We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service from Gillian at check-in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Manor House at Celtic Manor
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Newport
Reviewed 8 May 2014

A fantastic warm welcome from Gillian at reception. Very friendly and professional and knew her history and information about the hotel perfectly. First class service! Grace at check-out was super polite and professional too.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed for one night in the manor house on the 27th of April, it was our first time there and what can I say.. from the moment we walked through the door everything was faultless, staff were so friendly and helpful, our room was lovely and absolutely spotless also the temperature was fine no air con problems at all. The pool area again was Fab, spotless. Dinner at the olive tree was included in our stay, we paid £109 DBB lovely 3 course buffet dinner plenty of choice even for a fussy eater like my husband, overall was a fantastic break we will definitely be returning and next time we will take the kids because they would love it as there's loads for them to do.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank katie19863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Got married here last year and couldn't fault the service. We had the 4 poster room which was lovely but our guests rooms didn't seem up to much, definately needed a refurb. Food was good and staff couldn't do enough for us. Spending our first anniversary at the Newbridge on usk (sister hotel) so hoping for good things :)

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
Thank b3cky79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

You would not expect the hotel to be a quiet as it was considering you turn off of the motorway to get to it. Great room, hot water and super comfy beds. The only drawback was the air conditioning, it was very dry, cold and difficult to use.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed at the Manor House and played Roman Road and 2010 course. Hotel was clean and comfortable but rooms were far to hot. Courses were very wet with plugged balls and they were a long walk between finishing a hole and next tee on many holes. In fact a long course in general for me as I am not the biggest hitter. Greens were not great, slow and bobbly. Buggies expensive at £36. All that said, staff were excellent and friendly and the resort tries to give you a great Golfing experience. In spite of all this, had an enjoyable stay but would not rush back. One to say you have done it I think.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank TerryMcCrossan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed the night of the 8th April. Room quality and furnishing are excellent. Breakfast area good and choices excellent. The room was on the warm side, thermostat operation requires PhD... All the staff were friendly and the whole experience was enhanced with Welch hospitality at its best! Despite the amount of traffic on the course both fairways and greens on the 2010 were in top class condition thank you all for a most memorable experience.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ravensleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We were there to play Golf (which was fabulous). The hotel definitely needs some refurbishment ! But for the prize we paid it was ok. Nice breakfast buffet. For a restaurant you're better off to find some nice establishments around.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrKueng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
0.4 mi away
Coldra Court Hotel
Coldra Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Langstone
445 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Newport
Holiday Inn Newport
#8 of 18 in Newport
551 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
3.1 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Newport
Hotel ibis budget Newport
#11 of 18 in Newport
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor House at Celtic Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House at Celtic Manor

Address: House at Celtic Manor The Coldra, Newport NP18 1HQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Newport
Price Range: £78 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor House at Celtic Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within 2000 acres of parkland in the beautiful Usk Valley, this historic 19th-century manor house features original features such as wood-panelled walls and a sweeping wooden staircase.The Manor House at Celtic Manor offers 70 traditionally-styled guestrooms, each of which has been updated to offer a range of modern comforts, whilst still retaining the original character of the property.Guests can dine in the on-site AA Rosette restaurant, which is has direct access to the larger resort hotel. This features additional facilities such as 2 health clubs and spas, 3 championship golf courses and an outdoor play area for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Manor House at Celtic Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor House At Celtic Manor Hotel Newport
The Manor House At Celtic Manor Newport, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing