We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maybe I'm missing something”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bayside Brasserie

Bayside Brasserie
Ranked #43 of 1,215 Restaurants in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$26
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, View
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Maybe I'm missing something”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Used this restaurant for a birthday meal and judging by the reviews I determined it would either go one way or the other, as it happens it was neither. The restaurant itself was as you'd expect, beautiful and well presented and impeccably clean, the service was average however still nothing to complain about. The menu itself seemed excellent and catered for everyone, the prices were as you'd expect for a restaurant of its kind however although the food was good it wasn't great. I expected something that would leave my mouth watering for days after just at the thought of it and I just didn't seem to get that, me nor anybody else in the group. It was fresh and well presented but considering the price and compared to other restaurants, it lacked any spark! We had a problem with a service charge at the end but that was dealt with promptly which was great. Id come again yes, but for a special occasion probably not.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRDept, Public Relations Manager at Bayside Brasserie, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Firstly, thank you for taking the time to share your review on your recent visit to Bayside Brasserie. Within our restaurant we pride ourselves on our modern and classy décor so thank you for your recognition and appreciation of this feature. We strive to exceed all of our customers’ expectations and our staff work very hard to create memorable experiences, therefore I am disappointed to discover that your evening with us was not what you expected. Please be assured that the whole team will go above and beyond for each and every one of our guests occasions and needs to ensure that they have a fantastic time. We appreciate your honest opinions and comments will be taken on board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    510
    240
    81
    49
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely food, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Went here with my fiance. He had a ribeye steak there. The steak was great, but more than that, the service was fantastic, the waiter was super attentive but not in an annoying way. The food was reasonably priced for somewhere that serves good food. I would definitely go there again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wakingdreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRDept, Public Relations Manager at Bayside Brasserie, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on your recent visit. I am very pleased to hear that your fiancé enjoyed his steak as the chefs take great pride in all the dishes that they create and serve, so your comments are greatly valued. Our staff strive to exceed all of our customers’ expectations and it is their passion to deliver the best service they can, therefore I am thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic experience with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Talbot, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Very smart restaurant overlooking the bay,we had excellent service. The poached pear desert was delicious!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cerys T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRDept, Public Relations Manager at Bayside Brasserie, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Firstly, thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent visit. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your experience as our team strive to exceed all of our customers’ expectations. Your comments are greatly valued and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“What a let down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Avoid the "special menu" meant for pre-theatre folk. The standard was poor especially the fish option. The "fillet" was no bigger than a fish finger and the fries were the nasty type found in fast food joints made of potato starch. My companions also felt let down by the quality and size of the meals. Pay for the bread basket or you will go hungry. Having said that the staff were faultless and the views amazing.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CardiffSteveH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRDept, Public Relations Manager at Bayside Brasserie, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Our team strive to exceed all of our customers’ expectations, therefore I am pleased to hear that you were impressed with the staff. Unfortunately, I am disappointed to discover that you felt that our special two course menu for £12.50 was at a poor standard and please be assured that no matter what menu our dishes are from they are all created with the highest quality produce. Regarding portion sizes, your comments have been passed to the kitchen so we can seek any improvements, we hope that this has not diminished any future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Went for dinner tonight Tuesday 29th July and wow what a meal. Great food and great wine and great service. need I say more. We will be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davidcf10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRDept, Public Relations Manager at Bayside Brasserie, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hello and thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent visit. It’s great that you enjoyed your experience with us as our team strive to exceed all of our customers’ expectations. Your comments are greatly valued and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bayside Brasserie also viewed

Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Bayside Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing