We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good city centre base”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
Ranked #29 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 24 September 2012

One nights stay here whilst taking our daughter to university. It cost £3 to park in hotel grounds which was fine. Staff were friendly and had good security at night. Room was basic but clean, fresh and modern and was adequate for our needs. Hotel was just on the outside of town, just a 10 min walk and we were in the centre full of shops, restaurants and bars. Would definitely stay here on our next visit.

Room Tip: We had top floor overlooking car park, other side of hotel overlooked main road which may have been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtapCardiff, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2012

I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcome you back at Ibis Budget Cardiff

Kindest Regards

Michael Schmidt

Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,038 - 1,044 of 1,176 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stayed in the Ibis Budget Hotel on Friday 21st September and were a little disappointed. The location was great, only around a 5 minute walk to the busier centre of Cardiff, and the cleanliness of the room was fine. We were provided with a towel each and a small bar of soap to share, no problem as we don't want to encourage waste. There were no in-room tea or coffee making facilities, no where really to put our hand luggage size bags.

As we were on the 4th floor we couldn't open a window more than a very few inches as it had a safety wire, again, no probs as this is sensible. So, in all, budget, and certainly no frills.

My issue is with the size of the rooms. The toilet was smaller than any commercial jet would have, and when the door was closed it was pretty much in your face. The room barely had enough space to walk around the bed, and I felt claustrophobic when two of us were stood at the same time.

I became anxious and found it hard to sleep so I stood at the window which wouldn't open, kind of making me feel worse. It was almost worth standing in the toilet for a few moments just to turn back into the room but it really felt so small that the walls were almost hard to focus on. Don't get me wrong, I'm not normally so bad, but this could cause a serious problem for anyone with a worse fear of being closed in. We asked if all the rooms were the same and were told they are. There's nothing wrong with them, and they're a great concept, and when rooms are in such demand I'd expect any hotel chain to maximise all they can from their customers but this is just leaning towards exploiting room demand unfairly.

The breakfast was a help yourself buffet of toast and croissants and was fine for the price. The hotel was fair and very functional. I thought that if we had a day in Cardiff and we came back to it I'd be OK, but if we cancelled the second booked day before 2pm we wouldn't have to pay for it. We called around and found there were no other rooms available anywhere but in Newport, 20 minutes away, so we checked out. I'd rather stay out of the city than risk another anxious and sleepless night in such a small room.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guru-of-Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtapCardiff, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2012

The team and I are glad that you managed to express some very important points for us to improve, and we’ve taken note of your comments. Rest assured we will address them. I am really sorry that the size of the room made you feel uncomfortable but unfortunately with our product being economical we will not be able to change the structure of the building. The rooms are designed for the short term stays and we believe that the size is perfectly acceptable for that purpose.

Kindest Regards

Michael Schmidt

Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

The down stairs toilet was really dirty. There was no soap and the lock wasn't working properly. We had to use this one as our room wasn't ready. Our room however was very clean. The location was great just a short walk to the centre. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hares_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtapCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Thanks for leaving your thoughts here. The team and I are glad that you managed to express some very important points for us to improve, and we’ve taken note of your comments. Rest assured we will address them. I rememder that you reported to me the issue with the public toilet, which have been resolved promptly. Many thanks for other positive comments

We are looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Cardiff.

Fabrice Ledentu
G.Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 876Casey
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
EtapCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 September 2012

With rooms priced from £25pn you obviously don't expect the swankiest hotel in the world, however what you do get is a decent hotel; certainly more than I was expecting, in a great location for exploring Cardiff town centre and Cardiff Bay.

The hotel itself is clean and in good condition. The rooms are small, and aren't luxurious at all:- no carpet (personally, I prefer this to grubby carpet), tiny toilet, sink in the bedroom rather than a separate bathroom; however in reality none of this matters if you simply want a base to sleep and don't actually spend any time there. Overall, it feels like a college kids bedroom rather than a mature hotel room.

The check-in staff were polite. The car park was good value (£3 until midday the following day), although disappointing they wanted to charge me a further £3 for the 15 minutes or so after midday that it took for me to get down from the room and checkout.

The room has everything you'd expect (and more). Decent lighting, air conditioning (not just cool air, but there's an actual air conditioner), blackout blind, TV (with audio input for connecting an MP3 player). The shower was fantastic, very powerful and warm.

Unfortunately our nights stay wasn't quite as good as I was expecting and this tarnished the overall experience.

The mattress is a piece of foam rather than a mattress. It wasn't that bad to be fair, but I will be glad to get back into a proper bed.

The air conditioning wouldn't work from when we got back in the evening until just before checkout time at around midday! This was extremely annoying as the night was very hot and there's a sign on the window advising you not to have the window open for very long to prevent insects entering due to the hotel's proximity to the water. Not sure whether this was just a problem with our air con unit or whether this is some silly hotel policy.

At 9am we were awoken by some very loud talking. I have to presume it was the maid as it was right outside our room and sounded as though she was talking to someone down the corridor. A bit of common sense and common courtesy wouldn't have gone amiss here.

We were also disturbed whilst sleeping by housekeeping twice. I find this unacceptable. I note another reviewer has mentioned this and the hotel suggested using the 'do not disturb' sign. However, when I have checked in for 1 night only I don't expect to be disturbed before checkout time. If I'd been staying a few nights then I could understand housekeeping wanting to come in to make up the room, and indeed in other hotels I do use the DnD sign when staying more than one night).

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteHallsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtapCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for leaving your valuable comment about the housekepping practise that has been already discussed with head housekepper with a reasonable action plan. Regarding the £3.00 extra charge for 15mn is maybe come from a misunderstanding as normally this shouln't happened. Please accept my apologises for this. We are looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Cardiff.

Fabrice Ledentu
G.Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntoC82
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
EtapCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 September 2012

It's only a stroll from the centre of Cardiff, and only 10min from Cardiff Bay. Good location, clean rooms that have everything you'd need.

There are enough great places to eat in Cardiff, so actually it was easy to opt out of their breakfast. £3 for parking per day was also a good deal.

Friendly staff, all good. Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank backpackgypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtapCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for leaving your valuable comments . We are looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Cardiff.

Fabrice Ledentu
G.Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
4.7 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#26 of 74 in Cardiff
591 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#24 of 74 in Cardiff
1,214 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Central
2.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre

Address: Tyndall Street, Cardiff CF10 4BE, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Green Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £30 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis budget Cardiff is a hotel in the City Centre of Cardiff with affordable prices. All rooms are en-suite, with double bed and a single bunk bed. TV with freeview channels. Snack are available at our 24 hrs reception and Continental Breakfast Buffet for only £5.50. On site car park for just £4/24hrs. Free WIFI access in all bedrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Hotel Cardiff
Etap Cardiff
Hotel Ibis Budget Cardiff Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing