We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic facilities.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Celtic Manor Resort
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Newport
somerset
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Fantastic facilities.”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Great hotel to enjoy the superb leisure facilities. Room very spacious and lovely views from the balcony. Staff very helpful and attentive. Did it on a special offer so was excellent value for money. My wife had spa treatments while I lazed around the pool area. The weather was warm so we were able to take a walk in the immaculate grounds.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wildswimmer2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,008
    1,328
    938
    528
    413
See reviews for
1,042
2,153
57
763
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Me and my partner stayed here for the weekend. It was easy to get to and the staff are more than helpful. The views are amazing and I would recommend a balcony room. The décor was just to our taste and very luxurious in the lobby and bedrooms. Big lamps if you enjoy reading, like me. Clean beds and room but our windows were dirty. They could of been washed down, it did spoil the view for us. Wouldn't of been so bad if the stay was cheap but because of how much we paid we would of like the windows cleaner. Really special memories as it was my boyfriends first stay in Wales. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed in the Manor House which was very good, but there is no lift up to the first floor and no one to help you carry the bags either. The room was very nice, standard hotel with everything that was needed. Room service was impossible which took away from the excitement of having it. Having said that it is an amazing place for golfers. Golf was good apparently on both days and the mini bus service was excellent. Kids activities were amazing and they were entertained all weekend. The spa was very nice, but noisy - there is a lack of quiet room for relaxation. The facilities in the general were good, but as the treatments were Extortionate, I didn't try one. We ate in the olive tree which had a good buffet selection, but the service in the bar was very poor indeed. It certainly has 5 star facilities, but not 5 star service sadly. All in all it was great fun and a good laugh as we went with friends, but it was a very expensive weekend.

Room Tip: Stay in the Main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thesandersfamily2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Had an amazing stay at the Celtic Manor resort
Booked in for our wedding anniversary
Booked the Elemis Spa treatment which was an amazing experience highly recommend it ,breakfast was filling and a wide choice to eat

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank nigel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The view as you drive up to this hotel is as impressive as the spectacular views from the restaurants and rooms. Superb food with a choice of 6 first class restaurants. Excellent service although bar service a little remiss. Not cheap, but special packages offer excellent value. 3 championship golf courses in the extensive grounds. Minibuses operate 24hrs a day to take you around.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The check in was smooth and we were soon in our spaceous room. The king size bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was beautiful with lovely toiletries. The view across part of the golf course with the Bristol Channel in the distance was very relaxing.
Bath robes and slippers are provided and we we soon setting off for the spa.The water was nice and warm and with few people around we enjoyed a relaxing couple of hours.
We ate in the buffet style Olive Tree restaurant. The choice and variety was extensive.The service was friendly and to a high standard. The only problem - we ate too much.
Breakfast was a little busy. Once again the choice and variety was excellent.
Check out was easy and quick.
This is a lovely hotel with helpful, friendly staff. The facilities are excellent.
O.ne niggle- we had to pay for parking

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. The view from upper floors is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank williwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My husband organised a surprise overnight stay with dinner for our wedding anniversary. I had seen the huge building many times on business trips to Wales, but never been inside. We had a room in the Manor House which is a small annex off the main hotel. It was clean, functional with a massive bed (pillows were a bit hard...) and modern bathroom with fluffy white towels and very nice Elemis toiletries.
We were actually very impressed with most of the staff, especially Dawn on the reservations reception desk, though the other staff were either very good or had a weird nonchalant attitude! We got ready for dinner as Dawn had managed to squeeze us into The Lodge for early supper. We took the escalators up to the main resort, (quite a novelty) and had a quick look around and took in the enormous size of the complex. It was very different and very spacious and full of ‘Hen Parties’ so we were naturally rather worried, however after the initial sightings we did not see or hear them again.
We took the courtesy bus up to ‘The Lodge’, soaked up the amazing views and had a drink outside before making our way to our table for dinner. The menu was simple but to our tastes, what arrived however was not as expected and the matter was resolved, but naturally we were very disappointed. We decided to walk back to the main hotel as it was a wonderful evening; we were bowled over by the stunning setting and views and just wanted to extend the super experience. We decided to take a drink in one of the many bar/drinking areas; we were served promptly and sat relaxing just soaking up the loveliness of the evening.
We slept well then trundled down to breakfast; we were shown to a table in the Terry Matthews restaurant – a fabulous setting for breakfast, however in all honesty the food was just average, not good not bad. Overall loved the place as it was totally different, I do think however they need to look at the quality of food served as it was a letdown (we are both massive foodies!) and certainly does not match the hotel or our overall experience - sorry!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisonThomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
0.1 mi away
The Manor House at Celtic Manor
0.5 mi away
Coldra Court Hotel
Coldra Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Langstone
379 reviews
14.1 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#15 of 73 in Cardiff
3,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
4.2 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Manor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Manor Resort

Property: Celtic Manor Resort
Address: The Coldra | The Usk Valley, Newport NP18 1HQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Celtic Manor Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Host of the 2010 Ryder Cup golfing competition, this award-winning resort is set in 2000 acres of parkland in the Usk Valley. It comprises a 5-star hotel and a historic 19th-century manor house. There is the award-winning Forum Spa, as well as 6 restaurants and 3 championship golf courses. There are 2 adventure golf courses and the treetop adventure course Forest Jump. Clay pigeon shooting, fishing and mountain biking can all be arranged. The Celtic Manor Resort features a range of facilities to ensure the success of guests' business events and special occasions. These include a comprehensive convention centre and exhibition hall, 31 function rooms and 7 restaurants. Rooms all have a TV with satellite channels, and there is a 24-hour front desk. Free Wi-Fi is available in public areas, and there is space for free private parking on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Celtic Manor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Manor Hotel Newport
Celtic Manor Newport
Celtic Hotel Manor
Celtic Manor Resort Newport, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing