We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Holiday Inn Express”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Newport
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Holiday Inn Express does what it says on the tin, but it is the staff that make the difference they are great, friendly and helpful. Only complaint was that they had run out of bananas at breakfast, but it was very busy.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s30wen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback concerning your stay with us.

It is always pleasurable to read another guest has enjoyed their stay so much.

I continually impressed and overwhelmed by the positive feedback I receive regarding my team members.

Once again thank you for your review, I look forward to hopefully greeting you as a guest in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (618)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 618 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

We used this hotel as a stop over on are way to deeper wales, it was a great place to stop. Clean, tidy, very friendly staff, good room everything you needed and a good bed for a great night sleep.
I would recommend this place for a stop over. We had a ground floor room which was great.
There was a pub next door served excellent food and the waiting staff were brilliant (many thanks to Hannah). There was ample parking, the only thing I could possibly mention is the signage to the hotel was poor, that sat nav found it though.

Room Tip: A little hard to find, just needs better signage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Mike,

Thank you for your kind words relating to the Holiday Inn Express Newport.

I am thrilled to read that our hotel continually meets the high expectations of our guests, which is testament to the recent annual awards we received for Housekeeping Team of the Year and Guest Experience Hotel of the Year.

I will pass on your kind comments to my team members to ensure they are rewarded for their great service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed with family and had an excellent time. Rooms were clean and comfortable, ideal for a base. Breakfast was good and replenished regularly. Will definitely stay again. The staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Joanne,

Many thanks for your review on the Holiday Inn Express Newport.

We try our very best to ensure each and every guest enjoys their stay each and every time and it is a pleasure to read that we have another satisfied guest.

I look forward to hopefully greeting you as our guest in the near future.
,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Nicely located hotel with a small dining area. Had a room facing the main road so could hear traffic all night. TV reception was bad particularly during the evening. Nice pub just next to the hotel with good food and a good selection of beers.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back not on the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael O, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Gary M,

May I thank you for your review on the Holiday Inn Express Newport.

We value your feedback, good or bad, as it allows us to continuously monitor our performance levels. Please also accept my apologies regarding the noise levels during your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel on the outskirts of Newport in advance of a family event the next day. Very accessible (just off the M4), very reasonable (rates included a simple breakfast) and very comfortable. I simply cannot fault the quality for the value and when you consider it was a £8 taxi ride from Newport station, it makes it even better. If I return to Newport and need to stay, you'll find me here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ce9173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeePrice01, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay with us. I am delighted to see you had a very comfortable stay with us and I look forward to seeing welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Many thanks

Philippa Ebdon
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I are regular visitors to this hotel for my work. It is conveniently located near the M4 yet is quiet. The staff are friendly and efficient and the service is to a high standard. We use HI Express hotels a lot and this is our favourite.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank justiskernewek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding the Holiday Inn Express Newport.

It is always a delight to read that we have such loyal guests who experience our high levels of service consistently. Also knowing that you prefer our hotel than the rest of out brand is such an achievement in itself.

I thank you for being such a loyal guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel whilst travelling to Newport on business. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. I will definitely stay here again the next time I visit Newport.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thestones2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Loyal Guest,

I would like to thank you for your kind words concerning your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Newport.

It is always a pleasure to hear good feedback concerning our hotel and I am pleased to read that you will return to stay with us when you are next in Newport.

Kindest Regards,

Michael Oates
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
3.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Newport
Hotel ibis budget Newport
#10 of 18 in Newport
605 reviews
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Newport
Holiday Inn Newport
#8 of 18 in Newport
563 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Newport Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
2.5 mi away
The Queens Hotel, Newport
5.8 mi away
Coldra Court Hotel
Coldra Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Langstone
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newport

Address: Lakeside Drive | Coedkernew, Newport NP10 8BB, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Newport
Price Range: £39 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newport 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the good-value Holiday Inn Express Newport hotel for convenient links to the M4 and Cardiff. Holiday Inn Express Newport is 20 minutes' drive from Cardiff city centre and 30 minutes' from Cardiff International Airport, with plenty of complimentary parking. Our handy location beside Celtic Springs Business Park, 6 miles from Newport town centre, puts local companies on your doorstep. You can check email with free Wi-Fi available throughout. Make yourself comfortable on a leather sofa in the bar and chat to friends over a beer. Invite 10-55 people to an event in our 5 naturally lit meeting rooms, all equipped with LCD projectors and wireless Internet. Holiday Inn Express Newport offers an inclusive continental buffet breakfast with selected hot items each morning and kids stay free in our family rooms when sharing with a parent. It's just 12 miles to sports events in Cardiff's Millennium Stadium and nights out in Cardiff Bay's lively bars. Our comfy guestrooms are perfect for unwinding in. Inside, you'll find lots of handy features including 32-inch TVs with Freeview, en suites with a power shower and complimentary tea/coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newport Hotel Newport
Holiday Inn Newport
Holiday Inn Express Newport Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing