We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel with nice rooms and large comfortable beds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very good hotel with nice rooms and large comfortable beds”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stay at Future Inn whenever we visit Cardiff and Plymouth. If only there were many more of them in other UK cities! Do not expect luxury or pretension but comfortable, clean rooms at reasonable prices. Unlike other popular hotel chains, guests are mercifully not subjected to muzak. Good bathroom and shower. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArchCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,448
    1,440
    430
    140
    77
See reviews for
1,012
1,283
102
490
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Emlyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Lovely clean and comfy room,brilliant helpful staff and fantastic breakfast,thanks again for a brilliant stay.Excellent location from bus stop and easy walking distance to the bay and red dragon centre .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sezfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CARDIFF
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed for 1 night Sunday 25th May. Room 416. Rooms are a good size but sadly the cleanliness could be improved considerably.
The sides of the mirror fitment above the kettle area was caked in dust/grime & clearly had not been cleaned since installation , suggest cleaners schedule is ammended to include this feature , on further investigation the top of the wardrobe was even filthier with thick laer of dust & a number of discarded items.
Bedding didn't look like it was freshly changed & was somewhat off-white & tired.
Also cannot understand why each landing area outside of the lifts is heated to tropical temperatures?

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alvor109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I have stopped in Cardiff quite a few times and have driven past this hotel numerous times, so thought we would give it a try.
Firstly the location is superb, you can actually walk to the bay, where there are great pubs, restaurants and activities to do. Secondly you can leave the car if you want and just get taxis to the city centre, its only a few minutes away and quite cheap.
The hotel is modern, clean, check inn was a doddle as we pre booked on the internet, and it was terrific value. We had three family rooms for two nights. The rooms are clean, spacious and you get the usual amenities tea coffee hair dryer etc. The beds are large and very comfortable and I am a fussy sleeper.
We used the bar quite a few times, although the hotel was really busy, you still got served very quickly. You get a mixture of all types of people here from stags/hens, they were not rowdy at all, to couples families and it looked like some large parties of kids and teachers?
The reception staff are friendly, polite and if you need a taxi will get you one. The only downside to this place were the bar was expensive, of which I have become accustomed too as I stay away a lot, this tended to be on the high side? Breakfast was not available through the internet as part of a package and as expensive. We did have breakfast , and it was good quality. {The hotel might want to put some kind of package on for the traveller here}
Overall I thought this was a superb value hotel with great location for Cardiff and the bay.

Room Tip: We overlooked the port- The kids loved watching the large container ships coming in. I had three roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonwils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Just got back from an enjoyable 2 day break at this hotel
The hotel was very clean throughout, we had a little bit of trepidation having read previous comments about 'smelly toilets!' ours was fine. The room #303 is quite big it incorporates a sofa bed which is a great asset, most hotels only seem to have 1 chair so one person ends up perching on the bed. The bed tends to be a bit firm but this is a matter of personal taste. Although we were at the front of the hotel near a busy road we had no traffic noise at all, unless you open the window.
We had breakfast and dinner both days in the restaurant, Breakfast is a buffet style with plenty of choice, Lovely sausages, good bacon, hash browns mushrooms baked beans, delicious tomatoes with mixed herbs on top (I am going to try at home!) fried or scrambled eggs, pancakes, cereal, fruit, and fruit juices, and yoghurts. Toast or rolls and cereals.
Dinner has a varied menu, I only had the Ceasar Salad both days which was very tasty so can't comment on the other dishes. The prices are about average for a hotel.
A nice touch is the free i paper available from reception each day.
The staff were quite efficient but slightly detached from the guests(no rapport) but we have found this before in a conference hotel.
One word of warning we booked through Booking.com who's website said we would have a special price on breakfast if we booked when we got to the hotel, this is not the case, it will cost you £9:50.pp
We would not hesitate to use this hotel again.

Room Tip: We had #303 which overlooks the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeyyouDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Germans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I stayed for one night (actually my birthday) on a trip to see Wicked at the Wales Millennium Centre. We chose the Future Inn because of its close proximity to the WMC, but also because it was the best value hotel Cardiff. Twin rooms come with 2 double beds, which were impressively clean and amazingly comfortable. The room was also kitted out with a plasma TV, hairdryer, massive desk/sitting area, good-sized bathroom with a bath and shower and complimentary toiletries. There is a laundry room, vending machines and ice machine on the 1st floor which were lovely added touches.

The hotel is located at the far end of the Red Dragon complex car park, about a 10 minute walk from the Wales Millennium Centre and the rest of Cardiff Bay. There are lots of restaurants near by and in the Red Dragon itself, though the hotel does have its own nice-looking restaurant which also offers breakfast in the morning for an extra charge.

There is ample free parking available at the hotel and we were able to leave our car for the afternoon after check-out while we explored the bay. The staff were very friendly and helpful and our stay at the Future Inn really enhanced our trip to Cardiff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireUK87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I stayed at the Future Inn Cardiff bay last March when I visited Cardiff with some friends for the Siôn Russell Jones album launch. I'd stayed in a Future Inn hotel before - Bristol - so I knew roughly what to expect.

The hotel didn't disappoint. The room was spacious and clean, with modern decor and a good sized bathroom. The hotel offers free wifi which is always a major selling point for me, and I'm glad to report that the connection was fast and reliable.

The only slightly negative point was the breakfast buffet: it was incredibly busy that morning (a Sunday morning following a big football match) and the choice seemed somewhat limited. I was particularly disappointed with the selection of fruit, which was so off-putting (bits of watermelon that seemed almost half-eaten) that I decided not to bother.

I would however still recommend this hotel, also due to its interesting Cardiff Bay location.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paperopoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,046 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.7 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
2,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,025 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Future Inn Cardiff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Future Inn Cardiff Bay

Property: Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Address: Hemingway Road, Cardiff CF10 4AU, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Future Inn Cardiff Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Future Inn Cardiff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Future Inn Cardiff Bay Hotel Cardiff
Future Hotel Cardiff Bay
Future Inn Cardiff Bay Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing