We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Never Again”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #28 of 34 Newport B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I had a tatty carpet, the paintwork on the walls was stained with what looked like dirty hand prints. The tea and coffee making facilities were there but with no sugar, no tea and no coffee in the containers. The shower was useless. Steaming hot, then freezing and then steaming again, all of it's own accord. The staff were all drunk by 9 'o' clock because they had a 'Gay' night on or something with a drag act and the noise was awful. I'd rather do community service than stay here again!!!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sloughboy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 61 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

For anyone looking for somewhere to stay close to the Rodney Parade Football/Rugby Ground, this is no more than 15 minutes walk away (or 3 bus stops heading back to the city centre)

Room was clean tidy and spacious. Comfortable bed and fully working shower with tea/coffee making facilities and for its price, no grumbles at all.

Only difficulty I had was finding someone to give my key back to the following morning when time to check out.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank splodge68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Ne réservez surtout pas !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Vive M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank prontaxpartire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Newport
Hotel ibis budget Newport
#10 of 18 in Newport
605 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Queens Hotel, Newport
1 mi away
The Knoll Guesthouse
The Knoll Guesthouse
#20 of 34 in Newport
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Newport Student Village
Newport Student Village
#2 of 13 in Newport
13 reviews
2.4 mi away
Celtic Manor Resort
Celtic Manor Resort
#4 of 18 in Newport
5,572 reviews
2 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Address: 161 Corporation Road, Newport NP19 0BJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: £35 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Victoria Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Newport with easy access to both Newport bus and train station. The Victoria hotel is located with convenient links to the M4 and Cardiff. Our rooms are mostly en-suite and we have a restaurant within the hotel which serves fresh home cooked style food. If you are staying in Newport for an event such as Rugby Internationals and concerts we offer a free shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Newport, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing