We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous rural accommodations near Cardiff”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cardiff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gelynis Farm House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 44 Cardiff B&B and Inns
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous rural accommodations near Cardiff”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed at the Gelynis Farm B & B for a couple of days in early June while vacationing in Wales, and we absolutely loved the place! We made our reservation a couple of months in advance via telephone, which was easy and painless, and we promptly received a confirmation email with all of the details. We were warmly greeted by the owner when we arrived and she personally showed us to our room, which was clean, comfortable and well-appointed. The bathroom was also clean, modern and well-maintained, and the free Wi-fi worked flawlessly.

Gelynis Farm is in a beautiful rural setting, even though it's only a 15-minute drive from downtown Cardiff. It is actually a working fruit farm with pick-your-own fruit during various seasons and there are horses and sheep on the farm as well. It is situated right along a scenic walking/biking trail along the river Taff (the trail goes all the way into Cardiff) and we enjoyed some nice evening strolls along the river. The farm has a cafe that is open during mid-day, but unfortunately we didn't have a chance to try it since we were out sightseeing during those hours.

Breakfast was included in the reasonable price and was made-to-order. It was delicious, and was made and served by the affable owner, an energetic one-woman show. She was extremely friendly and helpful and offered us tips and suggestions for our daily sightseeing.

Gelynis Farm was one of the highlights of our time in England and Wales!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davejeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    21
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
57
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Steyning, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Pleasant clean and fresh room, good host, ample home cooked breakfast. Location good for our purposes, Cardiff and Ponty, though as deduced rather noisy due to the proximity of motorways, though do not let his deter you unless you are truly seeking tranquility. On the Taff Trail if that is your desire.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BazzaMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2013

We stayed at the Gelynis Farm B&B for our 6 Nations trip at the beginning of February and could not have been happier. The booking process war straight forward and despite the fact that we had to chop and change our dates Margaret, the owner was more than accommodating. The farm itself is absolutely beautiful and you get a proper country feel despite being only a few minutes train/taxi ride away from the hustle and bustle of Cardiff city centre (a plus especially on busy match day). The rooms themselves were perfectly clean, well equipped and cosy with amazing views over Castell Coch. The breakfast was equally brilliant and the local knowledge of the owners made our stay there the more enjoyable. For those who like a walk, the scenic route up to the Castell is well worth it (make sure you stop off at the Lewis Arms for a pint of Brains) and the beautiful walk along the river Taff towards Radyr train station (takes appr. 15 mins) ensures a relaxed and cheap trip into the Cardiff Queen Street or Central.

All in all i cannot recommend the Gelynis Farm B&B highly enough - we will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diss, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Excellent, warm and cosy farmhouse B&B with lovely rooms overlooking Castell Coch or farm orchards.

Excellent welcome from Margaret; great homely friendly service - definite home from home. Nothing was any trouble. Would definitely stay again and recommend to anyone visiting Cardiff and surrounding area.

Room Tip: Well decorated and thoughtful touches provided; hairdryer, corkscrew etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welshpins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

On the back of previous trip advisor reviews we booked into this B&B for my husbands 30th and loved it. Wonderful & welcoming hosts, tidy and comfortable room, great proximity to Cardiff. The house has great character with lovely views of the castle and farmland. Breakfast was brilliant, worth getting up for. Overall a great stay (and great Rugby Result) - would highly recommend to others. Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012 via mobile

We didn't stay here, however we visited for a pumpkin carving day with our 5 year old son and cannot praise the experience enough. The care and attention given to make this a great experience was exceptional and the service was excellent. There was a lovely cafe to have hot drinks and snacks to warm you up through the carving process. I must also say that the lady who runs the farm has an energy which is contagious and made all the kids feel very welcome...definitely worth the trip if they are running events. Would also say that if they run the b&b in the same efficient, warm and welcoming way you're in for a treat!

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Thomastn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRANCE
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Welcoming, clean and peaceful with a great view of Castell Coch. A different pace of living away from the normal stresses. Well worth the effort of getting there ; only 15-20 minutes from Cardiff town.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SANSICARIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
3.7 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32
0.6 mi away
Village Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff
#17 of 73 in Cardiff
2,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#2 of 73 in Cardiff
594 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#28 of 73 in Cardiff
575 reviews
5.8 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gelynis Farm House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gelynis Farm House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Gelynis Farm House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Morganstown, Cardiff CF15 8LJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gelynis farm is five miles North of the center of Cardiff with good links to trains, busses and M4. We offer all our guests a warm welcome, a comfortable stay and a hearty breakfast. A perfect place to stay for business or travel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gelynis Farm House b&b
Gelynis Farm House Hotel Cardiff
Gelynis Farm House Bed And Breakfast Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing