We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value budget accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
Ranked #31 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
GreenLeadersBronze level
wales
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great value budget accommodation”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stayed here on 5th march for a function in Millennium centre. It was a 5 minute drive away, so perfect for us. The room was basic with 2 small twin beds. Could have done with an extra pillow as they were very flat. It was a no frills hotel at a very good price.
Unfortunately i was ill during the night and ended up in hospital so did not use shower etc
The night staff here were very helpful while i was poorly and stayed with me whilst ambulance was called. I was very grateful for their help. When my husband went back for my car later next day they showed concern and did not charge him for carpark.
Well done Ibis i will stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 which overlooked carpark area. It was quiet and a short walk to reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brendaj1190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisbudgetCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with us.
Thank you very much for your honest review, sorry to hear that you had to end up at the hospital, my night staff were very concerned about your health and very pleased to hear that you feel better now . I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to the time we can welcome you to the IBIS Budget Cardiff again.
Kind regards,
Fabrice Ledentu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    434
    249
    88
    106
See reviews for
201
344
79
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Walton on thames
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Check in was reasonable and efficient but from there it was downhill the whole way. The room was sterile and small with nothing going for it at all. The bed was hard and uncomfortable but that was still not the issue. The clientele of the hotel are inconsiderate and we were raised from our bed 4 times by people banging on our door to get us up. Let alone the arguments and shouting going on. By 5 am with no sleep we had had enough and went down to reception to inform them we were leaving and not returning for our second night.i was amazed to find they had CCTV and had done nothing to try and control the yobs ruining our stay. My suggestion DO NOT STAY here !

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisbudgetCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with.
I am really sorry to hear that you did not enjoyed your stay with us. At the time of your stay with us, we had difficulties to avoid noise from unrespectful customers, we have done our best to keep the noise down but at the end we had to evict them from the hotel. I am totally understand your frustration. Please feel free to contact me directly to discuss about your stay with us.
Kind regards,
Fabrice Ledentu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Leeds
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The location and friendly staff are the only positive things I can think of. We stayed the night on 28.02 and had almost no sleep at all.

The rooms are clean, good shower facilities. Otherwise very basic, a bit like a hospital room.
The walls are paper thin. We got 'lucky' to be next to a boozy party. Every time they slammed their door something rattled behind the TV stand, and the walls were quite literally shaking.
The rattling bit was fixed by my husband by around 3 am. By 5 am we both have had enough and I rang the reception to complain-by that time the party went downhill and it all sounded like there was a fight next door with a half naked guy was lying on the floor outside our door (saw him through the peep-hole).

The window is double-glazed, so not sure why it felt so draughty.
We didn't stay for breakfast.
Also had to pay £4 for parking.

We paid £50 for the night. It was our first and I think our last stay in Ibis Budget.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruschick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisbudgetCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with.
I am really sorry to hear that you did not enjoyed your stay with us. We always try to do our best to avoid noise from guests who do not respect the others. On the night of your stay we had to evict some noisy guests from the hotel. Please feel free to contact me directly to discuss about your night stay in my hotel.
Kind regards,
Fabrice Ledentu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Stayed for one night costin £83 plus £4 parking which they tried chargin me twice for !!!!! Room was more like a hospital room than hotel room, no security at night. Paid an additional £10 for what I was told was a buffet breakfast which turned out to be cereal, ham or bread awful !!!!! No point in complaining as no one speaks good English and very uninterested in what u were sayin !!! Would I stay again for free yes payin nooooooooo way

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisbudgetCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with.
I am really sorry to hear that you did not enjoyed your stay with us. Please feel free to contact me directly to discuss about your comments.
Kind regards,
Fabrice Ledentu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed here on a recent business trip to Cardiff, clean small modern rooms ,with free Wi-Fi in the rooms, parking is about £4.00 per day extra, 5 mins walk in to the city centre which is buzzing,
but no kettle in the room, you can buy snacks down stairs, would I stay again, YES

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Graham696969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisbudgetCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with.
Thank you very much for your honest review. I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to the time we can welcome you to the IBIS Budget Cardiff again.
Kind regards,
Fabrice Ledentu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

A last minute booking for friday night after wales v france game. Not cheap probably because of the rugby. Convenient, 10 min walk to middle of city. . Clean quiet room. Simple and functional. Breakfast chaotic as the hotel was full of big rugby fans wanting their breakfast before flying home. However the staff coped well in cramped conditions. I am sure this is more calm generally.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisbudgetCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with.
Thank you very much for your honest review. I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to the time we can welcome you to the IBIS Budget Cardiff again.
Kind regards,
Fabrice Ledentu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed for the rugby Friday night 21st February . Because of the rugby we were charge £200 for 1 night hardly budget is it? . Our room ( 140 ) was small, damp and we had a leak from the sink. Too many people trying to have breakfast so we went into the city for ours. Really feel I couldn't recommend this place to anyone. Ps no point complaining at hotel no one spoke very good English .

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Formulaonefans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisbudgetCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with.
Thank you very much for your honest review, sorry to hear that you found us over priced, due to 6 nations game the demand was very high and we were constantly the cheapest in town centre. We look forward to the time we can welcome you to the IBIS Budget Cardiff again.
Kind regards,
Fabrice Ledentu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#24 of 73 in Cardiff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#27 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#25 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#22 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre

Property: Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
Address: Tyndall Street, Cardiff CF10 4BE, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis budget Cardiff is a hotel in the City Centre of Cardiff with affordable prices. All rooms are en-suite, with double bed and a single bunk bed. TV with freeview channels. Snack are available at our 24 hrs reception and Continental Breakfast Buffet for only £5.50. On site car park for just £4/24hrs. Free WIFI access in all bedrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Hotel Cardiff
Etap Cardiff
Hotel Ibis Budget Cardiff Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing