We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Future Inn Cardiff Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Ranked #7 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
400 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here recently for a night out in Cardiff.
Hotel very clean, good efficient check in . Room large with everything you need , although the hair dryer kept cutting out. Bathroom well equipped but the lay out hides the toilet, you start to think there isn't one!
Bed was comfy and slept really well, wasn't going to try breakfast but there was a queue to check out , so made the effort, and very glad I did. Good selection , all of the cooked food was very tasty , good scrambled eggs.
A pleasant stay and at a good price , would use this hotel again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KLBOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,367
    1,373
    411
    136
    73
See reviews for
952
1,213
100
467
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zaltbommel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Stayed overnight on a business trip. The surroundings are a little bit "Industrial" so I definitely will not recommend it for a (romantic) getaway with partner. Friendly staff and generally good looking and clean hotel. Fitness is close by and is very well equipped. The room is good and has enough square metres.

The big surprise for me was the bed: "sheets were un-ironed". I spoke to the manager about this as I thought the sheets hadn't been replaced. The bed looked slept on and definitely didn't live up to my standard (they are not that high). The manager told me it was hotel policy not to iron sheets as a measure of acting "Green".

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eelco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Wonderful hotel! The room was heaven with big bed and very nice and clean bathroom. Just next door from Millennium Centre and Cardiff Bay which was the main reason for my stay. Wonderful receptionist and very helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaV20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Firstly the positives:
Clean, friendly, excellent location for Cardiff Bay or Millennium Centre and only a short ride from the centre in a cab of which there are lots. Free parking, free wifi. Fantastic Breakfast! Well appointed, clean and comfortable rooms.
I stayed here for two nights over the weekend and my experience of the hotel was really great but there is a caveat. My advice would be to think carefully if you are a family or couple before booking over a weekend. There are a lot of stag and hen parties staying at the hotel and there are people crashing through the hotel all night and early morning so if you want a good nights sleep then I'd probably avoid at the weekend but apart from that, Excellent!

Room Tip: Ask them to put you away from hens and stags and avoid rooms close to the lifts for a better nights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P.Lago, Group Operations Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Kristian J
Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotel.
As you discovered the Cardiff Bay area has a wide and diverse range of entertainment from Wales Millennium Centre to Dr Who Experience and many bars and restaurants.
At weekends we do try to place family groups and guests who appreciate peace and quiet on the higher floors of the hotel and we tend to allocate the lower floors to younger groups.This usually works well for us and our guests but sometimes at busy periods-like last weekend-the hotel was full- it can present difficulty but it is the exception rather than the rule.
We hope to welcome you back very soon.
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Along with a group of girl friends I stayed at the future inn this weekend. Nice and clean. Excellent service. Other guests in our floor ruined the 2nd nights stay for us and I'm sure other guests by screaming, shouting and fighting in the corridor at 3am, 5.30am and 7.30am. Not only was this very threatening for us it meant we had an extraordinarily broken night's sleep. Was disappointed that the hotel staff didn't seem to do anything about it despite them knowing all about it.

Other than that, and having to chase up housekeeping a number of times, the stay was excellent. The rooms were well appointed, beds comfortable, bathrooms lovely and clean and most important of all the breakfast was PERFECT!!!!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lambchop26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P.Lago, Group Operations Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay.
I was disturbed to read about your experience and I should be grateful if you could contact the Hotel General Manager at your earliest convenience to allow us to investigate what happened.
There is no record of a complaint from your room but we did have to deal with a disturbance on the first floor early on Sunday morning and I am not sure if this is the incident you are referring to-please be assured and other guests we take these matters very seriously.
I hope we will hear from you shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

While staying in Canada recently we stayed at the Future inns Hotel in (Novia Scotia) and what a fantastic experience it was so when visiting family in Cardiff for half term we were delighted to find a Future Inns.
This hotel was in a fantastic area and I thought ideal for families... checked in smoothly and was very impressed with the hotel as the rooms were beautiful and restaurant was excellent with very polite staff.
But then an incident occurred later in the reception area where the one lady behind reception thought is was acceptable to shout aggressively at my 4 year old daughter for touching the doors in reception which left myself and my daughter upset and myself totally horrified much to the shocked looks from other guests also in reception. To find out from another member of staff that this lady Magda was the manager on duty that night made the situation worse. This spoilt our last night and sadly left us with a different view of the Future Inns.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anto3966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P.Lago, Group Operations Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Good Morning and thank you for your kind review-I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay both with us and at the Future Inns hotel in Canada.
I am sorry that you felt Magda spoke inappropriately- we had an incident with a small child jamming their hand into the door mechanism a few weeks ago and the child had to go to hospital-we then had another incident where a child playing in the revolving door jammed the mechanism with a soft toy and ended up stuck and hysterical- so the staff are probably very aware to avoid a situation where a guest or child would become injured or stuck-it was not Magda's intention to be aggressive -she was being alert to a possible risk-my sincere apologies that this impacted upon your stay.
Please feel free to contact me or the General Manager at the hotel if you would like to discuss the matter further.. Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

I have stayed here on many occasions over the last 7 years and have always enjoyed my stay with no cause for complaint. Prices vary on what events are happening in Cardiff on that weekend but have never paid more than £117 bed & breakfast 2 sharing on a Friday night.

The staff are always hospitable and accommodating and the rooms are spacious and very clean with massive beds. They provide you with a bottle of water, 2 x wine glasses & ice bucket in each room with an ice machine available in the corridor, which is brilliant as well as the usual tea/coffee/ biscuits etc.

We stayed here last on January 18th as we had tickets to see a show in the Millennium Centre which is within walking distance and this hotel is perfect for that. There are plenty of restaurants around and a £5 taxi fare to the city centre (during the day)

Breakfast is really nice - but don't understand why they put dried herbs on the grilled tomatoes?
Room service was pricey (but isn't it always) but very nice and was delivered with a smile :)

This is definitely my hotel of choice when staying in Cardiff and I certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helrai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
1.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,100 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Future Inn Cardiff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Future Inn Cardiff Bay

Property: Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Address: Hemingway Road, Cardiff CF10 4AU, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Future Inn Cardiff Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Future Inn Cardiff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Future Inn Cardiff Bay Hotel Cardiff
Future Hotel Cardiff Bay
Future Inn Cardiff Bay Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing