We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend”
Review of Ty Rosa B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ty Rosa B&B
Ranked #2 of 47 Cardiff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2014

what can i say, we went for a weekend of rugby the room was great as we only needed to sleep there, was clean had TV and tea/coffee making facilitys. breakfast was great we were well fed deffo worth it.
would happily return

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan2k1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verityprudenc, Manager at Ty Rosa B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

So pleased you had a great weekend, look forward to another.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (592)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 592 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014

Stayed here after a trip to see a show at the Wales Millennium Centre. Can not fault the place one bit. The hosts are amazing and full of so much knowledge. They take the time to chat and be genuinely interested in anything you have to say, nothing is too much trouble. The room was well equipped and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. Will be sure to stay here when we go to see our next show.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jinsyjase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Great stay at this fantastically friendly B&B (yes remember people it's a B&B not a 5 star hotel!) ok the place may need a little sharpening up but it's homely, clean and my room was large and the bed wonderfully comfortable, no street noise even though it was on the main road. Both Breakfast and Dinner were fantastic. Excellent value for money and way better than a soul less travelodge. Stuart and Paul absolutely make this place, it's like staying with friends. I can't wait to go back!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank JamBat28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Paul and Stuart make the Ty Rosa what it is. Like many reviewers on here I can confirm that they are both really helpful, welcoming and know how to serve a great breakfast. Tea on arrival is a nice touch.

That said we were disappointed with the hotel itself, which is a little shabby in places. Our room wasn't that great either, especially the shower room which was in need of attention. The worse thing was the noise of the TV (it buzzed especially when on and nothing we could do would stop it) and the saniflo unit that periodically came on and made load noise

I'd stay here again just for the hospitality alone but in a different room

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stefinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tyrosa, Manager at Ty Rosa B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and a shame you had a few issues with the room, we did not know about the TV buzzing until we have seen this review and have tested it and it seems a speaker has an electrical feed back fault and we have now replaced the unit , The saniflow is being looked at this week to rectify the problem, The shame you didn't raise these problems while here so we could have tried to fix them. Look forward to seeing you again with improved facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed one night here and the boys were amazing! We really enjoyed the rooms and the breakfast was lovely! I would suggest to anyone staying here do book dinner with them!
We had the front room overlooking the road and it was lovely and quiet. I would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnitaBaumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed one night in a double room overlooking the garden, which is probably quieter than those overlooking the busy main road. It was small but comfortable and clean. Our hosts were friendly and welcoming, so was Max the Labrador. It is incredibly good value for money, especially as there is a wide choice of options for breakfast and the quality was very good. If we go to Cardiff again will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mika55_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tyrosa, Manager at Ty Rosa B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

So pleased you had a good stay with us and that you enjoyed the variety of the freshly cooked menu for breakfast. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Fabulous home-from-home Guesthouse near to both Cardiff City Centre & the Bay (if you don't want to walk,there's a bus stop just outside or available taxis).
Stuart & Paul who run the B&B make you feel welcome the minute you arrive with plenty of kind advice as to where to eat,visit etc.
Although we didn't eat dinner here,we heard glowing reports of the menu served in the evenings. We did,however,have wonderful breakfasts & have been assured of future welcome.

Room Tip: The Keep at the top of Ty Rosa is private & quiet with pretty smallish bathroom- still,very comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FJS8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
5.7 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#25 of 74 in Cardiff
596 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#16 of 74 in Cardiff
1,286 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Exchange Hotel
The Exchange Hotel
#1 of 47 in Cardiff
221 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cathedral 73
Cathedral 73
#3 of 47 in Cardiff
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Rosa B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Rosa B&B

Address: 118 Clive Street, Cardiff CF11 7JE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Price Range: £37 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ty Rosa B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gay owned boutique B&B that welcomes everyone to stay. Luxury styled rooms with all the facilities you would need inc mineral water and tea/coffee facilites. With free parking and free fibre optic wi-fi. TyRosa is only a short walking distance between the city centre and Cardiff Bay (bus stop just outside to city). We have an extensive breakfast menu fresh cooked to order, so we can cater for dietary adjustments like vegan/dairy/gluten/nut/soya free. You are also welcome to dine in with us and sample some Welsh dishes, all on a 24 hour pre-order as we get items in fresh to cook for you. We look forward to you coming to stay as guest and leave as a friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Ty Rosa B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Rosa Boutique Gay Hotel Cardiff
Ty Rosa Boutique Gay Bed And Breakfast
Ty Rosa B&B Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing