We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!”
Review of Ty Rosa B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ty Rosa B&B
Ranked #2 of 47 Cardiff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed one night here and the boys were amazing! We really enjoyed the rooms and the breakfast was lovely! I would suggest to anyone staying here do book dinner with them!
We had the front room overlooking the road and it was lovely and quiet. I would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnitaBaumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 593 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed one night in a double room overlooking the garden, which is probably quieter than those overlooking the busy main road. It was small but comfortable and clean. Our hosts were friendly and welcoming, so was Max the Labrador. It is incredibly good value for money, especially as there is a wide choice of options for breakfast and the quality was very good. If we go to Cardiff again will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mika55_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tyrosa, Manager at Ty Rosa B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

So pleased you had a good stay with us and that you enjoyed the variety of the freshly cooked menu for breakfast. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Fabulous home-from-home Guesthouse near to both Cardiff City Centre & the Bay (if you don't want to walk,there's a bus stop just outside or available taxis).
Stuart & Paul who run the B&B make you feel welcome the minute you arrive with plenty of kind advice as to where to eat,visit etc.
Although we didn't eat dinner here,we heard glowing reports of the menu served in the evenings. We did,however,have wonderful breakfasts & have been assured of future welcome.

Room Tip: The Keep at the top of Ty Rosa is private & quiet with pretty smallish bathroom- still,very comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FJS8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Came here with my girlfriend for the weekend and glad we stayed here! We stayed in the big room called 'the keep' and it was great! We both had a warm welcome and got offered some maps and advice for things to do. We came to meet some friends from uni so we came home quiet late both nights and nobody seemed to mind. We'll definitely be staying here again next time we're in Cardiff!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Kane91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tyrosa, Manager at Ty Rosa B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for the nice comments and that you felt like you were staying with friends,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

My partner and I stayed at Ty Rosa for a 3 night break, and it's a fabulous place, well deserving of all the positive reviews. From our arrival, when we were greeted with coffees and a great intro to the sights of Cardiff, to a friendly farewell on our last day, our stay at Ty Rosa was a great experience.

Paul and Stuart are so lovely and friendly, and the food is fantastic - I wish we could have stayed longer so that we could try more of the breakfast options, however the eggs benedict, mackerel, Gower breakfast and traditional were all fabulous. Try the smoothie, and do stay for an evening meal if you can; it's like dinner with friends.

Our room was Barry Island in the Annex over the road, which is a lovely studio room. It was nice to have the cooking facilities and table in the room. The annex rooms share a (nice!) bathroom, which wasn't a problem for us.

To sum up, thank you Paul and Stuart (and Max the dog!) for a lovely trip; we have recommended you to our friends, and look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

My other half and I stayed at Ty Rosa on a trip to Cardiff to see the Rugby. Our hosts were very welcoming and provided lots of really useful information about the area and good places to visit.
We stayed in the annex across the road from the main house. The room was clean and comfortable. We had to share a bathroom (we did know about this in advance) which was a little inconvenient but by no means spoiled our visit.
The breakfast was amazing and well worth paying for - you don't need to eat for the rest of the day! I'd highly recommend it.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank myfanwy_christmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Can't fault this B&B.
We arrived yesterday about 11.45am. This was because we had a Memorial Service and Wake to attend, and it was easier to leave the car. Knocked on the door to book a taxi to Llandaff Cathedral. Despite arriving early we were greeted with a smile, and a coffee. Signed in and shown our room.
The an evening meal which was absolutely delicious. Had two courses and was full.
The breakfast was great. The homemade smoothie was outstanding, and had two glasses of it.
Will certainly stay here again. The warm welcome, and nothing was a trouble.
As one of their signs says "You arrive as a guest, leave as a Friend"

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank milla0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tyrosa, Manager at Ty Rosa B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

So pleased you had a good stay with us in view of trip and hope to see you both again some time for a relaxing trip to enjoy Cardiff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.6 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
5.7 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#27 of 74 in Cardiff
599 reviews
1.2 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Exchange Hotel
The Exchange Hotel
#1 of 47 in Cardiff
246 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cathedral 73
Cathedral 73
#3 of 47 in Cardiff
155 reviews
1.5 mi away
Church Guest House
Church Guest House
#4 of 47 in Cardiff
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Rosa B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Rosa B&B

Address: 118 Clive Street, Cardiff CF11 7JE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Price Range: £36 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ty Rosa B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gay owned boutique B&B that welcomes everyone to stay. Luxury styled rooms with all the facilities you would need inc mineral water and tea/coffee facilites. With free parking and free fibre optic wi-fi. TyRosa is only a short walking distance between the city centre and Cardiff Bay (bus stop just outside to city). We have an extensive breakfast menu fresh cooked to order, so we can cater for dietary adjustments like vegan/dairy/gluten/nut/soya free. You are also welcome to dine in with us and sample some Welsh dishes, all on a 24 hour pre-order as we get items in fresh to cook for you. We look forward to you coming to stay as guest and leave as a friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ty Rosa B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Rosa Boutique Gay Hotel Cardiff
Ty Rosa Boutique Gay Bed And Breakfast
Ty Rosa B&B Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing