We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Revolting”
Review of Spice Route

Spice Route
Ranked #867 of 1,226 Restaurants in Cardiff
Price range: US$10 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Buffet, Reservations
Description: Welcome to our abode. Take a trip down spice lane and enjoy a delicious array of dishes from the Eastern areas of the world! We provide freshly prepared, 100% Halal food in the form of an Island Buffet. Our palatial restaurant provides the perfect atmosphere for family and friends with the perfect location in the Red Dragon Centre. We also provide free parking for all of our customers. Currently running a number of amazing summer deals, visit our Website, Facebook or Twitter.
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Revolting”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Revolting. Why? Firstly, id like to give a round of applause to the sleazy waiter who had utterly a disgust of an appearance when working in a professional based establishment in a main centre of Cardiff. Offcourse I left a few penny tips for him to purchase a nail clipper. Anyway, walking in and introduced to my table that was very sticky, probably the previous spilt coke all over the table. Clearly no one cared to clean it properly. Bits of food all over the floor and very dirty chairs, not like the staff was interested one bit, most of them looked unwell and just did not want to be there. We felt almost unwanted. Secondly, the food had tasted like my daughters rubber that she carries around in her pencil case. No taste, not even fresh just simply cheap. The chicken was very hard, the curries tasted like an Asda buy one get one free deal, the prawns gave me a bad stomach along with a blocked toilet. The starters just tasted cheap, chicken wings had a funny smell to them. Oh not to forget, almost like a fortune cookie came true, finding a grey and black hair in the tray where the starters were, ice cream machine looked like a war zone. You'd think a beautiful place such as spice route in a beautiful centre like red dragon would serve only the best, well like they say never judge a book by its cover! Forget it even meeting the basics like being hygienic. Its like a busy restaurant on a tight budget, clearly cant afford staff that are clean ready for work or fresh food and believe me a wise customer can tell if a chicken is either a good type or a rubbish type. And a child to find sources of DNA when loading food. It was just disgusting, no taste, not clean. Never entering again. The only thing that tasted normal was the coke and orange juice, so much for a top place in Cardiff. Disappointed

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Elandor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSpiceroute, Manager at Spice Route, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to give us some feedback and tell us about your experience, however we were upset to read that you didn't enjoy your experience with us.

We would be grateful if you could forward your review to our general manager, by emailing them at info@spiceroute.eu as this will enable them to get in contact with you to discuss your visit.

Best Wishes,
Spice Route Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    70
    28
    29
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lacked choice food ”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Been before and was plenty more choice of food than when I went on a sat night no sushi this time and hardly any choice of food.
Think should pay to eat elsewhere on a sat night.
Deeply dissapointed.

Helpful?
1 Thank genal-jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Haram”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My advise to the Muslims is that this restaurant is using their chicken wings suppliers halal certificate to call the main chicken,beef,mutton etc halal. Breaking fast in this place or going for eid will void your fast. It is all haram haram haram! They even sprinkle cow urine on the Indian sweets for good luck. The vegetable and non veg fryers are mixed all the time. The noodle is not vegetarian because the same spoon goes into both spice. They have been fined twice so far it's a disgrace!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Faisalshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing... Everytime!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Have been to this restaurant on many times.. never disappointed! More choice on curries would be better though.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mansh24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSpiceroute, Manager at Spice Route, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
Thank you very much for contacting us with your feedback, it is much appreciated.

We really hope that you'll be back, dining with us again soon.

Best Wishes,
Spice Route Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Undy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lunch before the opera.”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Another excellent lunch for 4 adult members of a family. There were several new dishes available together with freshly cooked vegetarian noodle dish and dosa. A new venture was for the customer to be introduces to the chatt bar as you arrived and a selection of these were brought to your table by the chef. All staff were very helpful and friendly. An excellent lunch for us all.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spice Route also viewed

Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Spice Route? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing