We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Large booking”
Review of The Olde Oak Inn - CLOSED

The Olde Oak Inn
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Large booking”
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

We needed a venue that could host about 20 to 30 people as we were visiting family and friends whilst on holiday from NZ. We made a reservation on the Saturday morning. When we arrived the restaurant was empty which suited us as there were 11 children and 19 adults that finally turned up. There weren't enough menus for everyone. Condiments and the correct cutlery weren't placed before the meals arrived. At least 6 steaks were sent back as they hadn't been cooked enough. 1 meal turned up without its sauce as per the menu. The restaurant can seat up to about 80 people. No way could they cope with a full restaurant. I would recommend getting the basics right and a smaller menu that would be easier to get out of the kitchen with minimal fuss.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Been going there for several years for Sunday lunch and always looked forward to it until recently. The roast potatoes were hard, no option of boiled potatoes, the yorkshire puddings were tasteless and the choice of veg was lacking. the meat was still good but I'll be trying elsewhere in the future.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Never got as far as having a meal”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Avoid this place if you are looking for a nice relaxing evening. On approaching the pub we were met with loud music - this was in the car park as the doors to the place were wide open. The outside smoking area was full and the langugae (bad) was not what I would want to hear. If I had children with me I would have turned straight around. The pub looked "rough" and empty - obviously all the clientelle were outside.
I am afraid I cannot tell you what the meal was like as the whole atmosphere of the place was unwelcoming and scruffy. We decided to go elsewhere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilJul77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I had a pleasant surprise last night. We ( 8 in all.) were looking for a nice restaurant to celebrate my birthday and we found The Olde Oak Inn. Wow! What a find, because the meal was fantastic and the service was excellent. Needless to say we will be going there again and I have no hesitation in recomending it to anyone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank roy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“gratitude”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

after being let down by our organized venue 3 hours before my in-laws 50th wedding annv dinner I rang the above in a panic .. spoke with Kirsty who calmly sorted every thing out in a matter of minutes 20 people no problem. when we arrived they even had decorated the tables Dino the chef came up trumps with a mouthwatering menu of soup steak and fresh veg and home made chips absolutely delicious topped it off with a selection of desserts to die for, all served by the lovely carmen & sam, all our guests loved the food and will be back as we will, we are just sorry we did not pick the olde oak in the first place Thanks to all xxx

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank anthony w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Olde Oak Inn also viewed

 
Rogerstone, Newport
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing