We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Queens Hotel, Newport
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Newport
Reviewed 7 March 2010

The hotel was lovely, the beds were the comfiest things even if they were on wheels and went all over the room actually hilarious!! We stayed on a Friday night and by the time we had got back to the hotel around 11pm the pub was packed and night clubs all around but could not be heard in the room :) the only thing was the receptionist, slightly rude to be fair. And it was the night of the Wales Vs France match, the hotel full of the French, hilarious again!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yaaaaaaaaaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
There are newer reviews for The Queens Hotel, Newport
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

364 - 368 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2010

I booked at the last minute and had not stayed at the Queens Hotel before. I found the check in very friendly and helpful

The room was spotless and the bed very comfortable, breakfast in the morning was 1st class and one of the best I have ever had

I will stay here again

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeaBreeze0189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2009

We stayed there on a saturday night - do NOT do this if you want to sleep before 3/4am in the morning. The pub below is a nightclub on weekends ( i think this pretty much includes weds to sat nights ) and the music was pounding when we got in at about 2am. We'd just been to a heavy metal concert and we'd drunk more than our fair share of 'refreshments' so luckily the laws of chemistry / biology meant we passed out.
This is not a complaint - i had anticipated this from the website initially - its just the more sober or more optimistic of web advert readers may want to consider the above before booking.
Other than that it was a clean room, excellent freesat TV, friendly staff, very comfortable bed and convenient location. The shower was a total dribbler though whilst i remember !!!.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomYums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016
Thank Silei L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueensHotelNewp, Manager at The Queens Hotel, Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: todos são bons
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank titoprat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Newport Central
1.0 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Newport
Hotel ibis budget Newport
#10 of 18 in Newport
589 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Gateway Hotel
Gateway Hotel
#16 of 18 in Newport
66 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Newport
Holiday Inn Newport
#8 of 18 in Newport
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel, Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel, Newport

Address: 19 Bridge Street, Newport NP20 4AN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Newport
Price Range: £36 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queens Hotel, Newport 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queen's Hotel is a grade II listed building which was built in 1863, soon after Bridge Street was laid out. We are ideally placed within the city centre and only 2 minutes walk from the main train station with plenty of car parking available in the area. We have 29 individual bedrooms and all have en suite shower facilities. All of our rooms include tea and coffee making facilities, hair dryer,ironing facilities and digital televisions. This hotel adjoins a Lloyds No.1 bar which plays music in the evening. In certain rooms, music may be heard during the evening bar hours. Currently this is Wednesday, Friday and Saturday nights but may change at any point.We are ideally located only 5 minutes off Junction 25A of the M4 and 2 minutes walk from Newport train station. There are train connections to Cardiff, Swansea, Birmingham, Manchester, Portsmouth and London. Cardiff is only 20 minutes away by car and 15 minutes by train which is ideal for anyone planning a trip to the Millennium Stadium or concerts at the C.I.A. We are also less than a 10 minute walk from Rodney Parade, the home ground of The Newport Gwent Dragons, Newport RFC and Newport County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Queens Hotel, Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel, Newport Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing