We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great golf break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Manor House at Celtic Manor
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Newport
Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great golf break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed the night of the 8th April. Room quality and furnishing are excellent. Breakfast area good and choices excellent. The room was on the warm side, thermostat operation requires PhD... All the staff were friendly and the whole experience was enhanced with Welch hospitality at its best! Despite the amount of traffic on the course both fairways and greens on the 2010 were in top class condition thank you all for a most memorable experience.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravensleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    107
    76
    36
    30
See reviews for
47
116
6
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
215 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We were there to play Golf (which was fabulous). The hotel definitely needs some refurbishment ! But for the prize we paid it was ok. Nice breakfast buffet. For a restaurant you're better off to find some nice establishments around.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrKueng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

I would of given this five stars if it wasn't for two things. Firstly the heating system in the rooms is hideously noisy and secondly the pool in the forum was very strongly chlorinated which meant I have to leave early as my eyes were very sore. The rest of the stay was fabulous. There is a lot to do there for all ages and my teenage son thoroughly enjoyed the tree climbing and crossbow. The crazy golf was really good too. Breakfast was fab, everything you'd expect from a decent hotel and the service was good. Room was spacious and well equipped and the beds were very comfortable. Food and drink were average prices for a high end hotel about £4.50 a pint and £10 a cocktail. Coke was about £2.50 to get a tough idea but hey you don't come to a place like this to penny pinch. Definitely worth a visit and I would return

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pink_phantom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea
Level Contributor
149 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Booked a DBB leisure break. Arrived at 2.30 pm and were given our room keys. However, we were told that our dinner reservation had been changed from 7.00pm to 8.30pm. We stated that this was unacceptable and they arranged for us to dine in The Patio instead. This was very much appreciated.
Checking in early allowed us much more time to enjoy the spa facilities, walk around the resort and enjoy a drink before changing for our evening meal.
Our room was pleasant, albeit a little on the cold side. Very clean, comfortable and well equipped.
We made use of the spa again before breakfast, and this was much better as there were fewer people there. Breakfast was excellent. Already looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayned2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

I had lunch at Rafters in the 2010 club house yesterday. Fantastic as alway, well looked after and accommodating as always. Stayed at the Hotel and managed to take a bit of a tumble. The crew at the hotel were absolutely brilliant. Patched me up, took me to A&E and even arrange to get me back. Special thanks to Sam Prothero for his company, his wit and his patience. Sam,you were a star last night. 5 star service from a 5 star resort.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Main resort is exceptional and I have stayed there many times. On this visit I had a room at the manor house. Reception service was slow and under resourced on arrival. Kept waiting with problems finding reservation. Whilst room was very good size and well equipped (including four poster bed, two desks and informal seating, it was freezing on arrival. The option was to have a noisy heating system on through the night or a very cold room. If you plan a stay, I would recommend spending a bit more and allowing yourself the proper Celtic manor experience. The staff in the main building were excellent, attentive and plentiful.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Autobiography88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

This I'd my 3rd review of the Manor House. The newly refurbished rooms are terrific and much needed. Its really made the already good hotel even better. Keep up the same standard in the corridors next!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simon_jones3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
0.5 mi away
Coldra Court Hotel
Coldra Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Langstone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Newport
Holiday Inn Newport
#9 of 19 in Newport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newport Wales (M4, J24) Hotel
4.2 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor House at Celtic Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House at Celtic Manor

Property: The Manor House at Celtic Manor
Address: House at Celtic Manor The Coldra, Newport NP18 1HQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor House at Celtic Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within 2000 acres of parkland in the beautiful Usk Valley, this historic 19th-century manor house features original features such as wood-panelled walls and a sweeping wooden staircase.The Manor House at Celtic Manor offers 70 traditionally-styled guestrooms, each of which has been updated to offer a range of modern comforts, whilst still retaining the original character of the property.Guests can dine in the on-site AA Rosette restaurant, which is has direct access to the larger resort hotel. This features additional facilities such as 2 health clubs and spas, 3 championship golf courses and an outdoor play area for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Manor House at Celtic Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor House At Celtic Manor Hotel Newport
The Manor House At Celtic Manor Newport, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing