We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent but pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Celtic Manor Resort
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Newport
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Excellent but pricey”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This is a very well run hotel. The staff are great, nothing is too much trouble. It is a very big hotel, and it was completely full when we were there, but everything still worked very efficiently. The public areas are nice (although it is a bit gloomy in the Manor part - avoid staying there). The rooms are a good size and well furnished, although they are looking a bit dated. Bathrooms are excellent.

Breakfast was good, although the quality of some of the food could have been better (tinned fruits, sausages and bacon could have been better etc.). They also coped well with the large number of guests.

Activities are good, but expensive, ditto the spa. The pool area and the grounds are wonderful.

Wifi is free and good.

A highlight is the restaurant Terry M. Again quite expensive, but superb quality - worh the cost!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyReview186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,084 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,963
    1,294
    914
    513
    400
See reviews for
1,017
2,092
56
747
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,093)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Definitely recommend this hotel - wonderful location, stunning views, and huge bedrooms. Breakfast was lovely and the function rooms had everything that was needed. It is HUGE though, so you may want to consider how important exclusivity is to you if planning a special event.

We had a fabulous time, the hotel was everything we needed and more, I will probably return for a weekend break. Pool area looked really appealing too.

Room Tip: views over the forest or golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatyBlakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We went to our son's wedding at the Celtic Manor on the 12th July 2014. On arrival you got that wow feeling. Wedding venue was lovely and the staff always on hand and helpful. We had a buffet wedding breakfast which was superb. We stayed the night and found the room just as you would expect in a hotel of this standard. Breakfast on sunday morning had so much variety. Would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mragaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Probably the best hotel in the world, friendly staff, plenty of activities, just total chill time. Second time at the hotel, just can't get enough of the place. It's like a millionaires palace but affordable to the working man. The pool, spa, steam rooms, gym are all excellent.
Rooms are luxury and the views breathtaking, well worth a visit anytime of the year. A must visit place that I can't wait to visit again. Meals and drinks are reasonable.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Spiceyprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Visited 10.07.14 Wow Wow Wow what a lovely afternoon tea we had at the Celtic Manor. Food was amazing just the right amount of savoury and sweet and plenty of it so much so we had to have a box to take our last course of scones with jam and clotted cream home with us they even had a box ready for us. The staff were brilliant and could not do enough for you. Every thing was served at just the right pace the whole atmosphere in the conservatory was really nice with big sliding doors that were wide open to the afternoon sun. The setting was so nice and was a joy to my mother who we took for a birthday treat she said the whole experience made her feel really special. We will definitely be going back. I have tried to think of some negatives but really there were none.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaydub201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

This 5* resort definitely ticks all my boxes when rating my experience. I have stayed in many places that have claimed to be 5* over the years but the attention to detail, customer service and facilities are second to none!!! From the moment we pulled up at the front you were treated like royalty, we used the valet parking which I recommend if you have a nice car because of the camera systems in valet car park. We had spa sessions booked and these were also lovely very professional and any special requirements were adhered too. No pressure to buy the products and the end of the treatment you were allowed to browse at you own free will. Went to the bar/lunch area adjacent to reception and had lovely coffee and sandwiches hubby had a fab burger and the thickest hand made chips you have ever seen, dusted with sea salt they were delicious!!!. Evening meal was at the lodge which was very pleasant and you were driven everywhere around the complex by a fleet of luxury mini buses again see ice from drivers was fab. The lodge brasserie was very nice a little over priced for what it was but I didn't really mind because again the overall package was great. After dinner we went to the bar area where there was a man on the piano and a clarinet player...now I do t like shows where there are club singer types but he was outstanding and could have listened to him all night. Breakfast was delicious and there was everything you could possibly want fruit, meat, fish, pastries and the traditional cooked breakfast. To sum up because I could go on for hours well worth a visit, oh and there's tons to do for children which they should advertise better on their website big bonus will be taking children next time to one of their lodges and perhaps giving the traditional trip to centreparcs a miss.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Can't fault the stay, service, pool facilities and food. The celtic manor was recommended to us and I would recommend it in future. Don't think I would pay for a room upgrade as we didn't spend much time in the room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cardiflad947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
0.1 mi away
The Manor House at Celtic Manor
0.5 mi away
Coldra Court Hotel
Coldra Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Langstone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
14.1 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
4.2 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
13.4 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#9 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Manor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Manor Resort

Property: Celtic Manor Resort
Address: The Coldra | The Usk Valley, Newport NP18 1HQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Celtic Manor Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Host of the 2010 Ryder Cup golfing competition, this award-winning resort is set in 2000 acres of parkland in the Usk Valley. It comprises a 5-star hotel and a historic 19th-century manor house. There is the award-winning Forum Spa, as well as 6 restaurants and 3 championship golf courses. There are 2 adventure golf courses and the treetop adventure course Forest Jump. Clay pigeon shooting, fishing and mountain biking can all be arranged. The Celtic Manor Resort features a range of facilities to ensure the success of guests' business events and special occasions. These include a comprehensive convention centre and exhibition hall, 31 function rooms and 7 restaurants. Rooms all have a TV with satellite channels, and there is a 24-hour front desk. Free Wi-Fi is available in public areas, and there is space for free private parking on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Celtic Manor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Manor Hotel Newport
Celtic Manor Newport
Celtic Hotel Manor
Celtic Manor Resort Newport, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing