We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, modern and cheap!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
Ranked #30 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
GreenLeadersBronze level
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean, modern and cheap!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed at the hotel for two nights whilst visiting a friend in Cardiff. The room was extremely cheap, and I feel there was a great value.

As from the pictures by other reviewers, the rooms are modern, with a digital lighting controller by the bedside to adjust various lights, main light, side light, door, desk and "mood lightning" around the edge.

Heating was controlled independently, rather than a central hotel control. Either hot or cold, with a dial to choose temperature.

Bathroom / Toilet facilities were clean, each both an individual "cupboard". Soap was offered, but no Shampoo or Gel.

Bed was a double size, with clean and comfortable linen and mattress. TV was digital, with various inputs.

Would recommend the hotel. On my third night in Cardiff I stayed at a 4* and the room experience in terms of cleanliness matched.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisbudgetCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with us.
Thank you very much for your honest review and your 4* rating. I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay and the friendless of our staff. We look forward to the time we can welcome you to the IBIS Budget Cardiff again.
Kind regards,
Fabrice Ledentu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    421
    245
    86
    105
See reviews for
195
334
75
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

The rooms are very clean and for me they were ideal having everything contained - toilet and shower.

There is no mistaking this is no frills - I do feel for the price a kettle and tea coffee could be provided in rooms. Also perhaps more than a bar of soap.

I didn't have breakfast so unable to comment on that.

Unfortunately the first night I stayed there was a lot of noise going on until the early hours. There seemed to be a crowd of teenagers on the car park who I think were guests but there was no attempt to quieter them down.

The other nights were ok
And this wasn't a problem.

The location is good for the centre and Cardiff Bay. You can get a less budget feel for cheaper elsewhere though.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Corinne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisbudgetCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with us.
Thank you very much for your honest review. I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay but really sorry about the noise from other guests on your first night. We look forward to the time we can welcome you to the IBIS Budget Cardiff again.
Kind regards,
Fabrice Ledentu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Looking at a few reviews people have said this hotel was terrible. However, its is a budget hotel and for the price was brilliant! If you want a luxury hotel then look else where. But if you want a clean room with semi comfortable beds, a tv, clean toilets, shower, sink, clean towels and a modern interiour then its perfect.
We came to visit Cardiff, not sit in the hotel.
The shower is rather spacious and is as powerful as you need. There are plenty of different lights in the room all controlled by touch controls. The bunk beds over the double bed are high enough for an adult to sit up under neath without banging a head. Temperature is controlled within the room which was handy. We were even given extra pillows by reception upon request. Staff and cleaners alike are friendly.
Located equally 10 mins between both Cardiff Bay and Cardiff city center. The walks were quite nice.
My only query would be if there was more than 2 to a room it would be too crampt, but for 1 or 2 is great. We got a parking space no problem. Would use again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Terrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisbudgetCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with us.
Thank you very much for your honest review. I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay and the friendless of our staff. We look forward to the time we can welcome you to the IBIS Budget Cardiff again.
Kind regards,
Fabrice Ledentu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luton
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Bed was not made on arrival.
The hotel brings a whole new meaning to the word budget.
The rooms were just awful and felt unclean.
There is no bathroom. Only a cupboard with a toilet.
The shower is next to the bed, so privacy is non existent if sharing.
One pillow only, staff were unable to provide more.
No kettle or toiletries in rooms.
The staff were rude and the cleaners were very loud in the early morning.
One member of our group was made to check out his room two hours early by cleaners.

Breakfast was unbelievable. (Second night we had to go out for breakfast)
Only orange juice available. Majority of the time it was empty.
Tea and coffee machine with cheap cardboard cups.
Only one toast maker.
A small pastry bowl with stale pastry.
The fruit was just the fruit bowl from reception.

If you are going to stay in Cardiff. Never book this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms in a different hotel are 100% better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ieatanything
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisbudgetCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with.
I am really sorry to hear that you did not enjoyed your stay with us. Please feel free to contact me directly to discuss about your stay with us.
Kind regards,
Fabrice Ledentu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Grasmere
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

The hotel itself was very easy to find (I arrived by train). Check-in was swift and the gentleman on the desk was very polite and professional.

The room itself was very basic but as I stayed in it for just sleeping I cannot complain at that! Sleep quality was fine, the only annoyance was the slamming of doors from other guest on my floor (I felt the vibrations from the room 5 doors down).

I didn't eat in the hotel (there are plenty of options for both breakfast and dinner in the city centre).

Overall, for £70 for 2 nights, I was pleasantly surprised with the hotel and would recommend it to anyone looking for a cheap get-away to Cardiff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas-Barnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisbudgetCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with us.
Thank you very much for your honest review. I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay and the friendless of our staff. We look forward to the time we can welcome you to the IBIS Budget Cardiff again.
Kind regards,
Fabrice Ledentu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#24 of 76 in Cardiff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#28 of 76 in Cardiff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#21 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#22 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre

Property: Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
Address: Tyndall Street, Cardiff CF10 4BE, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis budget Cardiff is a hotel in the City Centre of Cardiff with affordable prices. All rooms are en-suite, with double bed and a single bunk bed. TV with freeview channels. Snack are available at our 24 hrs reception and Continental Breakfast Buffet for only £5.50. On site car park for just £4/24hrs. Free WIFI access in all bedrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Hotel Cardiff
Etap Cardiff
Hotel Ibis Budget Cardiff Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing