We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding!”

Bellinis Italiano Mermaid Quay
Ranked #129 of 1,215 Restaurants in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, View, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We could not fault anything with our dinning experiance at Bellini's today, food, service, and surroundings were of the highest standard, thank you so much for making it a truly memorable occasion for all 34 involved, well done.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRDept, Public Relations Manager at Bellinis Italiano Mermaid Quay, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hello and thank you for sharing your review. I am happy to hear that you were impressed with your dining experience during your recent visit to us. It is great that we could be part of your special occasion and that your large party had a great time. Our staff strive to exceed all of our customers’ expectations so thank you for your great comments. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    196
    93
    47
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, England
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Typical chain italian but good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Fairly standard offer from this bustling noisy italian on Mermiad Quay. No view for us at the back of the uninspiring room; a window seat would be much preferable.The service is overwhelmingly fast, with 4 different waiters all asking for orders or if we were enjoying our food-the answer was yes! But we didn't need asking every 5 minutes! The food was yummy and the salad fresh and tasty. However, overall the experience was not relaxing or particularly enjoyable despite the great food and friendly waiters- can service be too attentive and fussy? Yes.
Atmosphere possibly not helped by having a very loud hen party in at the same time!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hilaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRDept, Public Relations Manager at Bellinis Italiano Mermaid Quay, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your visit to us at Mermaid Quay. Our staff strive to exceed all of our customers’ expectations and will always try to go above and beyond to create a memorable experience. Therefore, I am disappointed to hear that you felt the service we provide was too attentive and we will keep this in mind for any future training. I hope that this has not diminished any future visits and we hope that we welcome you again perhaps during a quieter period.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
244 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Perhaps the weakest link in a very strong chain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

The restaurant is nicely situated with views of Cardiff Bay from some of the tables inside and of course from all of the tables outside on the balcony. The menus are the same as the two other Bellini locations in Cardiff and so the comprehensive range of dishes and wines on offer never fails to please. The prices are fair for the quality of the food and drinks. Service is attentive and friendly but as at all Bellini restaurants, pre meal drinks (even when restaurants are not very busy) seem always to take an age to arrive - sometimes only just doing so before a first course appears. The only downsides are that it is "cheek by jowel" at Mermaid Quay with some less attractive eateries and the interior decor needs updating to be more in line with Park Place' and St David's clean modernism, both of which "have the edge".

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank konnosir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRDept, Public Relations Manager at Bellinis Italiano Mermaid Quay, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hello and thank you for sharing your review. I am happy to hear that you are always impressed with the choices on our menu. Our chefs work hard to create a variety of authentic Italian dishes for our customers, so thank you for your great comments. Thank you for your feedback regarding the interior décor, we appreciate all of our customers opinions and comments and have been taken on board for future improvement. I also apologise if you experienced a wait for your drinks and I will also share the feedback to the team to make sure this won’t happen again. Our whole team strive to exceed all of our customers’ expectations and we hope that we can welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Saturday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Visited here with 5 friends around 2:30 on Saturday May 31st. Got greeted by a friendly guy and seated promptly; the menus were immediately shown to us and drink orders taken.
We ordered a variety of starters and mains which were all of excellent quality, complimented by friendly, attentive service.
Thanks to all the team for a lovely dining experience. Highly recommended for Italian food to anyone visiting the bay

Helpful?
1 Thank RHS_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRDept, Public Relations Manager at Bellinis Italiano Mermaid Quay, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable experience with your friends while visiting us for lunch. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your meals and that you all got the chance to try a variety of dishes from our menu. Our team strive to exceed all of our customers’ expectations and it is great to hear that they provided you with a lovely dining experience. Your comments will be greatly valued and we hope that we will be welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food, great service !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

The staff were excellent, we had a party of 24 and all our meals were served as close together as humanly possible. All meals were thoroughly enjoyed and the friendly staff helped make a good atmosphere.
Would highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MartynH23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bellinis Italiano Mermaid Quay also viewed

 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Bellinis Italiano Mermaid Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing