We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value. Bit dirty and very smokey.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
Ranked #31 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value. Bit dirty and very smokey.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Was nice and cheap but the toilet seat had blood on it and there were hairs on the duvet cover. The previous inhabitants must have smoked heavily as it really smelt. Would have preferred the cleaner to air it. The extra £4 charge for parking and £1.40 for a cup of hot water with no kettle in the room should be added into the budget of anyone staying. The staff at the front desk were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktea_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtapCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit, but feel very sorry about the issue you had with the cleanliness, if you had reported this to the reception , we would have change you room. We are looking forward to welcome you at the Ibis Budget Cardiff again…

Kind regards

Fabrice Ledentu
G.Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    423
    246
    86
    105
See reviews for
195
335
77
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

This hotel was excellently located, very clean and had a small amount of parking outside for a reasonable overnight cost.
The rooms were clean, if a bit spartan, but met all my needs; the shower was hot, the TV worked.
The mattress was hard though and I found it difficult to get comfortable initially.
The walk to town was long but possible in 15-20 mins.
This hotel was excellent value and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spiritus26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtapCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit and we are looking forward to welcome you at the Ibis Budget Cardiff again…

Kind regards

Fabrice Ledentu
G.Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston. Lancashire.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

I stayed at the Ibis Budget hotel on Tyndall Street Cardiff for four nights & I was very surprised at the quality of the hotel for the rate. The rooms can be got for as little as £18 per night plus the car parking of £4 per day.
The room was a reasonable size & very very clean, as was the shower & toilet.
Sleep quality was good, & the TV had good reception.
There is a small fixed shelf that can be used for meals or working on a laptop.
There are no wardrobes or drawers for your clothes, just a hanging rail, but for the rate it's to be expected.
Also no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, but there are vending machines in the foyer.
Another way around this is to have your own small travel kettle & tea etc with you.
I have stayed in many hotels were they have charged £60 plus per night & which have not come anywhere near the quality of the Ibis Budget.
If I am in reasonable travel distance of an Ibis Budget hotel on my next journey, then I will certainly book it. Incredible value.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yakamatutsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtapCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit and we are looking forward to welcome you at the Ibis Budget Cardiff again…

Kind regards

Fabrice Ledentu
G.Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

I stayed here for one night. The rooms were nice and warm and were a good size. One of the rooms was at the front of the hotel and was a bit noisy with the train line opposite and the road outside but the other one was more at the back and was quiet. We did not eat at the hotel so do not know what the food is like but there is cold food, drinks and pizza available 24/7 at reception. The shower was big and had plenty of hot water which was lovely. If you want to save money on tea/coffee would recommend bringing a kettle and cups as they are not in the room. Overall the hotel is good value for money and less than 10 minute walk from St David's Centre shops. I would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicola242011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtapCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit and we are looking forward to welcome you at the Ibis Budget Cardiff again…



Kind Regards

Fabrice Ledentu
G.Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcestershire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

Just returned from an overnight trip to Cardiff and stayed in this hotel with my wife and 7 year old son. Having stayed in the Ibis Budget in Whitechapel, London we presumed it would be the same and it was. The room cost £18 a night and was clean and tidy and although basic - no separate bathroom (the toilet is a cubicle with a door in the corner but the sink and shower are part of the room) and no tea/coffee facilities it had a comfortable bed. My son liked sleeping in a bunk bed over the double bed and the different lighting effects and blackout blind added to a good nights sleep.

We needed extra pillows which were no problem for the reception staff and a large secure car park charged at £4 for 24 hours was good value too. There was only wifi in the reception/cafe area and cost £3 for 2 hours which we thought was quite expensive when it was for 24 hours in London.

We had a problem with a draft from our window which looked like it had be caused by someone trying to force it open (probably to have a fag) was only noticed when we came back late from our evening meal in the centre. I am sure if we had told the staff we would have been moved to another room but it was late so we just shoved a towel in the gap which solved the issue straight away.

We had the buffet breakfast which costs £4.95 per person and the walk into the city centre was about 1/4 mile walking on pavements next to a main road which was well lit and had pedestrian crossings.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtapCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thank you for your positive comments. Our team is very happy you have acknowledge their freindliness on here, glad you enjoyed your stay with us. In regards the wifi, we will be having very soon the access from all the rooms for free. We are looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit to Cardiff.

Kind Regards

Fabrice Ledentu
G.Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

Having stayed at Etap, or Ibis Budget hotels previously, I found this one to be much cleaner and closer to amenities than previous ones. We encountered a problem with one of our light switches, and, within 20 minutes the problem was sorted. The beds were a little on the firm side and you do only have a pillow per person in the room, but you can request further pillows from reception if you require them and the staff are happy to oblige. Really friendly staff. This is a real budget hotel, no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, or a hairdryer - however for a refundable £10 deposit you can loan a hairdryer or iron. Excellent!! Will be returning!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baabaa89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtapCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thank you for your positive comments. Our team is very happy you have acknowledge their freindliness on here, glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit to Cardiff.

Kind Regards

Fabrice Ledentu
G.Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#24 of 76 in Cardiff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#27 of 76 in Cardiff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#21 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#22 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre

Property: Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
Address: Tyndall Street, Cardiff CF10 4BE, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis budget Cardiff is a hotel in the City Centre of Cardiff with affordable prices. All rooms are en-suite, with double bed and a single bunk bed. TV with freeview channels. Snack are available at our 24 hrs reception and Continental Breakfast Buffet for only £5.50. On site car park for just £4/24hrs. Free WIFI access in all bedrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Hotel Cardiff
Etap Cardiff
Hotel Ibis Budget Cardiff Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing