We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Manor House at Celtic Manor
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Newport
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Pure Bliss”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Stayed here with work. Rooms although pricey,of a lovely standard with great view. Great facilites and liked the food. We had buffet dinner as lots of us and was great quality and really tasty. Good Gym and views from the golf course are stunning!

Care re parking as the underground parking is far too pricey!!! there is a car park at the bottom of the hill which is free and the hotel will ferry you back and forth. We paid over £200 per roomper night, if you want to stay here they do some delas to stay with dinner for £150 very good value.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    108
    77
    37
    31
See reviews for
47
121
6
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Another great stay in the Manor House.

Enormous room with good facilities. I spent most of the time in the Forum spa,and gym while my partner was on business, which was very relaxing.and the service was excellent.

Looking forward to our next visit

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Booked in for our 35th Wedding Anniversay on the 30th, stayed until 2nd January. Arrived at the Manor House at 2:30 expecting to be told our room wasn't ready as check-in was at 4:00 pm but it was, so went up straight away. Must admit, we booked a king deluxe and it was amazing. Really big, newly refurbished with a flat screen TV and lovely bathroom. Well happy. Went down to the Cellar Bar where we were the only two there. Sat chatting to the barman and watched darts on one of the many TVs down there.

Booked a dinner at the Lodge for 9:00 pm. Have eaten here on previous stays so knew what to expect. Concierge picked us up at 8:40 and took us up there. Good food, attentive service although my husband said the leek and potato soup was no where as nice as the one I make(!). Evening so far spoilt by a table full of noisy children with their families. Luckily, they left after about 45 mins so we could manage to hear each other speak! Concierge collected us at around 10:30 and took us back to the Manor House.

Lovely night's sleep in a very comfy huge bed.

Breakfast was a buffet affair. I prefer the one to one service they used to provide at the Manor House but the food was fresh, hot and plenty of it.

Walked through to the Resort which took about 5 mins at a leisurely stroll. As you would expect at that time of the year and with Winter Wonderland still on-going, there were loads of children. Unless I have missed something but I really think there should be an adults only bar. We had one drink and something to eat and decided to go back to the Cellar Bar at the Manor House for peace and quiet and yes, to watch the darts on the TV.

Had my nails done in the Spa. Very nice staff and good value for money.

New Years Eve was a buffet at the Olive Tree. We booked the 7:30 sitting and were immediately served with our drinks and the buffet set-out was explained to us. Plenty to choose from and must admit my plate was rather piled up with different foods! The Magician spent some time with us, chatty and we thought the trick performed really clever (still trying to work out how he did it ...).

Left there for our evening entertainment at Merlin Bar. It was crowded not only with Olive Tree diners but residents too who had not had a meal. I thought the Bar would have been reserved just for diners. A waitress managed to sort us out somewhere to sit, settled down to enjoy the live entertainment when a huge group came and sat next to us with their children (same ones as at the Lodge?). Totally out of control, running around setting off balloons and chasing them to wherever they landed and I mean "wherever they landed". I saw a few people complain but no difference. Unfortunately (or fortunately in the circumstances) my husband was violently sick and we had to return to the room for the rest of the evening to see the New Year in.

We did not book the black tie event as we knew we wouldn't have eaten most of the food and it would have been a waste of money but I really think there should be a time limit for when children are allowed in a bar or an area allocated just for families or adults only.

From what I heard of the two lads entertaining everyone, I thought they were very good albeit must have found it hard to make themselves heard above the racket.

To sum up, loved the Manor House as always. Staff immensely helpful and friendly. Room service (for the next day when hubby ill in bed) outstanding and even though we did not want to be disturbed by the room cleaners (for want of a better description), the young lady provided us with plenty of tea, milk, sugar and biscuits.

New Years Eve at the Resort let us down. Needs to be organised better.

Room Tip: Had room 201. Spacious and newly re-furbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BettyBoopLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Booked 2 nights in The Manor House, Christmas Eve, and Christmas Day Night
From arrival to departure the experience was very disappointing.
The poor experiences ranged from booking in to checking out.
Also,
Room not ready. Arrived about 6.30pm, it should have been.
A general lack of communication pertaining to what was happening or was going to happen within the Manor House.
A lack of essential signage.
EG.
No lift signs.
No escalator signs.
No pool signs.
Etc.

Breakfast...
Replenishing of food slow, with some guests complaining of food going cold on their plates whilst waiting.
The bar in the Manor House closed by 7.00 pm on Christmas Day Night. No explanation given. The only bar open was in the main resort.
I had booked The Manor House specifically to avoid going into the main resort building.
No choice now!
Had to sit with all the noisy families and their noisy children, who seemed to be allowed the run of the place, screaming, shouting, and climbing all over the furniture with impunity.
Only two good things about the stay.
The Patio Restaurant food very good, and staff efficient and courteous, and my room was at the rear, so motorway noise was kept to a minimum.
I realise now the Celtic Manor Resort is so called because, it feels like Blackpool on a Bank holiday.
Anyone looking for a bit of class will be sorely disappointed.
I will never return there, and will never recommend it to anyone, unless they happen to be of the "chav" class.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank littlebrosna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newport hotels

Littleport
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Tried booking 2 rooms for a business visit took 3 days for someone to ring us back system errors?, eventually armed with our e-mail we set off on our 5 hour journey to the great expectation of a 5 star resort, arriving armed with bags, to find no booking, 20 minutes later after repeat of reference to our e-mail, we were given our rooms? booked an early morning call for 8am, alas you say were in, having offered my credit card at registration but declined told not required as group reservation on 2nd night did not require this, We made the journey to the Bar in the Manor House Yep its closed, back to reception to be told sorry not open on Sunday evening, AHH why when we asked were the bar was that he didn't say it was closed! sent to the Bar in the main resort, you need a golf buggy, compass and a good navigator for this, up hill down dale, escalator stairs, eventually the bar foyer, exhaustion and a well earned drink now needed, wait for 2 Guinness pored, on the pumps, Guess what no credit on our rooms, told to return to reception to get my card registered, it was as if we held to ransom, guest relations manager called and off with my card, we watched the Guinness behind the bar, and we dwelled. Hooray our card was registered!! On retiring You no when you get that feeling in your waters I had better check, Yep morning call not booked by reception AHH!! off to bed, following morning spent 1/2 hr sorting out room split account, most apologetic offered to knock off 2 Guinness for inconvenience. Final Check out same old storey for got to credit 2 Guinness, items from our conference booked to my room, there is so much sloppy mistakes here. 5 Star, well all I would stay keep looking Hope Santa delivers other 3 Stars. Staff clearly don't communicate, senior managers false promises overhaul need to get there act together, what a journey and a 2 star experience if you are charging top prices then at least get the service right. Was it worth the £6.20 Toll charge to get there defiantly not drive on by.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cavanagh24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

My Wife and I Stayed here on November 15th for one night as a treat to ourselves, we stayed in room 306 which we would say was a refurbished room and of a good standard.
We contacted the hotel before traveling and asked if we could have an early check in as this was a very special occasion and the said we could check in from 2pm onwards.
Upon arrival we were met by very polite and helpful staff members at check in who explained the Manor house / Celtic manor us.
As this was an early check in we passed some very busy house keeping staff who were preparing the other rooms for that day.
After un packing we decided to walk up to the Celtic manor resort for a look around and as previously mentioned it is a bit of a way ( see Baggie Whites review)
We found the spa and swimming pool etc and decided to give them a go, we asked at the desk at the spa area if they provided towels and robes and we were told towels were provided but we would have to bring the robes from our room.
So the walk back to the Manor house, outfits and robes and then the walk back.
After changing we met up by the pool and mentioned that at the rear of both changing rooms they had plunge pools, hot tubs, saunas and steam rooms, we then asked a member of staff if they were mixed or segregated we were told no mixing they were segregated which was a shame as we have used other health spars and all have been mixed.
Its a shame that couples cannot use the saunas, steam rooms etc together but there are some obvious reasons for this. this was our let down.
We started our evening with a drink at the bar in the Manor house and again were served by very good staff, we were also shown the menu in the bar as we were dining in Le Patio Bistro and our orders taken.
The food was outstanding and well matched with the service.
The breakfast was also served in Le Patio Bistro and again was very good.
.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barryboy1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed here for one night, before going to Santorini for a week.

We had been told by a friend that the room they had a few months earlier, was shabby, with scruffy furniture and tired bedding, and they were right. Not sure if the rooms have had a refurbishment since the hotel opened, but it did not feel like it.

The cost included a buffet meal in the Olive Tree Restaurant. It was very,very busy. They could not keep up with the demand for the main meal selection. I waited for what felt like 8/10 minutes for rice to go with a curry, but gave up in the end. I seen a lot of people waiting for the food to be replenished. The buffet is £32.50 a head, and I think you would expect better for that kind of money. The food was very nice, when it was available. Staff we very pleasant.

The main public area, where the bar is, is not big enough for the hotel. There is cane furniture in one part, which is absolutely awful to look at, and even worse to sit in. The area at the back, which is like a library, is very tired. We could not get a sofa, or table, outside of these areas. We had a quick drink after our meal, and then went to our room as we could not get comfortable.

Breakfast was very nice, and not the same issues as the buffet meal.

We used the leisure club, and that was great.

A disappointing stay. Perhaps time to spend some money to bring it up to a true 5* standard.

We are staying here again on the 7th December 2013 for a works function, so I will post an update.

Room Tip: I booked this on a promotion, so not sure if they allocate 'scruffy' rooms for promotions...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimJames1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
0.4 mi away
Coldra Court Hotel
Coldra Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Langstone
383 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Newport
Holiday Inn Newport
#9 of 18 in Newport
528 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Newport
Hotel ibis budget Newport
#10 of 18 in Newport
575 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor House at Celtic Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House at Celtic Manor

Property: The Manor House at Celtic Manor
Address: House at Celtic Manor The Coldra, Newport NP18 1HQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor House at Celtic Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within 2000 acres of parkland in the beautiful Usk Valley, this historic 19th-century manor house features original features such as wood-panelled walls and a sweeping wooden staircase.The Manor House at Celtic Manor offers 70 traditionally-styled guestrooms, each of which has been updated to offer a range of modern comforts, whilst still retaining the original character of the property.Guests can dine in the on-site AA Rosette restaurant, which is has direct access to the larger resort hotel. This features additional facilities such as 2 health clubs and spas, 3 championship golf courses and an outdoor play area for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, LateRooms and HRS so you can book your The Manor House at Celtic Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor House At Celtic Manor Hotel Newport
The Manor House At Celtic Manor Newport, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing