We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite B&B Experience”
Review of Ty Rosa B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ty Rosa B&B
Ranked #2 of 44 Cardiff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Morrison CO
2 reviews
“Favorite B&B Experience”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I visited Cardiff with two of my best friends from college and we stayed at Ty Rosa for a few days. It was honestly our favorite place we stayed in all of our travels in Europe. My friend who lives in London jokes around that she may just go stay at Ty Rosa the next time she needs a vacation. Paul and Stuart were great hosts.

Make sure to have a meal (or two!) at the B&B. The food is incredible! We had the beef wellington, which was homemade and delicious.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SequeiraFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tyrosa, Manager at Ty Rosa B&B, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for the kind comments, we really do try and do our best for guests and glad that you felt we had made your stay in Cardiff really enjoyable. Look forward to your London friend coming for a break with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    97
    17
    12
    3
See reviews for
47
239
96
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Thames, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Our first stay in Cardiff picked right place, couldn't do better very hospitable hosts, nothing to much trouble went out of their way to make our stay the most relaxing and enjoyable. Right in the heart of places to visit. Rooms spacious and spotless. Best breakfasts, lots to choose from. Both great chefs. Home from home as soon as you walk through the door. Can't wait to return, or check out the Ty-Rosa apartments.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter what room you choose, all spotless and well stocked with all facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This is where to stay in Cardiff! Once I arrived, I was directed to a lovely living room and offered a coffee (always a way to make a friend out of me), which was in a personal french press. Paul then showed me the sites on the map and gave me a few brochures to start my trip. I was staying in the annex building where the loo was shared with two people (if I stayed again I think I'd request to have one of the en suite rooms), but the room and building were lovely, and had the added bonus of a kitchenette. The best part of the stay was the breakfast. I can't rave about it enough, and they even had gluten free options (as a Coeliac, you don't often get to have eggs on toast). The food was amazing, and came with coffee or tea made fresh. Brilliant. The location was great. It was a quick walk to Grangetown station which goes to Cardiff Central, which is right in the center of the city, and also where the bus station is. If you head off in the other direction the bay is only a 20 minute walk away and is quite a nice walk. The bay is a must visit if you are a Doctor Who or Torchwood fan. A lot of the sites from the show are here, as well as The Doctor Who experience, and a shrine to a Torchwood character. The area is very upbeat and a great place to have a coffee or glass of wine. The hosts are incredibly nice and this is a great place to be while in Caerdydd

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tyrosa, Manager at Ty Rosa B&B, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Hi Megan, It was a great pleasure having you here with us and that you so enjoyed Cardiff and catching up with the Dr Who experience and locations. See you again when you next come to Cardiff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Paul and Stuart made my 3 night stay perfect. Had 2 dinners and 3 breakfasts with them - all delicious! Lovely en-suite room - comfortable bed and great warm shower. I WILL be back next year and have recommended Ty Rosa to all my friends!

Room Tip: Harlech Castle was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLSSCLARKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umeå
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed at Tŷ Rosa as an emergency solution since we had to stay another night in Cardiff and our hotel was fully booked. It was however a very pleasant change of plans. Lovely place, nice people and wonderful breakfast! If we ever return to Cardiff this will definitely be our first choice this time! Greetings from Finland! Diolch yn fawr!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pampelius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tyrosa, Manager at Ty Rosa B&B, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Glad to be of help to you when you got short and had to stay an extra night, See you again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I stayed only 3 nights, a bit of a whirlwind visit, but very memorable. Paul and Stuart were very friendly and welcoming and full of suggestions for how to best enjoy Cardiff and surroundings. The breakfasts were superb and gargantuan: I've never before had such a vast array of choice. Their Eggs Benedict was the best I've ever tasted! As a solo traveller, it was great to stay in a place with such a homey feel, to sit in their lounge and chat to the hosts and the guests. My only beef was the shared bathroom: I guess I'm getting too old and grumpy! Oh, I must give this special mention: Paul showed an amazingly deft hand at slashing through the coconut I'd won at St Fagan's Heritage Museum. Recommended by "The Coconut Lady".

Room Tip: Choose a room with an ensuite if you don't like a shared bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Ty Rosa is a really lovely place to spend the night, with comfortable rooms, luxurious decor, extremely charming hosts and all at a great price. The Full Welsh breakfast is unmissable - don't be afraid to try it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrXStitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.2 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.6 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
1.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#17 of 73 in Cardiff
1,186 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Rosa B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Rosa B&B

Property: Ty Rosa B&B
Address: 118 Clive Street, Cardiff CF11 7JE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ty Rosa B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gay owned boutique B&B that welcomes everyone to stay. Luxury styled rooms with all the facilities you would need inc mineral water and tea/coffee facilites. With free parking and free fibre optic wi-fi. TyRosa is only a short walking distance between the city centre and Cardiff Bay (bus stop just outside to city). We have an extensive breakfast menu fresh cooked to order, so we can cater for dietary adjustments like vegan/dairy/gluten/nut/soya free. You are also welcome to dine in with us and sample some Welsh dishes, all on a 24 hour pre-order as we get items in fresh to cook for you. We look forward to you coming to stay as guest and leave as a friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ty Rosa B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Rosa Boutique Gay Bed And Breakfast
Ty Rosa Boutique Gay Hotel Cardiff
Ty Rosa B&B Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing