We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food in great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gwaelod y Garth Inn

Gwaelod y Garth Inn
Ranked #35 of 1,210 Restaurants in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Kids, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food in great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

This is a warm, friendly and obviously popular pub - lots of cheerful, friendly locals.It's obvious the owners work really hard to maintain the highest standards while keeping the atmosphere lively and interesting - lots of events and so on. My husband and I stayed for a weekend in January and were impressed by the hospitality but also the standard of the cooking, which was way beyond the average pub grub - interesting choices on the menu, clearly some imaginative planning, and a real effort to source food if not locally, then from around South Wales. Salt marsh lamb - fab. Anyone living in or around Cardiff should go there for a treat, and it is a lovely location for visitors - I was thrilled to find how dog friendly they are, because getting away with two small dogs is often a problem.
The restaurant is a real find, busy but calm and its popularity can only mean one thing - everyone who goes there knows how good it is. I've been recommending it to friends and on Facebook. Try it - you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SueRev2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    106
    19
    21
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Superb food matched by excellent service, together with the inviting atmosphere makes the Gwaelod is one of the most enjoyable eating places in Cardiff.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Food cooked with love”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We ate here for dinner one night and breakfast in the morning as we stayed over with our dog for the night. Beautiful location, some stunning walks nearby. The food is delicious and memorable, with ample on the plate. Meat cooked perfectly. I went with my partner who is a fine dining chef, who was not only impressed with the food but also with the quality of wine on the menu. We are planning our return and are looking forward to it primarily for the food

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YamenBon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Huge portions and delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Two of us went for Sunday lunch. We had the roasts and they were delicious - so much to eat but too good not to! The roast pork and crackling was great and loads of vegetables - a good variety. One of us managed to squeeze in the chocolate pudding which was melt in the mouth. We had a nice table upstairs, friendly and attentive service. With the benefit of a sunny day it's a great setting with lovely views. Will definitely go back

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Welshtraveller005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm welcome, wonderful atmosphere and most importantly beautiful food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We recently visited this popular restaurant following recommendation from one of our neighbours. Boy are we glad that we took his advice!
As we had a big family birthday just around the corner I decided to book the six of us into 'The Gwaelod' for a special meal. I had no trouble dealing with the extremely polite staff member who took my booking and spent the next week really looking forward to our evening out. On the day in question my son's fiance decided that she would like to join us and the restaurant had no problem turning our booking for six into a seven.

Service was outstanding and even our vegetable-phobic teen went home satisfied once he had requested extra chips TWICE. Nothing that we required was too much trouble, waiting staff really were wonderful and apart from a trip to the bar to sample some of the excellent real ale on offer (some of which are brewed on site!!) before finally settling on a few pints of 'Shine On' I hardly left my seat.

The food - wow THE FOOD - I could have chosen a number of items from the menu and I felt decidedly spoiled for choice. I finally settled on the moules to start which were wonderful, my wife had seabass from the specials board (which I was equally enamoured with and was happy to help her eat). For main course I went for the rib-eye which was melt in the mouth delicious and when you consider how reasonably priced it was compared to other similar establishments it was easily one of the nicest I have ever had the pleasure of eating. Around the table we had fish and chips, lasagne, saltmarsh lamb (beautiful by the way and I will be having this next time) and a couple of steak pies and we all finished every morsel on our plates. Gwaelod y Garth Inn if you are reading this my compliments to the chef!!

As inviting as the dessert fridge looked only the youngsters had any room for dessert but their roulade and sticky toffee puddings were wolfed down while the rest of us relaxed with a coffee.

I will without doubt be going back to this delightful little gem of a restaurant again and again. I can feel the Shine On calling me back already.............

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gwaelod y Garth Inn also viewed

Michaelston-y-Fedw, Cardiff
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Taff's Well, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to Gwaelod y Garth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing