We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised this hotel was ranked so highly on Tripadvisor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Surprised this hotel was ranked so highly on Tripadvisor”
Reviewed 20 September 2009

I was surprised that this hotel was ranked so highly on Tripadvisor (seventh ranked in Cardiff when I booked it). The reception, bar, restaurant and public areas were pretty bland (I thought Premier Inn, or some similarly drab but cheap hotel when I first walked in the door). The issue is that it does hold itself to be better than that. And don't be fooled by the references to Canadian hospitality on its webside - there was nothing remotely Canadian about the hotel, and the hospitality was patchy.

We stayed here when going to the U2 concert. We arrived at the hotel at about 12 noon and were told to return at 1 o'clock as our room wasn't ready. We spent an hour or so wandering around the nearby Bay area (a nice spot with plenty of restaurants and bars, especially so as the weather was great), but when we got back to the hotel we were told we would have to wait another hour for our room, and that the official check-in time was 2 o'clock. If I arrive before check-in time and there are no rooms available and I need to amuse myself for a few hours then that is perfectly fine. What did annoy me was that I was told by hotel staff (and rather rudely at that) that I should come back at 1, and then had to wait around in the drab bar for a wasted hour.

The hotel bar was completely without atmosphere, and its main roll appeared to be as a holding pen for people who arrive prior to check-in time. It was certainly not a comfortable place to spend an evening.

While there was no shop in or near the hotel to grab a snack to eat, the hotel's website and the literature in the room did refer to the vending machines in the hotel, where chocolate/soft drinks etc could be bought. Unfortunately all of the vending machines were empty during our stay.

The hotel room itself was of a higher standard than the rest of the hotel (spacious, with a very comfortable bed) and as such it wasn't a completely negative experience, and it is for this reason that I would rank the hotel as average as opposed to poor. In addition the hotel is in a good location for visiting the Bay area, and is about a 20 minute walk to the centre of town, so was handy enough for visiting shops/tourist attractions.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dontbebold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,433
    1,427
    425
    140
    75
See reviews for
999
1,269
102
485
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2009

In cardiff for one night, hotel was good, very spacious room....only slight problem may have been traffic noise on the nearby road on a weekday, as it was we were staying saturday night..hotel vending machines were empty....hotel was clean and staff were pleasant, no problems.
many others were checking in at same time but check in was done quickly...

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stobes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2009

We stayed here as we were going to a show at the milennium centre. The hotel provides free wired broadband in all rooms now as well as Internet on the TV. We opted not to have the breakfast as about 5 minutes walk away is mermaid quay with dozens of restaurants to choose from. We are fairly brisk walkers and walked from the hotel to the centre of town in about 15 minutes, on the second day we planned to get some shopping so hopped on the blue 'bendy bus' that runs every ten minutes between the bay and town and costs £2 for a return ticket.
I can also recommend a boat trip round Cardiff bay in the yellow boats, £4 return and you get a good commentary and can get off at penarth and come back on a later boat.
The hotel was clean, room service was prompt and not crazy money and the staff were polite and efficient. We have previously stayed in the big sleep, but now they charge £6 a day for non-guaranteed parking the future-inn's free parking, bigger rooms and walkable distance to town won out by miles.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samrad999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2009

Stayed here in August for U2 Concert. Lovely hotel with big, comfortable rooms. Lovely welcome from receptionist at check-in. Found all staff to be helpful and polite. Great location for both city centre and Cardiff Bay.
Some lovely restaurants in Cardiff Bay. Didn't eat in the hotel. Had fab breakfast in Edward's pub in city centre for only GBP1.99! Yum! The only negative point about the hotel was that the vending machines were all empty for the first two nights.
Hotel was very easy to find. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welsh guy in Wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

Lovely rooms with great big beds. The tv and in room facilities were easy to use, and we got the room at a good rate. Had the breakfast in Thomas restaurant - superb !! Shame I didn't go there for the evening meal the night before.
Apparently they hotels in Bristol and Plymouth, so at least I have somewhere decent to stay next time I visit !

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welsh_guy_in_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester england
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2009

Stayed here having recently been very impressed at Future Inn in Bristol 2 weeks ago, so knew the room was of a very high standard.
Unfortunately, whilst the evening meal in Bristol was very good, the awful offerings sent out by the "chef" here in Cardiff resulted in both starter and main courses being sent back . The waiters seemed to be used to this by way of the immediate offer of a free drink after the starter and the grovelling apologies and offer of further drinks on the house or "anything else off the menu" which I declined and left. The following morning (I passed on breakfast) at checkout, the receptionist was also genuinely sympathetic and said that they really "need to get a proper chef" as there were "many many" complaints
However I would stay again but just eat elsewhere. Free parking is a big plus.!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank overthe8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2009

Stayed in the hotel in march 2009, and was not overly impressed.
To be fair, the rooms were spacious and fairly clean.
The service was poor, staff were polite but not warm or friendly. The restaurant was a huge disappointment - silly rule about paing 1/3 less for breakfast if you booked on check-in, otherwise you have to pay the full price (which was way too expensive for what you got) On some days breakfast bar was not adequately filled and you had to wait for food to come out.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenflamingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
1.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
1.3 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Future Inn Cardiff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Future Inn Cardiff Bay

Property: Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Address: Hemingway Road, Cardiff CF10 4AU, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Future Inn Cardiff Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Future Inn Cardiff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Future Inn Cardiff Bay Hotel Cardiff
Future Hotel Cardiff Bay
Future Inn Cardiff Bay Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing