We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Carol C: A great combination of a family setting when meeting up with good friends”
Review of Tanes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tanes Hotel
Ranked #32 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Carol C: A great combination of a family setting when meeting up with good friends”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

My own work involves welcoming visitors and tourists to a visitor attraction, so it was a joy to see the owners of the Tanes Hotel putting professional training and personal friendliness into their treatment of all their guests. I will be very pleased to recommend a stay to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    75
    17
    3
    8
See reviews for
24
39
45
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

The hotel is very clean and comfortable. It is conveniently located with secure parking and only 15 minutes walk from the city centre - also on a bus route. Service was first class and we were made to feel very welcome during our stay. Breakfast was very good. We would certainly visit again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pat h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Stayed 8th March to 10th March 2013 and found the staff to be very friendly, the location was very convenient with the main shopping district only a 10 minute walk away, safe parking and free wi-fi. Breakfast is not included and many of the rooms are not ensuite so both of these are extras. If you just want a safe place to sleep in the evenings with friendly staff and good location then stop reading here. What follows is a bit more of a critical review, which would be useful for couples who book a double room with ensuite.

My partner and I only stayed in this hotel as one of our friends found this place and as she was a single traveller it worked out to be quite a bargain for her. However, the amount that we paid for a double with ensuite was in the same ball park as a Premier Inn/Holiday Inn/Travel Lodge type of place - all solid 3 star hotels and all with greater attention to detail, hence my 2 star rating.

The double beds are quite small so if you or your partner fidget a lot in the night you may find this uncomfortable. That said, the mattresses and pillows were very comfortable. There was, or had been, a damp problem in our room probably originating from the skylight but it had left brown patches over the white paper on the ceiling and the wallpaper around the main window was peeling off. One of the down-lighters in the bathroom was hanging from the ceiling, the shower is not very powerful at all and the tiling hadn't all been grouted in. This may sound quite picky, but it's this lack of attention to detail that stops this hotel from reaching its potential and it's the type of thing that a Premier Inn would have covered.

Also, one of our towels was covered in foundation and mascara - it either hadn't been washed or was stained. Either way, it shouldn't have been in our room. Our friend found hairs, bugs and white stains in her bed and our bed sheet also had some stains on it. The walls were also very thin so we were disturbed by other guests partying. I returned from our trip more tired than when I went.

If you're a budget single traveller then this hotel is fine. If you aren't, then it isn't. For the money you pay for a double ensuite, just go to a Premier Inn/Travel Lodge type of place. For the same money you are guarenteed a better standard.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

This time just one night, but will be back for longer. Very well-positioned just outside the city centre but within easy reach of it by walking or taking the bus from the stop immediately outside. Warm welcome - spotlessly clean - quiet (even if facing the road) and excellent breakfast. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJH1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

saturday 9th feb to tuesday 12 feb.

this hotel has everything to offer- if i ever come back to cardiff i am staying here.

it has secure parking with shutter too.
fantastic location- i walked into cardiff centre in under 10 minutes- its less than a mile-- plus buses do run every 20 minutes and more frequent.
the hotel even cattered for a wheat free dairy free diet at breakfast which most dont, so this was an added bonus as i usually suply my own food..
i was on the top floor with a lovely quiet room at the back-- plus they had people come in and clean, re make beds etc during the day.
the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful too- and had great local knowledge of the area.
hotel also has free wifi too

all i can say is a fantastic hotel- and probably one of the best hotels i have stayed in.
110% recommend to others.

i cannot find a single fault with this hotel-- it was amazing

Room Tip: back bedrooms are quieter as the hotel is on a main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We booked a twin and double room, both rooms were finished to quite a high standard. The double room was quite a lot bigger than the twin. Very friendly staff. Bus stop right outside with buses running to the city centre every 5 mins. There was a selection of breakfasts for £4.95 which were very nice. Free car park available, however get there early as there are only a handful of spaces.

Would definitely stay here again if visiting in the near future.

Some slight grumbles (which i kept to myself) There were two spotlights out in our room which made the room quite dull. also a shelf in the bathroom was not level so some things fell off into the sink. Some attention to detail is needed!

Room Tip: Double bedroom on the ground floor, number 11 was a very good size and has a very comfortable bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MossyJoAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

We came across this hotel by accident but hit upon a gem. Very clean, staff very friendly and helpful. Lovely hotel and walking distance to the centre. Bus stop right outside the door. Good secure car park at rear.

Room Tip: Room 7 is a twin room at the back with super bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xz3kd47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
3.6 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#28 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#25 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
1.3 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#22 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#17 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanes Hotel

Property: Tanes Hotel
Address: 148 Newport Road | Roath, Cardiff CF24 1DJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#19 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tanes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run hotel operating in Cardiff for over 30 years. We pride ourselves on our welcome, quality and comfort. We have 21 bedrooms, a mixture of singles, doubles, twins and triples, some en-suite. All rooms are well furnished and centrally heated, they all have colour televisions, washbasins and tea and coffee making facilities. We have a lounge room and dining room for use by our guests, and ground floor rooms available for easy access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tanes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanes Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing