We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel but not budget prices”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
Ranked #31 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
GreenLeadersBronze level
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Budget hotel but not budget prices”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the Saturday of the Wales v Australia autumn international. It's a clean, fresh modern but very basic hotel. Room is small, toilet tiny, shower just practical and the bed a little to firm for my liking. None of this would have mattered if the price was budget but £75 a night was a rip off and only because it was International day.

I won't be staying again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisbudgetCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with.
Thank you very much for your honest review, at £75.00 for an international rugby game in Cardiff centre , I honestly do no think it was a rip off , we were the best competive price in town. Best regards
Fabrice Ledentu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    442
    262
    89
    107
See reviews for
208
357
80
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Ibis budget hotel is very clean and tidy hotel in Cardiff. We stayed 2 nights on 2013 june . It s really close to city center and train station. Tv is free and very soft and clean towels. If i will come to again Cardiff. I will stay Ibis Budget Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DUH1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisbudgetCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with.
Thank you very much for your honest review, I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to the time we can welcome you to the IBIS Budget Cardiff again.
Best regards
Fabrice Ledentu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Ibid Budget before so no surprises for me. Courteous check in, helpful staff on reception. Car parking on site, a bonus. Room was adequate. Didn't avail of anything else. Convenient location for city centre. For £35, who would expect more!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Wuppie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisbudgetCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with.
Thank you very much for your honest review, I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to the time we can welcome you to the IBIS Budget Cardiff again.
Best regards
Fabrice Ledentu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Wales
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

Arrived by coach, and it was paid for by a company, therefore can't comment on the car park and the price.
Efficient check-in. The hotel is located near the city centre, just five to ten minutes walk. This Ibis hotel is located right next door to the Novotel.
Small room. It was like sleeping in a ship's cabin. Sufficient for one person. One double bed and one single bed above. TV, shower, sink and toilet. Towels and soap provided. There was no lock on either the shower or toilet door. Toilet room on the small side. No tea/coffee facilities in the room. However, tea/coffee available in reception for £1.50.
Breakfast was self service. Tea/coffee, juice, toast, cereals, tinned fruit, cheese, ham, bread, croissants.
I would probably stay here again if the price is right, but I wouldn't recommend it if you're looking for luxury. It's even different to Travelodge.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Craffwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisbudgetCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with.
Thank you very much for your honest review, I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to the time we can welcome you to the IBIS Budget Cardiff again.
Best regards
Fabrice Ledentu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights to go to Wales/Argentina rugby match because couldn't find anywhere else available. Not very nice;not very budget either as in previous review. Small,plasticky rooms,smelling of chemicals/bleach.Ugh! Worst thing for us though, was the extremely rude man at reception on friday night who wouldn't help us to get a taxi and when I couldn't work out how to use the taxi freephone said " what is the matter with this woman,can't use the phone,it's not hard!" loudly! How extremely rude and unpleasant.
Never go here again.

Room Tip: Don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taffy029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisbudgetCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with us,
I'm shocked to read your comments, as the manager of the hotel working also at the front desk I am really concerned about your say.
Please contact myself direct to discuss ths situation.

Fabrice Ledentu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#22 of 73 in Cardiff
1,160 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#27 of 73 in Cardiff
575 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#25 of 73 in Cardiff
842 reviews
0.7 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre

Property: Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
Address: Tyndall Street, Cardiff CF10 4BE, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Green Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis budget Cardiff is a hotel in the City Centre of Cardiff with affordable prices. All rooms are en-suite, with double bed and a single bunk bed. TV with freeview channels. Snack are available at our 24 hrs reception and Continental Breakfast Buffet for only £5.50. On site car park for just £4/24hrs. Free WIFI access in all bedrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Hotel Cardiff
Etap Cardiff
Hotel Ibis Budget Cardiff Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing