We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enter as strangers and leave as friends :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ty Rosa B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ty Rosa B&B
Ranked #2 of 46 Cardiff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Multan, Pakistan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enter as strangers and leave as friends :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

They have written this phrase at the front door desk "Enter as strangers and leave as friends" and I will say they really keep to these words. I felt at home. Paul and Stuart cook very good.

Highly recommended, good value for money, good food

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mnmalik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    94
    16
    12
    3
See reviews for
45
234
93
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Very welcoming atmosphere with ever so helpful hosts Paul and Stuart . The guys are brilliant ! Nice white decor for Xmas period in the living room. Harlech castle room which I stayed in isn't very big but had everything that I needed for a perfect stay.I'm not a big dog fan but their labrador Max is so sweet !

Room Tip: Harlech castle room has it's own private bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as a group of five for a weekend in January. The location is fine and close to where we wanted to go to. Paul and Stuart(and Max) were welcoming and warm even though we arrived late on the Friday evening. They gave us a good introduction to Cardiff.
We were disappointed that the ensuite was not clean and the sink and toilet were both dirty after what we presumed were the last guests to leave it. As it was late, we didn't want to trouble our hosts and cleaned it up ourselves. I had initially thought that the shared bathroom was shared with the same party but this was not the case which wasn't clear when I made the booking. We didn't have breakfast the next day and waited for an hour for our hosts, only to then decide to head into town for breakfast as we were pretty hungry by then. Paul was apologetic that he had overslept and promised to refund us the cost of the breakfast. We haven't yet received a refund despite being in contact after the stay. It's not a big deal but slightly unprofessional. When we did have breakfast the next day it was very good. Overall, pleasant but could do better in regards to cleanliness as that is what you expect from a bnb.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank miller7582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tyrosa, Manager at Ty Rosa B&B, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
We can only apologies again for your stay with us and that things were not done as they are normally. Personal circumstances were an issue but that is no excuse. We hope to impress you if you return to Cardiff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Stayed here a few months ago and booked my son and a work colleague here this week too.
Great little B&B very clean friendly and breakfast was great I would recommend this to anyone wanting a cheep friendly place to lay their head in my opinion its under priced, run by 2 really nice guys Stuart and Paul, excellent hosts.

Dean Miles

Room Tip: The Annex was great more like a self contained flat
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

We arrived wet, tired and running late to catch the last bus to St. Fagan's, and Stuart's warm smile and "no problem, here is your key, we'll bring your luggage up to your room" was exactly what we needed.

When we returned from the museum, the room was beautifully decorated, the bed was comfy and the dvd selection was immense. The next morning Paul made us an epic breakfast and Stuart even offered to mail our postcards when we left, as we were running late once again to catch our train. :P

If you are looking for a warm home away from home feeling, a varied tasty breakfast menu and great hosts, this is your place. And Max is the friendliest giant dog ever.

PS. In our entire week in Wales, this was the ONLY place where the sink faucets were combined and not one boiling hot and one freezing cold. Bonus points!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyandOlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Our stay at Ty Rosa was great. Stuart and Paul were really friendly and the breakfast was amazing. It is a short way to the city center. If I am going back to Cardiff, I will definitely stay at the Ty Rosa again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 153Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

what can i say, we went for a weekend of rugby the room was great as we only needed to sleep there, was clean had TV and tea/coffee making facilitys. breakfast was great we were well fed deffo worth it.
would happily return

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan2k1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verityprudenc, Manager at Ty Rosa B&B, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
So pleased you had a great weekend, look forward to another.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.2 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
1.6 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#3 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,138 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,033 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Rosa B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Rosa B&B

Property: Ty Rosa B&B
Address: 118 Clive Street, Cardiff CF11 7JE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ty Rosa B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gay owned boutique B&B that welcomes everyone to stay. Luxury styled rooms with all the facilities you would need inc mineral water and tea/coffee facilites. With free parking and free fibre optic wi-fi. TyRosa is only a short walking distance between the city centre and Cardiff Bay (bus stop just outside to city). We have an extensive breakfast menu fresh cooked to order, so we can cater for dietary adjustments like vegan/dairy/gluten/nut/soya free. You are also welcome to dine in with us and sample some Welsh dishes, all on a 24 hour pre-order as we get items in fresh to cook for you. We look forward to you coming to stay as guest and leave as a friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ty Rosa B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Rosa Boutique Gay Bed And Breakfast
Ty Rosa Boutique Gay Hotel Cardiff
Ty Rosa B&B Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing