We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect short break City hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Ranked #7 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2009

This is a modern hotel that offers great value and excellent service. Our overnight stay to attend the Welsh National Opera at the nearby Millennium Centre, cost just £85 for a double room and full buffet breakfasts. The air conditioned bedroom was spotless, comfortable and had all the expected facilities with the exception of a room fridge. A complimentary morning newspaper was provided and the staff were polite and helpful. Ample on site car parking at the front of the hotel.
A five minute walk brings you to the Red Dragon Centre with Cinema, Casino and Bowling and a wealth of eating places. A further five minutes and you are at the Millennium Centre and West Bay waterfront with a great choice of restaurants and al fresco dining weather permitting.
Cardiff City Centre is just a couple of miles away and can be reached by water taxi from West Bay in addition to the more usual methods of transport.
The location is not scenic and whilst a busy road is fairly close, the traffic noise was not at all noticeable with closed windows and the efficient air conditioning on, whilst the outside daytime temperature was in the region of 20 c.
The hotel has a small fitness room but no other leisure facilities. The modern dining room was comfortable and the menu looked to be good value with enough choices, however we chose to eat by the waterfront to be close to the 7.15 pm show at the Millennium Centre .
We may visit again in September for another show and will definately return to this hotel. It is worth noting that you can cancel with no penalty up to 24 hours before yopur arrival and that you do not pay anything until you check in.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brib0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,765)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,611 - 3,617 of 3,765 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2009

Booked this hotel in October 2008 for a stay in June 2009 and they cancelled my booking saying they were overbooked. This has completely ruined the trip...its fair to say I will not be recommending this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
2  Thank Louis74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P.Lago, Operations Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2009

This booking was made via Expedia who were advised some time ago that the hotel was overbooked for this date.They would not give Future Inns the contact details for the guests due to issues with data protection.They undertook to contact every guest and handle all re-bookings etc and they have not done this.Future Inns have contacted all guests who made direct bookings with them and the situation has been explained fully and a complimentary stay offered and already accepted in most cases as an apology.Future Inns are disappointed with the way that Expedia have handled this matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2009

We stayed here for 1 night and were pleasantly surprised by the accomodation offered. The bedroom was very spacious and the bathroom excellent. Unfortunately there was a problem with the parking when we arrived and it took us a good 40 minutes to find a parking space(we believe this was caused by people attending the Urdd Eisteddfod and taking advantage of free parking). We had a problem with the lighting during the middle of the night when the bedside lamp blew and took out all the lighting but the problem was resolved by reception quickly. Breakfast was very good and plentiful. We look forward to using the hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penguin10UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2009

We booked 2 rooms with this hotel around 5 months prior to our stay as we were going to Cardiff for a concert at the Millenium stadium. Unfortunately, 2 weeks before our stay, they cancelled our room (by email) saying they were overbooked.

They offered us another hotel - in Newport!!

Really disappointed - especially as we booked so may months in advance and now no other hotels are available we have had to cancel our trip all together.

Avoid!

Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
1  Thank AS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2009

A very comfortable, spotlessly clean hotel with reasonable prices! The beds are sublime and the location is good--a short walk from Mermaid Quay and the Millenium Centre. It's a little weird that the electricity in the room requires a key card--must remember to get more than one key, otherwise if you send one of the party out to pick up food or drinks you'll have to sit there with the lights off! Even weirder is the Web TV, possibly the slowest and most painful to use internet since the 96k baud modem. Not sure why a hotel with so many other great gadgets has to use that. But not the end of the world. The important things were the comfy beds, the great bathtub, and the view of the Bay!

We did try the restaurant and didn't think it was bad at all. There's a deal you can get a free glass of wine with dinner at the hotel restaurant, but you're supposed to ring ahead first--we boggled a bit and my dad asked the waiter if perhaps we should go upstairs, ring down to say we'd be there in five minutes, and try again? It was a holiday weekend and nearly completely empty, after all. Sensibly they gave us the wine anyway (and did the better for it since we got relaxed enough to have more...and some desserts...) No, it's probably not as great as some of the restaurants out on the bay, but after a long tiring journey, down the lift was about as far as we were keen to go. Had an enjoyable evening and a good night's sleep ,and all at a reasonable price!

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2009

I have stayed at this hotel three times over the last 12 months. I stay away for business regularly, usually budget hotels (Premier Inn etc) The hotel itself is very good, especially for the price. The rooms are very clean and have everything you need. The staff are friendly and helpful.
The public areas of the hotel and very clean and modern. The ONLY thing that lets this hotel down is the quality and standard of the food served in the restaurant. It is poor to mediocre at best. On the three ocassions I have eaten here, it has always been the same. 9 out of 10 for hotel value and cleanliness, comfort, etc. 2 out of 10 for the food. A real shame!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HayleyJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P.Lago, Operations Manager at Future Inn Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2009

I am sorry that this guest was disappointed with the food offered at Thomas restaurant and bar.If the person concerned would like to contact me direct at the Cardiff hotel I would be pleased to take constructive feedback and try to make amends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2009

The Future Inn is exactly what you expect. Clean, a little bland. Kind of hidden, small parking lot.

Location is perfect for Millinium Center ......very easy walk.

Internet access leaves a lot to be desired. No Wi Fi. You have to hook up via broadband--and they charge for that. (They also have a webtv thing you can use. It is your tv as well....very odd)

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christy358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,221 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
1.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,172 reviews
0.7 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 74 in Cardiff
3,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Future Inn Cardiff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Future Inn Cardiff Bay

Address: Hemingway Road, Cardiff CF10 4AU, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £62 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Future Inn Cardiff Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Future Inn Cardiff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Future Inn Cardiff Bay Hotel Cardiff
Future Hotel Cardiff Bay
Future Inn Cardiff Bay Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing