We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my stay in newport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Newport
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    188
    152
    58
    49
See reviews for
121
176
66
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Booked here last minute for 1 night, we checked in at 8pm and out again at 7:00am due to work commitments, I'm not sure what prison the last reviewer was in but only 2 to a cell would probably be welcome. The hotel is budget, as the name clearly states, it was clean, the staff were friendly.and the room functional, the mattress was rock solid and the single pillow was uncomfortable but the duvet was light but warm.
The toilet is not for those suffering a disability and the shower facilities were adequate with plenty of hot water.

The local area is typical inner city, graffiti covers walls around the hotel, pedestrian access to the other side of the M4 for shops / takeaways etc is foreboding at night but the locals are friendly.

For the few hours we needed to rest and refresh it's good value for money, just don't expect any frills!

Room Tip: Any room facing the Fire station are quiet as others face busy dual carriage way / M4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisbudgetNewport, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Newport, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Steve C,

Many thanks for your feedback. Shall you happen to visit Newport again, we look forward to welcome you.

Kind Regards,

Katarzyna Durczynska GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Me and a colleague stayed here last minute for 1 night. Luckily we checked in at midnight and out again at 5:30am as I'm not sure I could have stood it any longer.

The hotel is budget, as the name clearly states, and it was clean, the staff were friendly enough too. The room was depressing, i lost on spin the coin so had to sleep on the single bunk bed above the double bed. The mattress was rock solid and the single pillow was uncomfortable. The TV worked but hardly any of the buttons on the remote did. There is only 1 single plug socket, which for the modern working man who needs to charge a laptop, tablet, mobile phone and other work tools, it is highly inadequate. The toilet is not for those suffering from claustrophobia, and the shower facilities are not for the shy. I wouldn't know first hand, but I can only imagine that there are nicer facilities in a prison cell.

That said it is cheap, but at £18 a head for a twin room, I'd recommend paying a couple of quid extra for a b&b or something slightly better.

Had I have booked a week here thinking I was onto a right deal, I'd probably have jumped from the top window.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisbudgetNewport, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Newport, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Martin H,

Many thanks for your feedback. Your comments have been noted.
Shall you happen to visit Newport again, we look forward to welcome you.

Kind Regards,

Katarzyna Durczynska GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newport hotels

Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We often stay at this hotel in Newport and it's the same every time we visit, clean warm and comfortable, fantastic staff excellent breakfast. All rooms include a television and good shower. What more can you want?




  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisbudgetNewport, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Newport, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Paul S,

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Katarzyna Durczynska, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2014

stayed here many times. Recent revamp of rooms gives clean and fresh feel to the rooms. If you want a full hotel with restaurant experience then this isn't really for you, if you want somewhere to sleep and explore area then sport on.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Stewart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisbudgetNewport, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Newport, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Stewart H,

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Katarzyna Durczynska, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
1.0 mi away
The Queens Hotel, Newport
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Newport Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Newport
Holiday Inn Newport
#9 of 18 in Newport
521 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Gateway Hotel
Gateway Hotel
#15 of 18 in Newport
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Newport

Property: Hotel ibis budget Newport
Address: 164 Malpas Road, Newport NP20 5PP, Wales (Formerly Etap Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Newport 2*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ibis Budget Newport Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing