We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extreme budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
Ranked #31 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Extreme budget hotel”
Reviewed 9 March 2013

This is an extreme budget hotel. There is no coffee/tea making facilities in the bedroom. The bed is very low, which could cause problems for people with walking issues. The toilet is seperate but the sink shower is within the main body of the room. One towel provided with a bar of soap. The hotel seemed to host mainly manual workers overnight whose companies obviously want to accommodate them at minimal cost. Overall, okay for a one night stay when cost is the over-riding priority, however, a longer stay would be rather miserable I think.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank travelurge123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisbudgetCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Thank you for your comment. I am really sorry we did not live up to your expectations. As a budget hotel we offer modestly designed and clean rooms at competitve price in the central location.

Best regards,
Fabrice Ledentu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    435
    255
    88
    107
See reviews for
202
350
80
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

First off. This isn't a bad hotel. It is, as the name suggests, budget. If you can imagine something not too dissimilar from one of those Japanese sleeping pods then you're not far away.

It is clean, albeit a bit sterile, and very basic. The beds are very hard but again clean. The staff are friendly enough.

So why the low rating. I guess because I have stayed at budget hotels before and you can get a lot more for your buck. No wifi in the rooms which is a shame. The shower is more like a cupboard in the wall.

If anything, while you can't really complain about the hotel, it feels more like a hospital than a hotel. But if you are after a cheap place for a night then this is your place... 2 nights might be pushing it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slord182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisbudgetCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Thank you for your positive comments. Our team is very happy you have acknowledge their freindliness on here, glad you enjoyed the cleanliness too. In regards of the Wifi , it will come very soon in all bedrooms and public area for FREE. We are looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit to Cardiff.

Fabrice Ledentu
G.Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Great hotel for couple nights. Stayed with 5 girls we all thought the hotel was great for the price.Recently refurbished so nice and fresh.Beds little hard but slept well. Little bit out of walking distance from centre but short taxi ride. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: ask for a room not on top of the car park COLD.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 177jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtapCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit and we are looking forward to welcome you at the Ibis Budget Cardiff again…

Kind regards

Fabrice Ledentu
G.Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We needed a cheap place to sleep while attending a conference. It met all our expectaions and needs, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We would very happily stay there again, even if it were for a leisure break to explore Cardiff.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikechrispowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtapCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit and we are looking forward to welcome you at the Ibis Budget Cardiff again…

Kind regards

Fabrice Ledentu
G.Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Was nice and cheap but the toilet seat had blood on it and there were hairs on the duvet cover. The previous inhabitants must have smoked heavily as it really smelt. Would have preferred the cleaner to air it. The extra £4 charge for parking and £1.40 for a cup of hot water with no kettle in the room should be added into the budget of anyone staying. The staff at the front desk were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktea_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtapCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit, but feel very sorry about the issue you had with the cleanliness, if you had reported this to the reception , we would have change you room. We are looking forward to welcome you at the Ibis Budget Cardiff again…

Kind regards

Fabrice Ledentu
G.Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#23 of 73 in Cardiff
1,140 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#28 of 73 in Cardiff
565 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#25 of 73 in Cardiff
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre

Property: Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
Address: Tyndall Street, Cardiff CF10 4BE, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Green Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis budget Cardiff is a hotel in the City Centre of Cardiff with affordable prices. All rooms are en-suite, with double bed and a single bunk bed. TV with freeview channels. Snack are available at our 24 hrs reception and Continental Breakfast Buffet for only £5.50. On site car park for just £4/24hrs. Free WIFI access in all bedrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, HRS and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Hotel Cardiff
Etap Cardiff
Hotel Ibis Budget Cardiff Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing