We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh yes its budget” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
Ranked #30 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Oh yes its budget”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

couldnt accept accor business card - didnt even know what it was. Beds rock hard, NO TOILERTIES no towels nothing. 1 plug socket 1! A/C didn't work. 3 stays here always the same. It can take an age to check in with an accor card. No wifi.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisbudgetCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with.
Thank you very much for your honest review, I am disspointed to hear that you didn;t like your saty with us, in regards of WiFI connection , we could have had an issue at the time of your stay. I look forward to the time we can welcome you to the IBIS Budget Cardiff again.
Kind regards,
Fabrice Ledentu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    421
    245
    86
    105
See reviews for
195
334
75
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Clean Rooms , Toilet and Shower bit on the small side but acceptable , Bed was Comfy, excellent value for Money , cheap car parking on site , great location for Cardiff City Center . Excellent for an overnight stay .Will use again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Christopher E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisbudgetCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with.
Thank you very much for your honest review, I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to the time we can welcome you to the IBIS Budget Cardiff again.
Kind regards,
Fabrice Ledentu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

I was expecting something awful to be honest from a hotel with budget in it's name but it was lovely. We only wanted somewhere to come back to after a night out and this was perfect. Lovely shower, quite spacious. You aren't given the usual little luxuries of free shampoo and shower gel so do remember to take your own and you are also given just one small bar of soap so this gets passed between the shower and the hand basin. You can hire things like hairdryers from reception leaving a £10 deposit. There is also a snack area stocked up with pasties, sandwiches, crisps, drinks etc which is always handy when if you feel a little peckish. Hotel is in a good location, just a 10 minutes straightforward walk to St Davids and even closer to The Motorpoint Arena. There are security on the door, 3 to be precise and if it hadn't been for the patronising attitude of the security staff upon our return in the night i would have given the hotel a 5. I've stayed in hotels promising a night of comfort and luxury that haven't been as good as this Ibis Budget, i would definitely stay again and reccomend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisbudgetCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with.
Thank you very much for your honest review, I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to the time we can welcome you to the IBIS Budget Cardiff again.
Kind regards,
Fabrice Ledentu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

we use this hotel for little weekends to cardiff, whether it be for the rugby or pride. rooms are fab sleep 3 as long as as 3rd person doesnt mind sleeping on bunk bed. I have never had the breakfast as i know you can get cheaper in and around cardiff city centre. you get what you pay for. please do not go in expecting 5* quality! its in between a travelodge and premier inn, and it does the job. never had complaints!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisbudgetCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with.
Thank you very much for your honest review, I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to the time we can welcome you to the IBIS Budget Cardiff again.
Kind regards,
Fabrice Ledentu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Hotel is exactly what the name 'budget' suggests. The wife and I stayed here in November before the Wales vs Tonga game. We weren't looking for anything special, just a bed for the night as we were going to be out late and leaving early so at £35 for the room the wife snapped at the bargain.
The hotel is very well located just a short 5mins from the centre of Cardiff city so we were very pleased, the staff were polite and helpful and check-in took no time at all.
Knowing it was a budget hotel and often staying in hostels I wasn't expecting much but even I couldn't believe how poor the room was. The bed wasn't even a bed, it was basically a couple of chipboard sections screwed in place with a mattress (if you can call it that) put on top. It was very hard and very very noisy as the wood rubbed together.
There was a separate toilet but the shower and wash basin were in the room with you so not great but it did the job.
I would never recommend this hotel for a romantic getaway but if you are looking for somewhere to just sleep for a few hours and nothing more then you can't really argue with the price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisbudgetCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with.
Thank you very much for your honest review, I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to the time we can welcome you to the IBIS Budget Cardiff again.
Kind regards,
Fabrice Ledentu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed st hotel with my daughter on Monday 01st December we were going to Motorpoint Arena which was virtually next door to this hotel we could see it from the hotel.
Very clean quiet and huge shower paid £42.00 for double room staff very helpful and friendly

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janet y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisbudgetCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with.
Thank you very much for your honest review, I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to the time we can welcome you to the IBIS Budget Cardiff again.
Kind regards,
Fabrice Ledentu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

great welcome and service always very clean and the added bonus that when you arrive back late in the evening theres security personnel in attendence this aligned with the low cost of booking is absolutely tremendous we do recomend this hotel to friends and others and cannot wait to get the time off to return again many thanks ibis

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisbudgetCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with.
Thank you very much for your honest review, I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to the time we can welcome you to the IBIS Budget Cardiff again.
Kind regard
Fabrice Ledentu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#24 of 76 in Cardiff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#28 of 76 in Cardiff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#21 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#22 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre

Property: Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
Address: Tyndall Street, Cardiff CF10 4BE, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis budget Cardiff is a hotel in the City Centre of Cardiff with affordable prices. All rooms are en-suite, with double bed and a single bunk bed. TV with freeview channels. Snack are available at our 24 hrs reception and Continental Breakfast Buffet for only £5.50. On site car park for just £4/24hrs. Free WIFI access in all bedrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Hotel Cardiff
Etap Cardiff
Hotel Ibis Budget Cardiff Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing