We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business Night Meal”
Review of Spice Quarter

Spice Quarter
Reserve with OpenTable
Spice Quarter is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #261 of 1,217 Restaurants in Cardiff
Price range: US$16 - US$39
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Grill, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: City Centre
Description: Spice Quarter is on the first floor of the popular restaurant hub, the Old Brewery Quarter in Cardiff city centre. Unlike the capital’s tens of ‘cheap eat’ restaurants, Spice Quarter places itself in the a la carte fine dining set. They've got the contemporary look right. And the food’s genuinely excellent. Visible hard at work in the glass fronted kitchen, each of the five chefs, recruited from luxury hotels in Delhi and Bombay, specialises in cooking from their regional home. So from the street-side eateries of Punjab comes a smooth butter chicken, while a Malabari fish curry could have come direct from the South Indian coast.
Caerdydd, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Business Night Meal”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Business friends leaving meal at 7.00 PM on a Wednesday night. Arrived and was meet at the top door by waitress. Time for drinks at the table and taking the orders was good. Food was really good every (we had poppadum's, starters and main course.) Everything everyone had was nice no one has any complaints. Boss paid for the food but from the menu main courses were £12 - 15, starters £5.50. they gave the guy leaving a cake but no one else had desert too full.

Although there were no complaints and the food was nice I don't think it was amazing value for money. I've had nicer for a lot less, but service was amazing and décor was good.

Be careful you may miss the door in trying to get in!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel D, General Manager at Spice Quarter, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a lovely review, it is always nice to hear and see our guest making the effort to write when their visit to Spice Quarter goes well! We look forward to seeing you again, and thank you so much once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    125
    59
    31
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“For more than a decade, my Indian of choice”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I first tried the Spice Quarter when it opened following the redevelopment of the Old Brewery in Cardiff. I was impressed then and it is still the same now. Authentic Indian dishes prepared by chefs who I am told were recruited from 5 start hotels in Mumbai. The menu is varied and unique among other Indian restaurants in Cardiff. It occupies a prime spot on the first floor of the brewery quarter looking down on Cardiff's 'Chippy Lane' The interior is sumptuous and very cosy with beautiful lighting and there is a huge glass window where you can watch the chefs preparing your food in the spotlessly clean kitchens. Always pleasant mood music in the background complementing the whole experience. The proprietors have done a great job in keeping the place doing what it does best. The Thalis are well worth trying although they are not available on a Friday or Saturday evening. Other dishes of note are the Murg Jhalfrezi and Murg Kadhai, the mushroom and jeera rice is also a fabulous alternative to plain or pliau rice. All dishes are served piping hot and portions are generous, There is a nice selection of wine and beer including Kingfisher on draught. Fabulous staff ensure that the whole experience is a great one. Give it a go, you wont be disappointed

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel D, General Manager at Spice Quarter, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you Andrew for taking the time to give us such a lovely review, it is always nice to hear and see our guest making the effort to write when their visit to Spice Quarter goes well! We look forward to seeing you again, and thank you so much once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best indian meal in Cardiff and amazing environment”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Brewery Quarter has the reputation of good restaurants and pubs and I don't doubt this for a moment. I have been dining in various different restaurants around Cardiff specially Indian restaurants and after a recommendation from a friend of mine, I chose to go to Spice Quarter.
Always as a habit, I check reviews about the restaurants where I plan to go to check if they are worth a visit and your hard-earned money, despite the fact that this restaurant have quite a few average and negative reviews, I decided to go.
I went there with a friend of mine, the environment was lovely and pleasant, we were welcomed right after the entrance and guided towards a table, where we were nicely serves menu cards and after going through the menu we decided to order two "Celebration Menu" which is Four Course meal and sounded like a treat because it was valued at £26.95/person and included Papadoms, Platter as a starter and four mains including king prawns followed by deserts.
I must admit that it was the best meal I have ever had in Cardiff and enjoyed every bit of it. I also must agree that it was a bit pricey but considering the quality of the food, environment of the restaurant and friendliness and prompt service of the staff, I will say that the visit was worth every penny we spent there, though the bill came with 10% service charge and upon questioning we were told that the charge was totally optional and could be taken off the bill and it was immediately done.
Overall it was an amazing experience, will definitely go there again and will recommend to others as well.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank najeeb345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel D, General Manager at Spice Quarter, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a lovely review, it is always nice to hear and see our guest making the effort to write when their visit to Spice Quarter goes well! We look forward to seeing you again, and thank you so much once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Really good food”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I visited early on Saturday evening. Yes it was quiet and yes it is not cheap but the food was very good. The service was good too although I don't like service charge automatically added. I would have given a higher tip if they hadn't.

I had two side dishes instead of a main and both were excellent and tasty. The naan bread was light and fluffy and the coconut rice very more ish! My daughter enjoyed her butter chicken as they don't do korma which is her favourite.

I would Definately return

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel D, General Manager at Spice Quarter, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a lovely review, it is always nice to hear and see our guest making the effort to write when their visit to Spice Quarter goes well! We look forward to seeing you again, and thank you so much once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“NOT CHEAP AND NOT THAT GOOD TO BE HONSEST”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My new business partner and I visited the restaurant in May 2014. I had read the reviews beforehand and thought I would give the restaurant the benefit of doubt. I wish we had had a kebab in chip alley instead. The starters were presented well and tasted not too bad, the main dish and side dish were a real joke! Four small pieces of potato in the bombay aloo and a few small bits of chicken in a homepride curry sauce. To sum it up if it was cheap I could live with it but its not cheap at all.

Also the male waiter was very arrogant by saying "TELL ME THE FOOD IS THE BEST" joker. Spice Quarter please smell the coffee before its too late.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham696969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel D, General Manager at Spice Quarter, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for your comments, I am sorry that our kitchen team were so excitable on your visit, they are an awesome bunch but sometimes there passion runlet over! They have calmed down recently, so we look forward to your next visit and your next review Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spice Quarter also viewed

Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Spice Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing