services we offer were to your satisfaction. We will also take on board your suggestions about breakfast. One of the problems that any hotel has on the weekend is the influx of people arriving for breakfast past 9.30am. You are correct that we have many stag and hen parties on the weekend and they do tend to wait until the last moments to take breakfast. We are also very sorry that you found breakfast rushed towards the end. We will discuss your comments with all of our F&B department at our next meeting and we hope that we can find a solution that will help ease the queues and heighten the professionalism of our services.

We are delighted that you would stay with us again and I hope that we can make your next stay perfect.

Kindest Regards

Przemek Kaminski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Stayed here for one night with 2 day business meeting either side also at the hotel. The hotel has a good location although a little tricky to find the entrance!
My room was clean and roomy & well equipped. The hotel in general was very clean and well maintained.
Hotel staff were pleasant and aimed to please. Check in/out was easy & fast.
Food was disappointing at lunch - pasta dishes were either too dry or too oily, breakfast looked uninspiring and generally the dining/food quality is the only thing to let this place down. Although a big 'thumbs up' for the fresh Welsh cakes served with our afternoon tea break!
Conference meeting rooms were fine, equipped with a flat screen TV for presenting which was a bit small to view at times. No facility in our room for hanging/placing flip chart posters on the walls for workshop events but we managed.
Overall this hotel is good value for money and would benefit greatly from improving the food quality.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Przemek K, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Dear Rachel O

Thank you for your honest review of our hotel. We’re very glad that your overall stay was positive. Our staff work very hard to maintain the cleanliness of the rooms and quality of the service so they will all be very happy that their hard work is noticed by the people who really matter. We will also always relay any more negative points with the correct departments. Recently we have been changing the way our kitchen is run and the introduction of our new Head Chef is something that we believe will soon help reform some of the finer points and issues. Our Food and Beverage services are extremely important to ourselves and our guests. You have our promise that we will always be striving to reach the standards that our customers expect. I hope your next stay will prove this with evidence of improvement.

Kindest Regards

Przemek Kaminski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dursley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Great location and easy to find. Rooms are large and clean and tidy. Did not have an evening meal here, but did have a drink in the bar when returning at end of day. beer not too good - rather cloudy and not well looked after (CAMRA member).
Breakfast was an experience - very busy half term week. Not enough staff to clear tables or wait at the tables. Buffet Ok but kept running out of food, and could never seem to get everything you wanted - hence average rating.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Przemek K, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear Malcolm A

Firstly I would like to thank you for the review. I’m very happy that you enjoyed your overall stay with us at the Future Inns Cardiff Bay. Although the fact that a member of CAMRA did not enjoy their beer leaves me concerned. For which reason we have decided to investigate the reason for your cloudy beverage. I can assure you that the majority of Beers served at the hotel are thirst quenching and from a well maintained stock. Whether it was a staff training issue or an operational problem, you can be assured that we will investigate the causes and rectify this so that your next Beer you enjoy at our hotel will be to a much higher standard.

I would also like to apologies for your less than perfect experience at Breakfast. Sometimes the weekend can mean very high demands during peak hours and although we try very hard to get staffing levels correct, the fluctuation in demand does leave us short on occasions. I will be looking into putting extra staff on half term weekends and/or the idea of multitask training staff from other departments, so that they can support our current restaurant team.

We really do appreciate your feedback, and we hope that next time you stay our actions will have improved the service the hotel offers and the quality of the products available.

Kindest Regards

Przemek Kaminski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed here for my birthday weekend in Cardiff with my sister. Have not visited before so was unaware of location and what was around for tourists etc.
Quick and easy check in, friendly and polite staff who were very willing to help with pointing out how to get to the bay area and what route to choose if we wanted to walk or bus etc.
We were pleasantly surprised with the room, two huge double beds meaning we could have one each, good facilities, clean and smart.
Bathroom was nice, and you could use the toilet even if someone was having a shower etc which was a bonus.
Limited car parking right outside of hotel which may be an issue for some but we could park in the next car parks for the likes of Pizza Hut etc with no issues.
Hotel was central enough for us but it did involve about 20 minutes walk to the center, but buses were available.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsG1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Przemek K, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear MrsG1982

We are truly delighted to read your review and that you enjoyed your visit to the Future Inn Cardiff Bay. Your comments and appraisals have been passed on to the relevant departments. We do pride ourselves on the cleanliness of the hotel and it’s fantastic location, we all hope that the next time you venture down to Cardiff to stay with us again, that your experience will be just as good.

Kindest Regards

Przemek Kaminski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
1.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
1.3 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Future Inn Cardiff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Future Inn Cardiff Bay

Property: Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Address: Hemingway Road, Cardiff CF10 4AU, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Future Inn Cardiff Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Future Inn Cardiff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Future Inn Cardiff Bay Hotel Cardiff
Future Hotel Cardiff Bay
Future Inn Cardiff Bay Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing