We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first rate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Newport
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Newport
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“first rate”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just returned after a one night stay, went with coach company,good spacious clean room, very good staff excellent food served dinner and breakfast.minor problem no lift. would stay here again lovely welsh staff made a pleasant change, most hotels these days have staff from everywhere else except the locals. lovely relaxed atmosphere.I would recommend for anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgette175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post an online review following your recent visit to our hotel as part of a group visiting the area.

I was delighted to learn that my colleagues made your stay memorable and you also enjoyed the food and comfort of your room.

Once again thank you for your feedback and custom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    161
    135
    82
    47
See reviews for
88
116
31
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Having read a few of the recent reviews about this hotel, I arrived with a small amount of unease, as to exactly what I would find.

Along with two friends, we had come to watch the Speedway Championships at the Milleniumm Stadium, in Cardiff (it seems half of Germany & Sweden had the same ideas.

From the outside, the hotel does not look much, in fact it reminds me somewhat of a 1970s motel. However, once inside, there was an immediate warm welcome & check-in was smooth & fast (thanks to Laura).

My friend's had a ground floor room (one of my friend's has walking difficulties), whereas I had one on the first floor (stairs only, no lift). Although I was asked if I needed help with my luggage, I declined the offer & made my way upstairs.

Due to the weather, the corridor was stiffling & remained that way for the whole weekend. Once inside my room however, I quickly got the air condtioning going & the temperature dropped quickly.

My room, an executive, had not been refurbished & was resplendent in pink flock wallpaper & dark blue carpets (definitely a Crossroads Motel special). The furniture was somewhat dated, but overall it ticked all the boxes, and free interest access was provided.

My friend's had room 107, which had been refubished with yellow walls, a brown carpet, & a leather-type sofa. Other furniture was a little dated.

The room was spotless & well maintained by housekeeping. The housekeeper, Mandy, that looked after my room, did so with flair & enthusiasm.

The bedroom doors, moreso on the upper level, seem to be warped, as they do not shut properly first time round. You are safe, but need to almost slam the door to ensure it locks correctly.

My friends & I decided to eat from the bar menu, & service was warm & friendly, despite staff having to deal with a fair few people.

Breakfast was a buffet affair, with a good range of food, well stocked & frequently replenished. Staff were attentive & helpful. Quality of the food was good.

When I review somewhere, I say it as it is.

I found the Holiday Inn Newport to adequately serve my needs (I wasn't staying in my room 24/7). Staff attitude, service & interaction was 100% at all times. I was made to feel welcome & my business valued.

Food quality is more than acceptable & at prices that are reasonable.

Internet access is more than adequate, even if the process of getting it is a little antequated. You need to obtain a voucher from reception for each device you want to use & get wifi from. These vouchers are good for a 24-hour period (from the time you log on), and new ones obtained for each day.

The building is in need of a total refurbishment, that much I agree with every reviewer that has mentioned it. But, as we all know, that costs money.

Internet aceess needs to be more user friendly, & the interior, especially the bedrooms, need modernising. Please note there are only baths, & no walk-in showers, so if you have mobility impairments, this needs to be taken in to consideration.

Overall however, the hotel met my needs & that of my friends. If good old fashioned friendly service is what you want, then you have it. If however, you want a modern, faceless building, with no character, then this isn't for you.

I'd rather have the service & put up with the rest.

So, in short, I'd recommend this hotel to anyone, but you need to be aware of the "cosmetics" that aren't quite there.

Room Tip: Go for a ground-floor room, if you have mobility needs. The upper level also gets very hot in warmer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wottraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post an online review following your recent visit to our hotel whilst attending the Speedway event in Cardiff.

I was delighted to learn that my colleagues, in particular Laura and Mandy made you feel welcome and valued. I note your comments on where we could improve the experience further.

Once again thank you for such a positive and balanced review and look forward to welcome you back next year if you are attending Speedway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

I travel a lot on business and make a point of staying with either the Holiday Inn or Premier Inn chain as they usually offer very consistent quality and value for money. Let's start with the positives. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and are clearly a happy team who work well together. Tops marks for that. The breakfast in the morning was good. However the whole hotel was very tired and in desperate need of a makeover. The Hotel Inspector would have a field day! The decor is from the 1970s and both the public areas and the rooms are very tired. The room I was allocated had very worn carpets (ripped under the sofa) and the bathroom tiles were yellowed with age. The room was clean but just nowhere near the standard I expect from a hotel in this chain. Time for a makeover before there are many more reviews like this.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review in regard to your recent stay at the hotel.

On a positive note I was pleased to learn that you appreciated the level of hospitality you experienced by my colleagues. Although of no consolation to you we are close to refreshing our bedroom product and then hope to start on the public areas.

Thank you once again for your custom and feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newport hotels

1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Wow! I HIGHLY recommend a wedding at the holiday inn!! Amazing!! Michelle organised the venue which was amazing more than we could imagine stunning. Sue & Craig organised the day craig was amazing everything run perfectly all we could ever hope for on our big day! Hotel staff were more than helpful couldn't do enough for us. We had an interconnecting room which was a god send for getting ready with 5 bridesmaids, 2 flowergirls, 2 page boys, mum & brother. Dj paul was fantastic sucha laugh. Food by Mikey was OUTSTANDING!! fantastic display of food stunning all out guests were amazed. 2 wedding bookings placed from our guests just from seeing how amazing our day flowed! We filled the hotel with wedding guests without one complaint. Breakfast was fab! Staff were brilliant esp michelle, craig & sue. Thank you so much for making our big day hitch free, perfect well organised & so relaxed THANK YOU SO MUCH!!! Love David & Samantha Priest xxx

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Mr.& Mrs. Priest

Thank you for taking the time to post an online review following your recent visit wedding reception at our hotel.

I was delighted to learn that Michelle, Craig, Sue, Mikey and all our colleagues made your day so special both for you and all your guests.

Once again thank you for such a positive review and may I take this opportunity to extend to you best wishes for the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Arrived having driven from Chard, England, to be met by a very helpful and friendly Customer Services Assistant (Heather). We were booked in quickly and advised of where our rooms were. Heather then continued to enquire what our plans were for the rest of the day and the following day. Our plans included visiting Cardiff Castle, Heather advised us that due to the town hosting a major Speedway Event, the town was going to be congested and therefore we would be best to use public transport. Heather then researched where we were planning to travel to and suggested the best touring / sightseeing routes and printed these off for us.
What impressed us more, was that this level of service was also provided to other customers who where checking in and was mirrored by other colleagues of Heather, which indicated to us that this was the sort of service that was usual at this hotel by the Customer Service team.
Our rooms were of a good size and very comfortable and clean.
Breakfast was rather limited compared to other accommodation we have stayed at ( a serve yourself buffet of cereals, toast, croissants, sliced cheese, yoghurt, sausages, baked beans and scrambled eggs) - no bacon, mushrooms, tomatoes, etc. although a small point, we had expected a better selection of food for breakfast. However, again the service of the Customer Service team made our breakfast very pleasant.
Checkout was also as pleasant, and we were encouraged to leave our car in their car park while we went into Cardiff on the Bus.
We would thoroughly recommend this Hotel to anyone wanting to stay in the Cardiff area and would rate the service here as the best we have experienced during our holiday (6 weeks around the UK visiting 18 different Hotels and B&Bs)
Thanks Heather for all you did to make our stay so pleasant, we will definitely book in again if we return to Cardiff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The hotel is extremely tired and could do with a major refurb. My room did not lock - I reported this to reception who said they would get maintenance to look at this but on my return again I could access the room without a key - a slight worry when you are staying on business and out for the majority of the day.
The leisure facilities are a waste of time - the gym is a converted hotel room and twice as stuffy with old equipment and the swimming pool is more like a large bath. The bar is awful - long waits for food, and when it does come it is not at all nice which matched the drink selection.
Definitely would not stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 94C22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review in regard to your recent stay.

Please accept my apologies that you did not enjoy the experience.

We will use the concerns you raised to improve our service and product where we can.

Once again please accept my apologies and gratitude for bringing the matter to my attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portishead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This review is for the Harpers Restaurant at the Holiday Inn Newport.
We have had many a Sunday Carvery Lunch here, always excellent food and service.
Chose it for a 90th Birthday lunch for my Mum in Law.
Couldn't have been better and from the 90 year old to the 4 year old in the party, everyone enjoyed the lunch, the friendly service, and the atmosphere.
The Birthday Girl was so pleased with the occasion, and managed to get around with the help of the rails and ramps provided in the lounge bar and restaurant.
Thank you to the chefs and wait staff for a perfect Birthday Lunch party.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Jane j,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent visit to our hotel to celebrate your mother in law’s 90th birthday.

I was delighted to learn that my colleagues were able to make this special event a memorable one.

Once again thank you for your feedback and custom and pass on my belated best wishes to the birthday girl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
0.4 mi away
Coldra Court Hotel
Coldra Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Langstone
399 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Newport
Hotel ibis budget Newport
#10 of 18 in Newport
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Newport Central
3.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Newport East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newport

Property: Holiday Inn Newport
Address: The Coldra, Newport NP18 2YG, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Newport 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome is just the beginning at the Holiday Inn Newport. Whether you are travelling for business or leisure the Holiday Inn Newport hotel will make your trip a success. Offering 119 well appointed ensuite bedrooms all with air conditioning, High Speed Wireless Internet connection, satellite channels and In-house movies.The hotel is situated just off junction 24 of the M4 with free ample car parking. The thriving cities of Bristol & Cardiff are within a 30 minute drive and it s only a short journey to the Wye Valley or the Brecon Beacons. Take a round of Golf at the Celtic Manor Resort home of the Ryder Cup in 2010, situated opposite the hotel.The Millennium Stadium hosts a variety of events and is only a 10 minute train journey from Newport. We offer an extensive range of Conference facilities with our largest suite accommodating up to 500 delegates. Click on the meetings tab for further details.Harpers bar is a place for work & relaxation with wireless access and an extensive bar & lounge menu. Harpers restaurant provides a tempting choice of cuisine prepared to the highest culinary standard by our international kitchen team. Take advantage of our resident only leisure facilities with heated indoor pool.With our experience and commitment to our guests, we are the ideal choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newport Hotel Newport
Holiday Inn Newport Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing