We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again!”
Review of New Lahore

New Lahore
Ranked #10 of 435 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Never again!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Reluctantly, I won't be ordering from the Lahore again. Since their recent success, standards have plummeted - have they become too busy to focus on quality? I stress this was a delivered meal which was very poor, horrible poppodums, a madras that tasted like a korma, watery mint sauce insipid and tasteless food. So disappointing. Had I been in the restaurant, it would have all been sent back. As a regular customer, I felt insulted that they could deliver such poor quality food. They used to be so good - Whats gone wrong???

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    30
    23
    7
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good even when busy.”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Went there alone last week on Saturday about 8:30. Was asked to wait in the waiting area and within few minutes they asked if I could come back in half an hour. I returned, having left my order, was sat down and my starter arrived immediately. As soon as I finished my starter my main was ready (I had explained I was eager to get out for the night) Lahore Special (Madras Strength) Old Style - Definitely would recommend this dish. Paid my bill as quickly as possible and left feeling pleasantly fed before getting out on the town.I have always held this restaurant in high esteem and would be happy to recommend it to anyone who likes Indian Cuisine.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Glyndwr182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“best balti i have ever had (in newport)”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

the food here was really good and we got lots of chocolates at the end. a reasonable price too... sadly not BYOB but apart from that all good. servixe was a little slow, after 50+ years in the busiless you would think they are a little more slick...

Helpful?
Thank GingerWizard87
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Newport
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Never actually been to this place. It have order from here and for the price the you pay the food is very good and it arrived reasonably fast for a weekend.

Helpful?
1 Thank J-Reeves91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Congratulations”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Congratulations to all the staff on being ranked in the top 5 curry houses in the UK by the Sunday Telegraph. Brilliant meal last night, one of the best ever.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New Lahore also viewed

Newport, Southern Wales
Newport, Southern Wales
 
Newport, Southern Wales
Newport, Southern Wales
 

Been to New Lahore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing