We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Future Inn Cardiff Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Ranked #7 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Fleet UK
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

We stayed here for two nights when we went to Cardiff to watch the Olympic football. The hotel is well located near the Cardiff Bay area and you can walk to all the attractions in Cardiff Bay in a few minutes, and into the city centre in about 30 minutes (or get the train or bus if you don't want to drive). The rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff were pleasant. It's not posh, but it's enough if you want a reliable place to lay your head.

Room Tip: near a busy road so you might want to try to get a room on the other side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hellywobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Przemek K, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear Hellywobs

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. The thoughts and experiences of our customers help us to form a excellent perspective on what standards we actually achieve. We are very happy that you enjoyed the location and the attitudes of our staff. We consider ourselves as a hotel with much character and the potential to punch above our weight. Next time you return to Cardiff we hope you stay with us again and that you will see more improvements in our services and standards.

Kindest Regards

Przemek Kaminski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,361
    1,373
    411
    136
    73
See reviews for
950
1,211
100
466
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
south wales
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

Booked 1 night over the Easter Break, cost £55 and we thought this was excellent value!
The hotel is opposite the Red Dragon Centre and a 5 minute stroll from the bay with all its lovely bars and restaurants.
We booked a double room; a lovely comfy double bed, crisp white linen and cosy pillows! There was a double sofa which could be pulled out to make a double sofa bed, also a large desk with large flat screen tv. Modern kettle and tea and coffee and lovely modern bathroom with seperate toilet.
I'm normally a bit of a hotel snob but this was clean, modern and perfect for out Cardiff Bay break! Another plus is the free wifi and the free parking!!!
Room service was reasonably priced, quick and tasty. The bar and restaurant downstairs looked light and airy, didn't use it though, there's toom many to try in the bay!

Room Tip: If there was 4 of you or a family, you could get away with a double rooom with pull out bed to keep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank natalie23SouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Przemek K, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear Natalie23SouthWales

To please someone who is a self confessed ‘Hotel Snob’ is always going to be considered as a success. We were very happy that you took the time out of your day to write a review, as the review you did write caused many happy faces. We try to offer the best standards and service we can and the reward is seeing that it is noticed and appreciated. With all honesty, I would like to thank you for offering your kind words as a reward to our staff and colleagues whom have all been able to see your review and were delighted with it’s content.

Kindest Regards

Przemek Kaminski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coventry
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed here as a family of 4, really good stay, free parking and good choice for breakfast in the morning. Rooms were clean and comfortable and hotel itself was well located for access to Cardiff Bay and the city centre. Staff were all friendly and had no problems at all.

Room Tip: We stayed on 6th floor overlooking dual carriageway, the noise wasn't too bad during the night b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lawzcov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Przemek K, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear Lawzcov

Firstly thank you for such a kind review. A review site for what is a competitive business can always be scary but what we have tried to achieve in our everyday work life has come out in your very positive words. We are so proud of our staff and the way that they strive to make customers like you happy. We are very happy that our breakfast is showing great improvement and most of all we are delighted that customers like you come and stay with us and have a wonderful time. When we say that we welcome you back anytime, we really do mean it.

Kindest Regards

Przemek Kaminski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Hotel is well located, loads of places to eat in the Red Dragon complex. Room was spacious, Family room had two proper beds in, not camp beds or sofa beds, so a good nights sleep was had by all. Breakfast was good value, warm and well cooked. Free Parking, plenty of spaces. The Hotel is still well maintained, no sign of wear or tear. Overall a lovely, pleasant experience.
Also had a disabled room which was both spacious and very accessible. Main bonus was the wet room Shower. Great time had by all. Will definatly stop here again. Forgot to mention its
a 5 min walk to the County Hall where the Buses for Park and Ride go into the City - Cost of £3.00 per car, fanatastic value...

Room Tip: Disabled Rooms very accessible with good Wet Room and Shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Przemek K, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear Helen W

We are really happy that you took the time to write this review. We have been making very important and fundamental changes over the past 6 months which I feel have been somewhat successful as I sit and I read your review. All the staff at the Future Inn Cardiff Bay believes it’s of up most importance that our guests walk away satisfied. We are all really glad that you enjoyed you stay with us and we aspire to only improve by the next time you return to stay again. Again thank you for taking the time to note down your experiences.

Kindest Regards

Przemek Kaminski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Stayed here on a Rugby weekend, able to walk to stadium. Arrived early and was able to book into our room straight away. Helpful staff at reception. Good size bedrooms. Breakfast was good Did the 10km circular walk around the bay on the Sunday definately worth doing.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ann2147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Przemek K, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear Ann2147

Noticing that this kind review was written on April Fools Day, all I can do is hope that it isn’t a joke. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the staff helpful. It can be difficult to get the balance of professionalism and friendliness right and it’s always good to know that hard work has been appreciated. We hope that you will come to visit us again soon.

Kindest Regards

Przemek Kaminski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

The hotel is well located for ease of access and also for walking into the Bay area. Train station 5 mins walk away if you want to go into the City centre (trains every 15 mins I think). Staff on reception pleasant & booking in efficient. Good sized room with a comfortable bed. Breakfast was good for a buffet style. Meals in the restaurant were good quality if not particularly cheap.
Alll in all no problems encountered.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Przemek K, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Dear Dean062

Thanks very much for the review. We are especially happy to find that your stay with us was trouble free, as that is what we aim for. We hope you will return to us again and that the next time we’ll meet the same level of service and quality that you experienced on this occasion. All of us here at the Future Inns wish you a Happy Easter.

Kindest Regards

Przemek Kaminski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mid wales
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

Back again for a fourth time and now feeling quite at home here. Last time we were here , we had asked for a 'quiet' room and were allocated one on the sixth floor overlooking mostly a car park, so yes, it was very quiet.
This time we asked for the same thing and were given 414 - fourth floor, overlooking dual carriageway. The traffic noise was pretty constant and as the windows were a bit draughty, I think it was worse. The weather was bitterly cold and the wind whistled through the building - literally. the whistling wind was really loud in the corridor outside the room, coming from the fire escape at the end of the corridor, which again, wasn't completely sealed when shut..
This did not deter from our stay - with earplugs in, all noise vanished! The breakfast was much improved this time too, though the scrambled egg still resembles dry yellow polysteirine - someone should really show them how to scramble and egg without doing it to death. This time, the fried eggs were a) fresh and b) not swimming in fat like last time, and the bacon was beautifully cooked, unlike the anaemic white rashers of December.
The reception staff were helpfull and friendly and no question was too much trouble...
Being so bitterly cold, we couldn't be bothered to walk to the Millenium Centre to catch the No 6 bus into town, so booked a taxi two mornings running, arriving in 5 minutes and costing £5 from the hotel to the back door of John Lewis in the town centre - and great for carrying all the bags back at the end of a long day...
Only one complaint - this room needed a new shower - or descaling - we tried all the settings and none were very good or powerful.
No doubt we will be back again before too long..

Room Tip: For a good night sleep ask for a room higher up (floor 5/6) overlooking the car park - not a road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBag23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Przemek K, General Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Dear Medyrs

Thank you very much for your lengthy and in depth review, we really do appreciate you taking the time to note down anything good and bad, so we can balance our services accordingly. The fact that you have returned for a fourth time is obviously a good sign that you have enjoyed your stay at The Future Inns Cardiff but we don’t only look at the positive comments. Instead we spend a lot of time improving our services and criticism is as important as praise in this respect.
We are currently looking into different ways to limit any noise that can disturb our guests. Our location has the benefit of easy access to link roads and public transport routes but this also means that light sleepers can sometimes be affected by the noise. As you have experienced, if you do want a quiet room then we have other rooms that are barely affected by noise. The wind however is a rarity. I have experienced what you have described as howling winds. Though this is something that was due to a loose vent on the hotels roof and has been replaced meaning silence again prevails.
We are very glad to hear that you can already see the improvement in the breakfast. Our new Head Chef has been making some really important changes of late and we are sure that this improvement will continue.
We have also passed on your kind regards to our reception team, they are always very pleased to know that their efforts are noticed. Finally we have spoken to our maintenance department about the showers effectiveness in this room. Hopefully the issue will be resolved immediately and again I would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention. We can only succeed if we know where we are failing so your review is much appreciated.

Kindest Regards

Przemek Kaminski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
1.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,097 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Future Inn Cardiff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Future Inn Cardiff Bay

Property: Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Address: Hemingway Road, Cardiff CF10 4AU, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Future Inn Cardiff Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Future Inn Cardiff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Future Inn Cardiff Bay Hotel Cardiff
Future Hotel Cardiff Bay
Future Inn Cardiff Bay Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing