We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Celtic Manor Resort
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Newport
Neath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Bit disappointed”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This was our third visit and was bought as a gift. You can't fault the hotel or the staff. The food in the Terry M restaurant was overpriced for what you get. It was a little on the bland side, on the warm side of hot and very small portions. To be asked to pay £4.95 on top of the £49 set price for the beef and cheese and biscuits was over the top. The buffet breakfast was also on the cool side as was the pot of tea which went back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are clean and of good quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevintops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,010
    1,330
    940
    528
    413
See reviews for
1,044
2,156
57
763
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We have just returned from an over night stay for my husbands birthday. Our stay has cost just over £300, we had a luxury room which was very nice, although our robes and slippers were initially missing, no biggy but you don't expect to have to ask for them. We had a spa treatment which was lovely, dinner at Terry M's - bit of a shaky start, a grumpy head waiter took us to our table then left us there for 15 minutes waiting for him to bring the wine list so we could order a drink, before a delightful head waitress finally brought our water and a wine menu. The food is out of this world, worth every penny. This is a fantastic place to eat. However, breakfast is just ordinary. We are lucky enough to stay at a variety of hotels. I have to say Thistle and Premier Inn offer a better breakfast. The breakfast served at the Olive Tree was certainly not 5 star. Lacks imagination. The Atheneum in London is a 5 Star hotel and delivers a 5 Star breakfast.
It was while we were at breakfast discussing how lacklustre it was a gentleman sat to our left and then minutes later a young woman to our right. We returned from the buffet and she had moved to sit with him. Her voice was too loud and she constantly said 'Yeh yeh yeh' excitedly to everything this other guest said. Our quiet relaxing breakfast disappeared as she did not shut up. Now brash inconsiderate guests you expect and can find amusing. However it turned out she was a member of staff, quite high up from what she was blabbering on to this guest. If she told him once she told him half a dozen times she was dining with her family tonight. I would expect a professional member of staff to have an element of consideration to all guests, not just the golf journalists staying at the resorts, they should also have a higher range in vocabulary the 'yeh yeh yeh' at the beginning, middle and end of each sentence drove us nuts, and have some level of self awareness, the volume of her voice at 7.30am way too loud.
Following our check out, there is an express checkout which was handy, the queue at reception was very long. We had to pay £10 parking. So after already spending over £300 there is absolutely no excuse for such a flagrant rip off of guests. There is no excuse for this other than pure greed. Despite the brash staff at breakfast we had been thinking of staying there for Christmas, this would be at considerable cost for a family of four, but a worth while treat, but the fact we will have considerable parking will have a negative impact on our decision. The resort is very popular and busy so I hardly think our absence will make a difference.

Room Tip: Pay for an up grade to a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralee
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I recently went to Newport to watch a football match and decided to try and take in some golf we got a round of golf an overnight stay breakfast and golf again the next morning for £79.00 per person sharing a twin room the hotel was superb the staff could not do enough for you the breakfast was excellent and the golf well it's breath taking scenery and land scape says it all great few days even better value for money only tip if your playing golf get a buggy the walk is extremely hard work

Room Tip: There all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christopher s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Very disappointed, stayed overnight whilst at a two day meeting. The decor is getting very tired - worn carpets, chairs with holes in the fabric etc. Strange mix of design styles, the escalators make it a bit like being in a shopping centre, Must be some refurbishments going on as bits of rubbish, wires coming out of walls etc.

Bedroom huge, with a very comfy bed, down side was that the lighting is so poor it's like being in a nightclub, could not open the curtains as room overlooked. Some extras like robe and elemis products, but no slippers, herbals teas, naff hairdryer and poor quality iron. View of the motorway

Had private dining in the Manor part, the food was good and our waiter helpful, but very long delays between the courses despite the fact we had pre ordered, only one waiter which was not enough at times, one of our party asked to change her starter and was refused.

The meeting room was a good size and well equipped, but very warm and it took two hours for someone to respond to a request to open the ‘patio doors’. Lunch was good.

An OK four star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We were a family of 4 that stayed here, we stayed in a family room, with two double beds and the rooms were very spacious with a large ensuite bathroom, next time I would upgrade and have a room with a balcony! The beds were very comfy with nice bedding! The breakfast was great, the hot food was a buffet but it was all fresh and hot and proper sausages and thick bacon! The swimming pool was lovely and there is a lovely relaxing armostophere at the resort! We also did the adventure golf, the children enjoyed this and it did not take that long but it was fun! We paid and parked in the underground car park but there is an outdoor car park that is free but it's down the hill from the hotel! Only complaint was that we were a family of four in a family room and we only had two towels and we asked reception for more but they did not arrive so had to chase this up again! All the staff were helpful and pleasant! The hotel was clean and well maintained! Very enjoyable experience! If your taking children check what times they can access the pool, lots to do for all the family! Can't wait to go back!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank blossom219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed overnight at the Celtic Manor (Old Manor House) for a Birthday Treat and enjoyed the whole experience. Room was of a good quality but the decor could have done with a bit of a face lift as the carpet needing renewing and the wallpaper was peeling in some small areas around the room.

The bed and furniture in the room were excellent - large bed and two armchairs / three seater settee plus a writing desk.

Went for a walk around the whole of the Celtic Manor Resort and we were very impressed by the whole hotel - would even consider hosting my Daughter's wedding there in a few years time !!!

Room Tip: Definiately and the breakfast to you reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

When my friend gave me the task of organising her classy hen party I knew straightaway that I wanted to host it at The Celtic manor and I am so glad I did. From the very start it was made easy and straightforward. Francesca in the Events team was so helpful. Nothing was too much trouble even when I had to make changes. We had a wide age range from 18 to mid 70s but I knew from the start everyone would enjoy themselves and I was right.

We were treated like VIPs for our whole stay and the bride to be was made to feel very special. The sun was shining and we were able to have a lunchtime drink outside followed by a light lunch in Merlins bar which was delicious. Despite the hotel being full due to the Wales v Scotland rugby international the service was second to none. We spent an enjoyable few hours in the fabulous spa before getting ready for our pre booked evening meal. The rooms are amazing. Spacious with comfortable beds and huge bathrooms with lovely Elemis toiletries.

We were met by the concierge in the lobby and escorted to our minibus to take us to the Lodge for our meal. This was in a private dining room and all I can say is wow! The decor was so beautiful and our waiter Robert stayed with us all evening and was attentive without being intrusive and put up with our lighthearted banter! The meal itself was superb, probably one of the best I have ever eaten.

The minibus then took us back to the main resort where we spent our evening in Merlins bar. There was live music and the bar was full but not uncomfortably so.

Breakfast the next morning was buffet style which we ate in the beautiful conservatory and was accompanied by music from a harpist.

Checkout was smooth and easy.

Highly recommended! I have told my friends if I get married I want my hen party at the Celtic manor!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lianne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
0.1 mi away
The Manor House at Celtic Manor
0.5 mi away
Coldra Court Hotel
Coldra Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Langstone
382 reviews
14.1 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#15 of 73 in Cardiff
3,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
4.2 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Manor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Manor Resort

Property: Celtic Manor Resort
Address: The Coldra | The Usk Valley, Newport NP18 1HQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Celtic Manor Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Host of the 2010 Ryder Cup golfing competition, this award-winning resort is set in 2000 acres of parkland in the Usk Valley. It comprises a 5-star hotel and a historic 19th-century manor house. There is the award-winning Forum Spa, as well as 6 restaurants and 3 championship golf courses. There are 2 adventure golf courses and the treetop adventure course Forest Jump. Clay pigeon shooting, fishing and mountain biking can all be arranged. The Celtic Manor Resort features a range of facilities to ensure the success of guests' business events and special occasions. These include a comprehensive convention centre and exhibition hall, 31 function rooms and 7 restaurants. Rooms all have a TV with satellite channels, and there is a 24-hour front desk. Free Wi-Fi is available in public areas, and there is space for free private parking on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Celtic Manor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Manor Hotel Newport
Celtic Manor Newport
Celtic Hotel Manor
Celtic Manor Resort Newport, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing