We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely room”
Review of Tanes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tanes Hotel
Ranked #32 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely room”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in June for a couple of nights as working in Cardiff. Hotel very clean as wee the rooms. The hotel was also nicely furnished. One slight problem on the first night was my tele didn't work (and it was one of Andy Murray's games at Wimbledon). The owner tried to sort out and when he couldn't upgraded me so saw the game. Very pleased with service and price represented good value. If you want to park in the car park you'll need to get there early though. All in all very pleasant stay and would recommend. Best hotel I stayed in during the summer and I stayed at a few.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    75
    17
    3
    8
See reviews for
24
39
45
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stayed 2 nights, Saturday and Sunday as I was doing the Cardiff and Coast 60 mile bike ride. It's a well located Hotel, close to the centre and near to City Road and Albany Road with their wide choice of Restaurants with cuisines from around the world.
Properly secure parking was an added bonus too, especially with my bike on the top of the car. I'd locked it to the roofrack but the steel shutter covering the car park entrance made for peace of mind.
The Hotel is excellent value. It is decorated to a good standard and kept spotlessly clean. Staff are friendly and the whole place has a much better atmosphere than a big chain. I had a room with shared facilities, these were close by and clean. The toiletries and spa slippers in the room were a nice touch too.
The hotel front is on Newport Road, which is fairly busy. I live in the countryside so I'm not used to traffic noise, my room was right on the front so I did notice it. It wasn't anything a pair of earplugs couldn't sort out though! I'd recommend packing a pair if you're likely to be affected by road noise.
All in all a pleasant stay and fantastic value. I'd defintely go back and recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Had a 3 night stay at Tanes last week (Aug 2013), very busy road but once window is shut at night the noise is not a problem. The hotel is clean and staff and manager friendly, breakfast good value and room has everything you need - no fridge but staff kindly put my beverages in hotel fridge! (thanks!
A 20 min or so walk into Cardiff central but buses handy and walk is pleasant. Queens Road train station is the closest. Cardiff Central a good 40 min walk away.
I cancelled a night as got invited to stay with a family friend but manager was kind enough not to charge me any late cancellation fees.
Lots of hotels on Newport Road but I would recommend Tanes - good value.
Thanks staff and management.

Room Tip: if noise is a problem I suggest asking for a room at the back of the hotel - although once windows s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LorettaG55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Found this hotel affordable, well maintained and clean. Though I had booked a single room, was given a double at no extra cost. The owner was polite, pleasant, and hospitable. The breakfast was served promptly at 7 AM and was good value. As a woman travelling on her own, I had a comfortable and safe stay. I had left my ipad charger in my room when I left and the owner very kindly mailed it to me without any charge. Will definitely stay here again and will recommend this place to my friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shalini123345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We were lucky to find this place in the last minute. It is one of the cosiest hotels I have ever stayed in - very traditional, with modern hints in the rooms. It was extremely clean and tidy and the hosts were kind and welcoming. Very close to city centre so convenience is another asset. Amazing value for money, highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TripSKo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taneshotel, Manager at Tanes Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review!

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We are all absolutely thrilled that you have given us such high marks in all categories and that you particularly highlighted our cleanliness and welcome.

We would love have you back.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We were a bit shocked when we first arrived at this hotel as the entrance was from the back of the hotel through the car park at the back. Luckily, we had been advised that it was a bus lane in front of the hotel and we would have sustained a fine for parking at the front.

Initially, we were greeted by the owner, Tony, who asked us to sign the visitors book. We loved the fact that he trusted us enough not to take our credit card immediately. He gave us a single old-fashioned key to room 16 and then helped us with our bags upstairs.

The rooms were spacious, clean and modern for such an old residence. I had to ask for a hair dryer but that was no problem. My husband and I both commented that this hotel provided the best sleep of all hotels we had stayed in the six hotels we had stayed so far on our trip. I am not sure whether it was the block-out curtains or the hard beds but we were very grateful.

It was lovely to see Tony, the owner, making breakfast himself. He was a fascinating man - a philosopher who had a Master's degree in that field and, also, a qualified engineer. He told us that he enjoyed running the hotel and meeting people the best of all his career choices.

We were lucky to have a quiet room at the back of the hotel as it was on a busy street but the value for such comfort was excellent. We would stay her again.

Room Tip: room 16 or a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maree5821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taneshotel, Manager at Tanes Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear Sir and Madam,

It was a pleasure to meet you and have such interesting conversations with you both!

We hope that the rest of your European tour went well and that you were comfortable and entertained throughout.

I would like to personally thank you for your wonderful and detailed review.

We do try our best to make all our guests feel wanted, comfortable and safe. We differ from many chain hotels, particularly in the city centre (we are ½ mile from the centre), in that we value your peace and quiet and are personally on hand to help and advise you.

We are thrilled that you comment so favourably on our cleanliness, friendliness and comfort.

We would be delighted to have you stay with us again.

Our kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This hotel is very clean & comfortable you get a lovely welcome on we arrived.Both Mrs & Mrs Tanes were a pleasant couple to have a chat to they even booked a taxi for us.We would definitely stay there again.I have given sleep Quality full marks although I had a bad nights sleep ( me @ fault not the hotel).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
3.6 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#27 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#25 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
1.3 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#22 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#17 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanes Hotel

Property: Tanes Hotel
Address: 148 Newport Road | Roath, Cardiff CF24 1DJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#19 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tanes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run hotel operating in Cardiff for over 30 years. We pride ourselves on our welcome, quality and comfort. We have 21 bedrooms, a mixture of singles, doubles, twins and triples, some en-suite. All rooms are well furnished and centrally heated, they all have colour televisions, washbasins and tea and coffee making facilities. We have a lounge room and dining room for use by our guests, and ground floor rooms available for easy access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tanes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanes Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing