We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value and service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dalchinis

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dalchinis
Ranked #883 of 1,209 Restaurants in Cardiff
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Takeout
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Visited restaurant twice and had takeaway all positive experiences.Surprised by the poor reviews. Service was excellent attentive staff nothing too much trouble. Good value beats some of the other more expensive Indian restaurants in Cardiff. Can only speak from the experiences so far will be returning definitely! Don't be put off by previous poor reviews. Try and make your own decision!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    3
    2
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad food... Even worse company.. Avoid at all costs.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

Ordered a delivery over the phone for 2 main meals and some sides, guy on the phone kept nagging me to buy more sides which I clearly didn't want. After explaining several times to the driver where the address was he finally turns up with the food but no change! Because of the unnecessary inconvenience of having to get the right money (even though the driver should always have plenty of change!!) I didn't have chance to check the order... When I do, I see that the 'lamb tandoori' is a few dry pieces of meat, the 'butter chicken' was 1/3 sweet/tangy curry & the rest just a thick layer of yogurt, and the sides were just a joke... Tried to ring them to get this problem fixed and guess what NO ANSWER from the shop and the driver was too busy in TESCO's to even bother getting hold of his boss. Absolutely disgusting. NEVER EVER EVER AGAIN.

P.S the cafe that was there before you guys was much better. I'll be in touch for a full refund.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tigerr82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Food, Service and Unbelievable Value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

Have been to Dalchinis now around 6/7 times, its not our local Indian, but I wish it was. The food is excellent, portion sizes are very good, and more importantly value for money is incredible. On a recent visit myself and friend had a starter of Kabba Puree (Lamb) (Big Portion)/Lamb Miripuri, main course of Tandoori Mixed Grill, Plain Rice, Dansak Sauce and a Peshwari Naan, a Pint of Cobra and a Floater Coffee, for around £15.00 each. We go to many Indians across the country, regularly, so believe we have a pretty good palate for Indian food, and reading the below reviews was shocked, so hopefully this sets the record straight. Seriously good food and seriously good prices. Every time we go there, they remember our food orders, our dietary requirements, and are very friendly and helpful. Give them a try, it is definitely worth it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank robertscarfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Used to be ok - now BAD. Avoid.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

Been taken over and done up inside, food gone downhill badly. Is very oily and just generally bad. Just sauces spooned over meat, very much like the kismet. If that's your bag, tuck in, just make sure the hygiene rating has gone up.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank sataymonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Takeaway only”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012 via mobile

Have Only had take aways from here, but each time been incredibly late and of very average quality! As someone else commented curries swimming in oil.... Not nice!

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cardiffbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dalchinis also viewed

 
Michaelston-y-Fedw, Cardiff
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Dalchinis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing