We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Budget Accommodation in the City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
Ranked #30 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I didn't expect too much when I booked the Ibis Budget in Cardiff for £28 a night. I was pleasantly surprised. Check in staff were efficient and very friendly. The room was spotlessly clean, but was seriously "no frills". A comfortable bed, a decent shower when I figured out the controls, and a perfectly adequate but small toilet. I was staying with my husband, but if visiting with a friend the fact that the shower opens directly into the room, and is behind a frosted glass door might be a bit problematic. We stayed mid week, and all other guests were middle aged couples or families. We were not troubled by street noise, although there were a few clanking doors. I am sure the atmosphere is different at the weekend. The location is excellent- 5 minute walk to Cardiff city centre and the station, and a 15 minute stroll to Cardiff Bay. The buffet breakfast at £4.95 was good value. Fresh fruit, yogurt, croissants, toast, cold meats, cheese, jam and Nutella. The only reason I could not give it 5 stars was due to the small car park. There was no opportunity to reserve a disabled parking bay, and even if you had paid the £4 per day fee, your space was not guaranteed if you went out and returned later in the day. There is absolutely no on street parking anywhere nearby, and disabled bays in the car park were allowed to be used by all drivers. For wheelchair users this could be a serious set back. The car park was full when we visited. Spaces outside are all for office users and cars are clamped if parked in private car parks (quite rightly).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queenofdrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisbudgetCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with us.
Thank you very much for your honest review. I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay and the friendless of our staff. Regarding the car park, we do the maximum to avoid the use of the disabled bay from non authorised car. We use car from the staff in order to be able to keep these bays available . We look forward to the time we can welcome you to the IBIS Budget Cardiff again.
Kind regards,
Fabrice Ledentu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,145)
There are newer reviews for Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

696 - 702 of 1,145 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Fandangopolka
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisbudgetCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Ibis Budget gives you exactly what you’d expect from a budget hotel. Don’t stay here if you’re looking for five star luxury. It’s primarily a stag and hen hotel at weekends, and it’s well located for the bars and shops in Cardiff city centre, which are a mere 10 mins walk away. The train station is a similar distance. The rooms are small, but functional with an odd double-single bunk bed combo and a small TV, and that’s about it. The shower is built into the wall, and the toilet in a small separate cupboard. Overall, everything was reasonably clean(ish). The hotel felt safe, particularly on Saturday night, when they have bouncers at the door and patrolling the corridors (not necessarily a bad thing..). The breakfast is basic but reasonable, you won’t find a fry up but there’s a small selection of cereals, pastries and mini cheese to enjoy. The room rate appeared to be quite cheap, but we booked this through an events company, Chillisauce, and vastly overpaid for what we got, so you’re best off booking directly.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the hotel are quieter and brighter, as the main road that runs outside the fron...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedDragon2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisbudgetCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with us.
Thank you very much for your honest review. I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to the time we can welcome you to the IBIS Budget Cardiff again.
Kind regards,
Fabrice Ledentu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This is a great value budget hotel. Stayed here for one night and paid only £19 for a double room. An absolute bargain. Bed was comfortable and room might be small but when all you want is a bed for a night, then you really can't go wrong. It's clean, modern and comfortable and just a very short walk to the motorpoint arena and shops.
We even parked at the hotel for just £4 for 24 hours.
Will definately stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Sharonelaine35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisbudgetCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with us.
Thank you very much for your honest review. I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay and the friendless of our staff. We look forward to the time we can welcome you to the IBIS Budget Cardiff again.
Kind regards,
Fabrice Ledentu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My adult daughter and I stayed at the hotel for one night while attending a concert at Motorpoint Arena. Having read some of the reviews, I was a bit anxious but had no need to be as the hotel was clean, comfortable, in a good location within walking distance of both Motorpoint and the city centre and excellent value for money. Admittedly the rooms aren't large but I've stayed in far more expensive four star hotels where the rooms are of a similar size. The shower is pretty spacious with two shelves for toiletries etc and, although not particularly powerful, is perfectly adequate. The room itself and the bedding were very clean and fresh and there are various lights with a controller by the bed. There is also a small desk with stool and a full length mirror. Admittedly it would have been useful to have had a power socket nearer to the mirror for hair dryer purposes (knowing one wasn't provided we brought our own) but that is a minor detail. We found the beds firm but comfortable although I do agree with other comments that the pillows are somewhat hard! We arrived fairly early so managed to get a parking space with no difficulty but I understand the staff can direct you to other parking in the area if the onsite car park is full. Checking in and out was very easy and we found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful. We didn't have the breakfast so can't comment on that. Overall we found our stay to be very pleasant and not only will we stay here again when in the area but have already booked to do so!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DynamicDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisbudgetCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with us.
Thank you very much for your honest and great review. I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay and the friendless of our staff. We look forward to the time we can welcome you to the IBIS Budget Cardiff again.
Kind regards,
Fabrice Ledentu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed at the hotel for two nights whilst visiting a friend in Cardiff. The room was extremely cheap, and I feel there was a great value.

As from the pictures by other reviewers, the rooms are modern, with a digital lighting controller by the bedside to adjust various lights, main light, side light, door, desk and "mood lightning" around the edge.

Heating was controlled independently, rather than a central hotel control. Either hot or cold, with a dial to choose temperature.

Bathroom / Toilet facilities were clean, each both an individual "cupboard". Soap was offered, but no Shampoo or Gel.

Bed was a double size, with clean and comfortable linen and mattress. TV was digital, with various inputs.

Would recommend the hotel. On my third night in Cardiff I stayed at a 4* and the room experience in terms of cleanliness matched.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisbudgetCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with us.
Thank you very much for your honest review and your 4* rating. I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay and the friendless of our staff. We look forward to the time we can welcome you to the IBIS Budget Cardiff again.
Kind regards,
Fabrice Ledentu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

The rooms are very clean and for me they were ideal having everything contained - toilet and shower.

There is no mistaking this is no frills - I do feel for the price a kettle and tea coffee could be provided in rooms. Also perhaps more than a bar of soap.

I didn't have breakfast so unable to comment on that.

Unfortunately the first night I stayed there was a lot of noise going on until the early hours. There seemed to be a crowd of teenagers on the car park who I think were guests but there was no attempt to quieter them down.

The other nights were ok
And this wasn't a problem.

The location is good for the centre and Cardiff Bay. You can get a less budget feel for cheaper elsewhere though.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Corinne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisbudgetCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with us.
Thank you very much for your honest review. I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay but really sorry about the noise from other guests on your first night. We look forward to the time we can welcome you to the IBIS Budget Cardiff again.
Kind regards,
Fabrice Ledentu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#23 of 74 in Cardiff
1,188 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#27 of 74 in Cardiff
582 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#22 of 74 in Cardiff
864 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre

Address: Tyndall Street, Cardiff CF10 4BE, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £33 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis budget Cardiff is a hotel in the City Centre of Cardiff with affordable prices. All rooms are en-suite, with double bed and a single bunk bed. TV with freeview channels. Snack are available at our 24 hrs reception and Continental Breakfast Buffet for only £5.50. On site car park for just £4/24hrs. Free WIFI access in all bedrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Hotel Cardiff
Etap Cardiff
Hotel Ibis Budget Cardiff Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing