We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for Cardiff Bay and City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Ranked #7 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Easy registration, staff all friendly, room comfortable, evening meal excellent, breakfast variety very good but slightly expensive (make sure you book it when registering, as the price goes up if you "buy" it in the morning).

There is only one bed-side table. What is that all about, when the room itself is pretty good?

Finding the hotel carpark is fun. The hotel lies behind a "ring road" and guesswork is needed to get to it. Suggest you put some signs up like the Holiday Inn and Novotel.

Otherwise, we fully enjoyed our one night stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidandSheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,892)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,638 - 3,644 of 3,892 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one night in january 2011. Booked it as it was the most competitively priced of all the major hotels in and around the bay area.

Very friendly staff on check in and the room was clean and modern. The mist free mirrors in the bathrooms are great.

We payed an extra £9 pp for breakfast which was worth it as there isn't anything else in the vicinity. Breakfast was a buffet style with a choice between full english and continental. You can help your self and the food is pleantiful and very good quality. Free daily papers for guests too.

The only slight draw back is that the hotel is a good 20 minute walk from Cardiff Bay and there is no direct route for pedestrians as you have to walk through numerous car parks. Other than that I would definately recommend and return to this hotel.

Best bit - Parking is free for hotel guests.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WelshTraveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2011

Front house manageress was very rude and unhelpfull. Generally staff were lovely. Better rates by phoning the hotel than booking online. Large queue for breakfast and at £12 a head a complete rip off! cheaper to stay at travelodge 2mins away or 5min walk to the bay where lots of choices for breakfast and much cheaper!!!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bermo554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2011

After reading the other reviews I wonder if we stayed in the same hotel or maybe we are too picky? We found this hotel difficult to find, again maybe our fault as we did not pull off a map to show us where the place was,but thinking it was close to the millenium theatre drove to the bay area to look for it. Wrong! It is situated a very short drive from there overlooking the steel works and between a main road, major roundabout, and a very busy and noisy dual carriageway. Once parked check in was easy with very polite staff, who incidently had finally given us directions on how to find the hotel. He explained many people have difficulty finding it! On to our room, our first thought was it was cold, next the noise from the traffic. On going to the window we realised the curtains were not able to close fully, as the rail was broken. Not a major problem but we looked out on to an office block. Some previous visitor had stuffed toilet paper in to the air vent in the window to try and block out the draft blowing through. The room was dusty, and the bedding as some one else has pointed out was nasty. It did not look clean and fresh, was a murky grey colour and the pillows smelt of ... there is no way to say this nicely.....sweaty heads. Yuck. The bathroom was lovely, but the toilet smelt like a gents urinal and the grouting on the floor was stained, Disgusting.
It is not too far to walk to the theatre, unless you are disabled and the reception did offer to call a taxi for us if we wanted. The walk back in the dark is less pleasant, as you go through two open car parking lots and the cinema complex to get back to the hotel. We ate at the Bospherus, a tukish restaurant . Lovely food great staff, and they even suggested that rather than rush out meal we return for desert and coffee after the show!!
The hotel staff we found helpful and polite, shame about the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank issylonglegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Just spent 1 night here with a friend after a Sunday evening mamma mia performance,Was a bit apprehensive having read some of the reviews but I need not have worried.Location was excellent -an 8 min. walk to the centre.Free parking at the hotel.was able to catch the park & ride bus from the county hall 3 mins away to get into town on th Sun.Ate in town before returning to get ready in our large room (2 double size beds for the 2 of us, tea & coffee making facilities, iron, TV etc.)Clever door arrangement which meant you could shut off the toilet to allow someone else to use the bathroom.Check in & out was smooth -they allowed us to leave our car there the 2nd day as long as we gave in the reg. number.Only disappointment was breakfast.There were only about 4 people there and the food that was already cooked was left heated and rather dried out.Don't know why they just didn't cook in smaller batches.The coffee was the most bitter i've tasted so i left it and had tea instead,That was so weak cause there was 1 bag in a largish teapot.Despite this, I'd stay there again, but instead of paying £82 for a twin room with bkfast, i'd pay less for just the room and eat breakfast elsewhere.i'm sure there were plenty of places in cardiff a 20 min. walk away, or in one of the eateries in the bay area.Very comfy beds -all clean, and a large room, well set out.Travellodge was about 2 min walk away -don't know how that would compare, but I enjoyed staying here for its closeness to the millenium centre.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dragonhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2011

A warning to anyone coming to this hotel and using their car park (which is advertised on line as 'free')

If you do not give your car registration details to the receptionist and you park for over 2 hours you will receive a nice letter in the post stating that you violated parking regulations and are being fined £65.00. This happened to me ! However, I have to admit that when I contacted the Hotel Manager he dealt with this immediately and contacted the car parking company and cancelled the fine. He was extremely efficient and a pleasure to deal with.

On that basis I cannot fault the service received. Shame however about the food which was served at the function I attended here. Dry pate, hard as nails brussel sprouts, sweaty cheese and coffee like treacle.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bridge73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Stayed on 14th Dec stop over to see Mamma Mia, excellent location for millienuim centre and Cardiff Bay.
Have stayed at hotel before and found it a comfortable hotel to stay have always gone room only before, but booked this time bed and breakfast for a treat before setting off home. Which turned out to have been a big mistake.
You go away for a weekend to have a break from stress of your work and relax.
Breakfast here turned out a very stressful experiance, and something i dont want to happen again. Came down after lovely nights sleep for nice breakfast. on coming out lift walked to restuarant only to be told by other guests that the queue was back by lift. So after a 30 min wait in queue managed to bet a table and place was like a cattle market. Tried to get to coffee and juice and then thought have some cornflakes to start but realised that was in same queue and the cooked breakfast so gave that up as bad job and me and partner just continued in queue for some bacon and egg etc. this took good 20 min and standard not best ever had once got it. also by this time coffee cold so had another fight get anoyher cup. quite a few stressed people in there as well and which spoiled out lovely stay.
I will definately stay again but will always go for room only in future. As for rest of hotel is totally recommended. The restaurant staff were as helpful as they could but seems place to small to cope if everyoine goes bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,304 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.7 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#14 of 74 in Cardiff
2,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,256 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Future Inn Cardiff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Future Inn Cardiff Bay

Address: Hemingway Road, Cardiff CF10 4AU, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £55 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Future Inn Cardiff Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Future Inn Cardiff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Future Inn Cardiff Bay Hotel Cardiff
Future Hotel Cardiff Bay
Future Inn Cardiff Bay Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing