We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An awesome stay in Newport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Newport
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Newport
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Arrived having driven from Chard, England, to be met by a very helpful and friendly Customer Services Assistant (Heather). We were booked in quickly and advised of where our rooms were. Heather then continued to enquire what our plans were for the rest of the day and the following day. Our plans included visiting Cardiff Castle, Heather advised us that due to the town hosting a major Speedway Event, the town was going to be congested and therefore we would be best to use public transport. Heather then researched where we were planning to travel to and suggested the best touring / sightseeing routes and printed these off for us.
What impressed us more, was that this level of service was also provided to other customers who where checking in and was mirrored by other colleagues of Heather, which indicated to us that this was the sort of service that was usual at this hotel by the Customer Service team.
Our rooms were of a good size and very comfortable and clean.
Breakfast was rather limited compared to other accommodation we have stayed at ( a serve yourself buffet of cereals, toast, croissants, sliced cheese, yoghurt, sausages, baked beans and scrambled eggs) - no bacon, mushrooms, tomatoes, etc. although a small point, we had expected a better selection of food for breakfast. However, again the service of the Customer Service team made our breakfast very pleasant.
Checkout was also as pleasant, and we were encouraged to leave our car in their car park while we went into Cardiff on the Bus.
We would thoroughly recommend this Hotel to anyone wanting to stay in the Cardiff area and would rate the service here as the best we have experienced during our holiday (6 weeks around the UK visiting 18 different Hotels and B&Bs)
Thanks Heather for all you did to make our stay so pleasant, we will definitely book in again if we return to Cardiff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (549)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Newport
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 549 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

The hotel is extremely tired and could do with a major refurb. My room did not lock - I reported this to reception who said they would get maintenance to look at this but on my return again I could access the room without a key - a slight worry when you are staying on business and out for the majority of the day.
The leisure facilities are a waste of time - the gym is a converted hotel room and twice as stuffy with old equipment and the swimming pool is more like a large bath. The bar is awful - long waits for food, and when it does come it is not at all nice which matched the drink selection.
Definitely would not stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 94C22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review in regard to your recent stay.

Please accept my apologies that you did not enjoy the experience.

We will use the concerns you raised to improve our service and product where we can.

Once again please accept my apologies and gratitude for bringing the matter to my attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This review is for the Harpers Restaurant at the Holiday Inn Newport.
We have had many a Sunday Carvery Lunch here, always excellent food and service.
Chose it for a 90th Birthday lunch for my Mum in Law.
Couldn't have been better and from the 90 year old to the 4 year old in the party, everyone enjoyed the lunch, the friendly service, and the atmosphere.
The Birthday Girl was so pleased with the occasion, and managed to get around with the help of the rails and ramps provided in the lounge bar and restaurant.
Thank you to the chefs and wait staff for a perfect Birthday Lunch party.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank jane j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Jane j,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent visit to our hotel to celebrate your mother in law’s 90th birthday.

I was delighted to learn that my colleagues were able to make this special event a memorable one.

Once again thank you for your feedback and custom and pass on my belated best wishes to the birthday girl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Most of the recent reviews are correct. A smile from the receptionist would go a long way. About rooms fronting the A48 as incessant noise prevents a good night's sleep.
IHG must do something about the breakfast. Rubber Croissants in a tired environment. Avoid.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review in regard to your recent stay.

First and foremost please accept my apologies that you did not enjoy the experience.

We will use the concerns you raised to improve our service and product.

Once again please accept my apologies and gratitude for bringing the matter to my attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

What a very dated and run down hotel, the IHG brand must be very very embarrassed by this hotel, even the most budget holiday inn express would be better than staying hear.

On check in I was given a triple single bedded room, which was the worst room I have ever seen in a holiday inn, after a phone call to reception I was transferred to a better room, but this room was tired, with stains on the furniture, marks on the walls and terrible lighting.

If you need to stay in the area use the newer modern holiday inn express just up the road.

Room Tip: I dont think there are any good rooms in this hotel
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulSSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Paul SSS,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review and taking the time to speak to my colleague in regard to your recent stay.

First and foremost please accept my apologies that you did not enjoy the experience.

Although of no consolation to you we continue to refresh our bedroom stock and phase out unpopular types of rooms which you were offered. I am aware that whilst we could not fully deliver to your expectations, the actions of my colleagues will have gone some way to restoring your faith in us and the brand.

Once again please accept my apologies and do trust that this experience will not deter you from using IHG hotels worldwide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The holiday inn brand signage outside is fresh and clean. That's the only thing that right about the place.

Rooms are dated. Dirty. And have been changed for 15 years.
The curtains have been changed to modern design. But room is stuck in a time warp.

Shame as holiday inn brand is usually a cut above.
This location is a cut below

Should have stopped two nights. But need to cancel next night and stop at holiday inn express further up the road.

Shocking.com

Seriously choose another hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank RJ-JMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review in regard to your recent stay.

First and foremost please accept my apologies that you did not enjoy the experience.

We will take what we can from your comments in order to improve the service and product we deliver.

Once again please accept my apologies and do trust that this experience will not deter you from using IHG hotels worldwide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

recently stopped at this hotel. Don't let its location close to the motorway put you off.It's set in grounds surrounded by woodland and you get no traffic noise whats so ever.
The staff are helpful/friendly.the rooms are spacious clean and well equipped.
The food choice was very good and an excellent standard.
will definatly stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your visit to our hotel.

I was delighted to learn that you really enjoyed peaceful night’s sleep, the food excellent and hospitality memorable.

Once again thank you for your feedback and custom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
3.3 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Newport
Hotel ibis budget Newport
#10 of 18 in Newport
591 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coldra Court Hotel
Coldra Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Langstone
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Newport Central
3.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Newport East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newport

Address: The Coldra, Newport NP18 2YG, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Newport
Price Range: £50 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Newport 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome is just the beginning at the Holiday Inn Newport. Whether you are travelling for business or leisure the Holiday Inn Newport hotel will make your trip a success. Offering 119 well appointed ensuite bedrooms all with air conditioning, High Speed Wireless Internet connection, satellite channels and In-house movies.The hotel is situated just off junction 24 of the M4 with free ample car parking. The thriving cities of Bristol & Cardiff are within a 30 minute drive and it s only a short journey to the Wye Valley or the Brecon Beacons. Take a round of Golf at the Celtic Manor Resort home of the Ryder Cup in 2010, situated opposite the hotel.The Millennium Stadium hosts a variety of events and is only a 10 minute train journey from Newport. We offer an extensive range of Conference facilities with our largest suite accommodating up to 500 delegates. Click on the meetings tab for further details.Harpers bar is a place for work & relaxation with wireless access and an extensive bar & lounge menu. Harpers restaurant provides a tempting choice of cuisine prepared to the highest culinary standard by our international kitchen team. Take advantage of our resident only leisure facilities with heated indoor pool.With our experience and commitment to our guests, we are the ideal choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newport Hotel Newport
Holiday Inn Newport Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing