We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good sunday lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Newport
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Newport
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My wife and i with two friends have just enjoyed a very nice sunday carvery and highly recomend it , the atmosphere was good with a piano playing in the background just wht was needed for our long drive home.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank travelerkent067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post an online review following your visit.

I am delighted to learn you enjoyed your Sunday lunch experience with us which fortified you prior to a long journey home.

Once again thank you for your feedback and custom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 563 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

My son got married here and I would like to say what a fantastic venue the staff couldn't do enough Craig & his team were amazing.
Bedrooms were clean large and very warm bathroom the same.
This hotel is far superior to the Celtic manor which we went to last week at least we could eat the food and enjoy it

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank nicola m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post an online review following your most recent visit.

I am delighted to learn that Craig and his team’s service and hospitality made your son’s special day memorable.

Once again thank you for your feedback and custom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Had a multi booking for 16 got there a bit late about 5.30 , then told rooms had been booked out for day time booking,
My friend asked how long a nd thecwoman nearly had a fit she she was not being shouted at and he only asked how long .
Our taxi s to town where pre booked for 18.30.so that was out window .as rooms where not ready till 19.15.
I dont offten complian but will not be stopping there next year .
Rooms a bit dated 2 very thin pillows and a bed like brick.
Ho but the shower was hot .

Room Tip: Make sure you pre pay breakfast , if not there a macys over the busy roundabout
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashmore186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review in regard to your recent visit.

First and foremost please accept my sincere apologies that you and your party did not fully enjoy your stay as your rooms were not ready on your arrival. We will review our operating procedures to ensure that others will not be inconvenienced as you were.

Once again please accept my apologies and gratitude for bringing the matter to my attention and do trust this will not affect your continued loyalty to IHG hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed here while on a trip with a coach company. The hotel was absolutely full and busy. There was a wedding party and Wales were playing South Africa! Nevertheless, our stay was brilliant. Check in was quick and efficient. Our room was large, clean and more than adequate. Our evening meal was wonderful and the menu catered for all tastes. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had a good sleep in comfortable beds. The breakfast was also delicious with a wide variety of food on offer. We had 30 minutes free internet a day which was sufficient for us.
An enjoyable stay for a stopover.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxreisexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review following your recent visit.

I was delighted to learn that you totally enjoyed your stay where my colleagues afforded you excellent service and hospitality.

Once again thank you for your feedback and custom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel on a rewards night.

Check was efficient and well handled.

Rooms spacious and in dire need of renovation, Ciggy burns on the carpet, faded graphics, bathroom old fashioned, minimum ammenities in bathroom, furniture worn and stained the sound proofing is poor (dont get room 101) the room was next to the stairs and we heard every high heel and every footstep.

The people next door recycled their supper and alcohol or should this be alcohol and supper and kindly shared their experience with us.

The hotel is setting is great, service is good but the the place is in dire need of
renovation.

I would be surprised if this hotel passes a IHG quality test.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Abdul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on line following your recent visit.

I was pleased to note you found check in and service great but felt left down by the quality of some of our executive rooms. Although of no consolation to you we are currently working our way through a programme to modernise them.

Thank you for your custom and bringing the matter to my attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We held our works conference at this hotel conveniently located near Newport off the M4 because i was cheap and available. Arriving at the hotel on day 1 I feared it looked a bit grim but once inside was pleasantly surprised by the more than decent standard of the public spaces and the quality of the conference facilities. The food was very good indeed - with a nice vegetarian dish always available and perfectly fine no nonsense south Wales service and cheerfulness. I was a day visitor so cannot comment on the rooms.

Room Tip: I think the side away from the M4 will be quieter - ask for south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review following your recent conference in the hotel.

I was delighted to learn that my colleagues, the food and service surpassed your initial expectations.

Once again thank you for your feedback and custom and look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed here for business and was perfect. Comfy bed, clean and friendly staff. The pool is small but more than adequate. It's only 10 minutes from Newport station and across the road from Celtic manor if you fancy a round of golf.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeyandShiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review following your recent visit.

I was delighted to learn that my colleagues, cleanliness and even our pool was to your satisfaction.

Once again thank you for your feedback and custom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
3.3 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Newport
Hotel ibis budget Newport
#10 of 18 in Newport
608 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coldra Court Hotel
Coldra Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Langstone
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Newport Central
1.4 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
3.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Newport East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newport

Address: The Coldra, Newport NP18 2YG, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Newport
Price Range: £58 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Newport 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome is just the beginning at the Holiday Inn Newport. Whether you are travelling for business or leisure the Holiday Inn Newport hotel will make your trip a success. Offering 119 well appointed ensuite bedrooms all with air conditioning, High Speed Wireless Internet connection, satellite channels and In-house movies.The hotel is situated just off junction 24 of the M4 with free ample car parking. The thriving cities of Bristol & Cardiff are within a 30 minute drive and it s only a short journey to the Wye Valley or the Brecon Beacons. Take a round of Golf at the Celtic Manor Resort home of the Ryder Cup in 2010, situated opposite the hotel.The Millennium Stadium hosts a variety of events and is only a 10 minute train journey from Newport. We offer an extensive range of Conference facilities with our largest suite accommodating up to 500 delegates. Click on the meetings tab for further details.Harpers bar is a place for work & relaxation with wireless access and an extensive bar & lounge menu. Harpers restaurant provides a tempting choice of cuisine prepared to the highest culinary standard by our international kitchen team. Take advantage of our resident only leisure facilities with heated indoor pool.With our experience and commitment to our guests, we are the ideal choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newport Hotel Newport
Holiday Inn Newport Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing