We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drunks, danger and sleepless nights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
Ranked #30 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tavistock
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Drunks, danger and sleepless nights”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We booked into the hotel (with my disabled son) and had nothing but problems from the start.

1. They booked us in to the wrong rooms,
2. Asked us to move TWICE
3. I fell getting out of the shower due to dangerous room floors and poor signs,
4. I was only given a mat to put down for the outside of the shower AFTER I complained
5. We were kept awake ALL night by drunken abusive guests in the hall despite countless complaints,. The drunks were carrying and playing with sex toys in the hall, including blow up dolls
6. When My disabled son complained he was told "It is a "Budget hotel" you have to expect noise""
7. I have written TWICE asking for a refund and not even been contacted
8. I complained FIVE TIMES to reception still no contact has been made
9. I was given the managers number and email 02920458131, I have texted him, NO RSPONSE

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisbudgetCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with.
I am really sorry to hear that you did not enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking into the matter at the moment and will take appropriate action. Kind regards,
Fabrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    430
    247
    86
    105
See reviews for
197
341
79
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

If you just want somewhere to put your head down its perfect, if your expecting any more look elsewhere, its clean and tidy but very basic, no kettle coffee/tea in room no restaurant, you have a good 10 minute walk it get food.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russ a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisbudgetCardiff, Front Office Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with us.
Thank you very much for your honest review . Hot drinks are available 24/7 on reception and restaurant is available just next door to us in hotel Novotel. We look forward to the time we can welcome you to the IBIS Budget Cardiff again.
Kind regards,
Fabrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights, it's only a 5 minute walk to the center.
Staff are very helpful and friendly and the hotel is clean and tidy.
Room are ok with everything you need and for what your paying it's very well thought out.
Will use this place again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisbudgetCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with us.
Thank you very much for your honest review. I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay and the friendless of our staff. We look forward to the time we can welcome you to the IBIS Budget Cardiff again.
Kind regards,
Fabrice Ledentu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

just stayed at ibis cardiff central hotel for 2 nights .was everything we exspected from ibis as we have stayed at there budget hotels before.Room was very clean bed was ok shower was also ok.The location is what makes this a good place to stay very central and only 5min walk to cardiff bay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels

Helpful?
Thank crakey2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisbudgetCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with us.
Thank you very much for your great review. I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay . We look forward to the time we can welcome you to the IBIS Budget Cardiff again.
Kind regards,
Fabrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Just one problem when we arrived .I wanted to pay for our room in cash but you had to have photo id .eg- a driving licence [i dont drive ]or your passport [We live in Swansea and were on a girlie shopping trip for 2 days so i did not think to bring my passport lol .So had to go in to the city center to put cash in the bank , then go back and check . in not ideal .Apart from that what a great place rooms are spotless ,staff are great,had a really good night sleep ,about 10-15 min walk to city center .A gentleman on reception even changed our room from a double to twin beds with no problems at all [we did requested but i should have phoned to check[.All ready booked our rooms for xmas shopping trip and for a weekend away next year, cant wait

Room Tip: good air,con and good wi-fi .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobbybliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisbudgetCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with us.
Thank you very much for your great review. I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay . We look forward to the time we can welcome you to the IBIS Budget Cardiff again.
Kind regards,
Fabrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Spent one night as attending an exam the next day.

The price was good and I think for one night and looking for the cheap fare it is ok.

Nothing fancy; breakfast was basic but enough for me.

Location was ok.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SudaniUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisbudgetCardiff, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with us.
Thank you very much for your great review. I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay . We look forward to the time we can welcome you to the IBIS Budget Cardiff again.
Kind regards,
Fabrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#23 of 76 in Cardiff
1,110 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#28 of 76 in Cardiff
552 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#26 of 76 in Cardiff
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#21 of 76 in Cardiff
799 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#10 of 76 in Cardiff
2,030 reviews
0.7 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre

Property: Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
Address: Tyndall Street, Cardiff CF10 4BE, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis budget Cardiff is a hotel in the City Centre of Cardiff with affordable prices. All rooms are en-suite, with double bed and a single bunk bed. TV with freeview channels. Snack are available at our 24 hrs reception and Continental Breakfast Buffet for only £5.50. On site car park for just £4/24hrs. Free WIFI access in all bedrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Hotel Cardiff
Etap Cardiff
Hotel Ibis Budget Cardiff Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing