We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Newport
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Wasn't expecting much for the price we payed but on arrival was quickly checked in by friendly staff. Room was clean and had everything you need for a 1 night stop.
Breakfast was included in price which was a bonus.
Definitely would recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (606)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

386 - 392 of 606 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013

Stayed there 4 times now. Good staff who are very efficient. Priced competitively for area, and it is as expected a fairly basic hotel and room, but fully functional with a good car park and a nice pub and Italian restaurant next door

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

From welcome to check out the staff were helpful and friendly, always willing to offer help.

The rooms were clean with the expected facilities. Choice of pillow was a good addition and plenty of sockets on the desk..

The evening meal was reasonably priced compared to restaurants in the area and was well cooked.

Access to M4 is good, and at a 20-25 min drive to the centre of Cardiff it proved a convenient alternative to the city centre hotels at a much lower cost.

We intend to use the hotel in the future.

Room Tip: If you need something such as another tea bag or you forgot something or you need a meal at a time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeePrice01, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I am delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us from the time you arrive until the time you departed; I will ensure your comments are shared with the team.

I look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.3

Many thanks
Philippa Ebdon
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This hotel was easy to find. Very modern and extremely clean.
My room had a sofabed as well as a double so gave me more room and made me feel more at home.
The staff were very helpful and supportive.
All you need on a business trip.

Room Tip: Felt that maybe a small bottle of water may have been useful. Also feel that if you are a woman tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Was booked by my company for a one night stay arrived late and check in was quick and easy. Plenty of parking, outside was clean and tidy. Room was of a standard size quality and was clean. Wi-Fi for 24 hours was free which is a major plus nowadays. Only poor thing that I found about it was that breakfast consisted of no full English, just a quick breakfast which consisted of sausages, scrambled egg, tomato and beans. Continental consisted of a croissant and juice was terrible. Staff very helpful. Bed very comfy I slept all night.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EthAme46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeePrice01, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel.

First of all I am pleased to read that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you for your comments in regards to breakfast, I have taken your feedback on board and we are always looking at new ways in which we can improve our free breakfast to meet the needs of all our guests. I look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Many thanks
Philippa Ebdon
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

this is exactly what you would expect of a Holiday Inn Express, clean functional rooms. Breakfast ok but the coffee is not good but what makes this better than other Holiday Inn Expresses is the staff. Helpful and thoughtful, a credit to the chain!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s30wen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This is a pretty standard Holiday Inn on a business park; rooms are OK as a functional space but you wouldn't want to stay more than a few nights. Everything is very clean in room but shower is very weak particularly on a cold morning. Free internet throughout which is a good touch. Breakfast is pretty bad with terrible coffee, horrid juice and rubbish selection-even though it is "free" I would avoid in future! staff very nice though .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickg450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
3.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Newport
Hotel ibis budget Newport
#10 of 18 in Newport
594 reviews
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Newport
Holiday Inn Newport
#8 of 18 in Newport
551 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Newport Central
2.5 mi away
The Queens Hotel, Newport
8.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Newport East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newport

Address: Lakeside Drive | Coedkernew, Newport NP10 8BB, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Newport
Price Range: £47 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newport 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the good-value Holiday Inn Express Newport hotel for convenient links to the M4 and Cardiff. Holiday Inn Express Newport is 20 minutes' drive from Cardiff city centre and 30 minutes' from Cardiff International Airport, with plenty of complimentary parking. Our handy location beside Celtic Springs Business Park, 6 miles from Newport town centre, puts local companies on your doorstep. You can check email with free Wi-Fi available throughout. Make yourself comfortable on a leather sofa in the bar and chat to friends over a beer. Invite 10-55 people to an event in our 5 naturally lit meeting rooms, all equipped with LCD projectors and wireless Internet. Holiday Inn Express Newport offers an inclusive continental buffet breakfast with selected hot items each morning and kids stay free in our family rooms when sharing with a parent. It's just 12 miles to sports events in Cardiff's Millennium Stadium and nights out in Cardiff Bay's lively bars. Our comfy guestrooms are perfect for unwinding in. Inside, you'll find lots of handy features including 32-inch TVs with Freeview, en suites with a power shower and complimentary tea/coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newport Hotel Newport
Holiday Inn Newport
Holiday Inn Express Newport Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing