We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service and Food”
Review of Bayside Brasserie

Bayside Brasserie
Ranked #36 of 1,213 Restaurants in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$26
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Porthaethwy/Menai Bridge
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and Food”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

What a difference from last night's experience at the Fig Tree Penarth,
Wine and starters were served within the first twenty minutes and the main courses were also expeditiously served. The quality was equal to Fig Tree and was first rate. Service was also first rate despite the fact that they were bustling with customers - again what a difference from Fig Tree - but in our view and from our experience totally understandable.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rheinallt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRDept, Public Relations Manager at Bayside Brasserie, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We take great pride in the service that we deliver and strive to exceed all of our customers’ expectations, therefore I am pleased that you had a memorable experience with us at Bayside Brasserie. We hope to welcome you again soon and if you are not already part of our mailing list, please feel free to visit our website and join for exclusive news and offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    522
    243
    81
    49
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Eaten here a dozen times or so for lunch and dinner. Never had a bad meal, service can get a little buried at times when busy but always friendly even when harried. Nicely laid out with really no bad tables in the room and as others mention a lovely setting with great views.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRDept, Public Relations Manager at Bayside Brasserie, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We take great pride in our décor and fantastic views of the bay so I am glad that you also enjoy these features of our restaurant. Our team strive to exceed all of our customers’ expectations on every occasion during busy and quiet periods, so your comments will be greatly valued and taken on board for any future training. We look forward to welcoming you again soon, and if you are not already part of our mailing list, please feel free to visit our website to join.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Better service in McDonalds”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This was our first time at the brassiere and after hearing good things, my partner decided to treat me there to a Valentines Evening meal, all in all a set menu but very pricey!

None the less, it started well but it was so over booked that you could tell that the service was going to suffer... We were seated in an extremely noisy environemt and crampt in the corner. We waited and waiyted and no one took our order for at least 20 munites,. then when the starters took over 20 minutes to arrive we were sorely disappointed. After our starter (which was very basic for the price) we waited a further 30 minutes for our plates to be cleared and then a further 40 minutes for them to be cleared! There was no offer of any more drinks and no waiters in site, everyone was far too busy and far too under staffed.
This was completely unacceptable, especially considering the steep price of the evening, the couple next to us got up and left!

Suffice to say we got up and walked out before our dessert and coffee which was included in the price however my partner had to fork out over £80 for the bill despite us not having the last two courses - abysmal!

Absolutely terrible service and mediocre food, totally ruined our evening! DO NOT EAT HERE!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank V M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRDept, Public Relations Manager at Bayside Brasserie, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Firstly, thank you for sharing your feedback on your visit to us earlier this year. During special key calendar dates we work very hard to create memorable experiences for our guests, therefore we are extremely disappointed to hear that you were not impressed with your evening. We strive to exceed all of our customers’ expectations so I am shocked to discover the standard of service that you felt you received. Since your valentines visit we have had an overhaul in staff where by even Head Chef and Management have changed so unfortunately I am unable to investigate into this matter any further. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback on your booking and hope that our current Trip Advisor comments will encourage you to try us out again in the future. Please feel free to contact us at publicrelations@babrandings.com when booking again with us and I will happily ensure a complimentary bottle of house wine is awaiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Brilliant -almost Perfection”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Lunch at The Bayside Brasserie has to be as near to perfection I have found yet.
Linen Napkins, always a good sign, attentive service, not overbearing, just right.
Food, well....it just does not get any better, absolutely wonderful, just right for lunch.
Price...well priced for the food you get, not too much.
Ambience and setting...Great view through the many windows of Cardiff Bay, and comfortable seating and background music just at the right level
I would have no hesitation in recommending this establishment.
Great value, and well worth another visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UkDarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRDept, Public Relations Manager at Bayside Brasserie, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your review on recent lunch time visit. Here at Bayside Brasserie we pay great attention to detail to ensure that our guests leave feeling impressed and satisfied with their dining experience, therefore it is great that you enjoyed the ambience and setting within our restaurant. Our team strive to exceed all of our customers’ expectations and we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the service that we deliver. All of your comments are greatly valued and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch, stunning views”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Great views, lovely setting. Service was attentive but discreet and the decor is charming, linen cloths and napkins and an old fashioned feel. The roasts were excellent and the salmon was really tasty. We would definitely go again. The only difficulty is parking in the Bay on a busy Sunday.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ThorpeL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRDept, Public Relations Manager at Bayside Brasserie, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your Sunday lunch time visit. Our dishes are created by highly trained and passionate chefs who source the highest quality and freshest local produce. They ensure that our customers’ expectations of their food are exceeded, therefore we are pleased that you were impressed with your dinner. We are very proud of the ambience and décor within our restaurant and we appreciate your recognition of this. The whole team greatly value your comments and we are looking forward to creating another memorable experience for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bayside Brasserie also viewed

Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Bayside Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing