We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what it says on the tin..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
Ranked #29 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
GreenLeadersBronze level
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exactly what it says on the tin..”
Reviewed 20 February 2013

The Ibis Budget in Cardiff was everything your would expect from a 'budget' hotel. The hotel was clean with a fantastic location between Cardiff centre and the Cardiff Bay area. The rooms were a bit on the small side but big enough for my partner and I. The rooms have a slightly futuristic feel about them with lighting behind the borders but everything felt quite new. Our room had a bunk-bed positioned directly about the double bed which didnt cause too much of a problem as it was a good place to store our belongings as there arent any cupboards. Our room was slightly cold as the air-con was a bit tempremental.

The car park was £4 per day but its pretty secure and we could see the car from our window.

Breakfast was a bit dissapointing as there wasn't much of a selection it was either 'cornflakes' or thin stale toast.

All in all we had a really pleasant stay, great city centre location don't expect anything fancy and you won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DecHugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtapCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit but dissapointed that our breakfast was not under your expectations. We are looking forward to welcome you at the Ibis Budget Cardiff again…

Best regards
Fabrice Ledentu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    446
    264
    89
    107
See reviews for
210
359
82
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

A little bit basic - stayed in a 3 bed room with 2 teenagers, bit on the small side, after using Premier Inns in the past. Not used to not having a kettle but would stay there again and bring my own! Shower cubicle like you get in a caravan and loo door not able to be locked, but hey we're family and seen it before! May thing is room was clean, and the staff very helpful with request for extra pillows

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woolly2232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtapCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Thank you for your positive comments. Our team is very happy you have acknowledge their freindliness on here. We are looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit to Cardiff.

Kind Regards

Fabrice Ledentu
G.Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Cannot fault this hotel, very clean and welcoming.Sometimes can be a bit noisy but that is not a fault of the hotel,more of a problem with people who do not know how to behave. I recommended this hotel to others and they are also well pleased.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desmondo2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtapCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit , we do our best to control noisy customers. We are looking forward to welcome you at the Ibis Budget Cardiff again…

Best regards
Fabrice Ledentu
G.Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Spent a couple of days in Cardiff and needed somewhere cheap and cheerful and this hotel certainly was that. Nothing fancy, looks like student accommodation and there are no fancy extra's, but if all you want is a 5 min walk into the center, somewhere to sleep and shower then why pay and expect more than what the Ibis 'budget' offers. On a positive side: staff polite, night security, room very clean, decent location/distance from town and excellent price (£18 a night). On a slightly down side: room too warm in night, not enough pillows, lack of extra towel and not able to reserve parking (although did manage to park for £4 a day). Facilities on offer were not had as why pay £4.25 for a breakfast when there are cafe's in abundance 5 min away, but glad of the opportunities to buy snacks at reasonable prices 24 hrs a day. As I said, for somewhere just to use as a base then this is what it is and as such would stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GowerTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtapCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Thank you for your positive comments. Our team is very happy you have acknowledge their freindliness on here. We have to make an effort to better communicate at the time of check in that we provide extra towels and pillows at the reception without extra cost.
We are looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit to Cardiff.

Best regards,
Fabrice Ledentu
G.Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Stayed at this hotel many times, good value for money. Very clean and friendly service.
This one time the water was freezing in the shower - so disappointed could nt have a shower in the morning, but nice continental breakfast afterwards was lovely at a small extra charge £4.25

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtapCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit , but very dissapointed by hearing the issue with the cold water. We are looking forward to welcome you at the Ibis Budget Cardiff again…

Fabrice Ledentu
G.Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2013

This hotel was clean. That is the positive... It's extremely basic and definitely do not expect service. Only visit this hotel on a weekend if you are having a big party night in Cardiff. I think just about everyone staying here was there to party... If that's what you need then this will be ok for you. I got up early in the morning before the rest of my party (3 people sharing a room) at 7am, the other 2 had been up late and wanted to take advantage of the late check-out time of 12pm ( again great for party-goers). The shower in my room was extremely noisey and i didn't want to wake the others in my room up so asked at reception to use a shower in another room after I had gone for my morning run, there were lots available after people had checked out, I offered to pay £20 to use a shower but this was against the rules and considered impossible. Very frustrating to have to sit and wait 4 hours after my run to get ready. Not the hotels fault I agree, but they had the opportunity to make my day by selling me the use of a shower and they chose to decline, some flexibility here would have been great.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtapCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Please accept my sincere apology for taking so long in getting back to you. Thanks for leaving your thoughts here. The team and I are glad that you managed to express some very important points for us to improve, and we’ve taken note of your comments. Rest assured we will address them. Normally there is a level of flexibility, we could have give you an access to a room vacant, in order for you having a shower. This would not has made any difference to our daily operations. I am really sorry that you have experienced this issue.it will not happen again. Thank you for highlighting this problem and I am hoping to welcome you back to Ibis Budget Cardiff on your next visit to the Welsh capital.
Fabrice Ledentu
G.Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#23 of 74 in Cardiff
1,168 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#26 of 74 in Cardiff
580 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#24 of 74 in Cardiff
853 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre

Property: Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
Address: Tyndall Street, Cardiff CF10 4BE, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Green Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis budget Cardiff is a hotel in the City Centre of Cardiff with affordable prices. All rooms are en-suite, with double bed and a single bunk bed. TV with freeview channels. Snack are available at our 24 hrs reception and Continental Breakfast Buffet for only £5.50. On site car park for just £4/24hrs. Free WIFI access in all bedrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Hotel Cardiff
Etap Cardiff
Hotel Ibis Budget Cardiff Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing