We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
8
27
19
17
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
27
19
17
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel experience would stay again beds were comfortable room was spotless stayed here for one night train station cleanliness
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2010

comfortable beds, there is a smoking room, you can take in your food, very good cokked breakfast-nothing much for continental but i am sure they would care for if we asked-
bits in the room not good(bathroom door wouldn't open fully, shower frame at bottom hanging off) but so welcoming staff i wasnt bothered
10 minutes walk to centre

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mar22ia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2008

Converted house, pretty grim entrance looks more like a hostel, a bit grubby and not very welcoming. Rooms ok, staff very pleasant, not great quality furniture or bathroom so conseqeuntly falling apart a bit.
Wireless internet connection was good, en-suite was ok. Not the best place to stay but if you need to get your head down for 1 night its ok. More than that you might get depressed - makes going home wonderful.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank yourekidding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2008

Just returned form a weekend in Cardiff and Newport. This hotel offers excellent value and is much cheaper than neighbouring Cardiff, especially when there are major sporting events / concerts taking place in Cardiff. The location of the hotel is ideal, situated in one of the better areas of Newport and is just 10 mins walk from train station and Town Centre. The train station offers regular links to Cardiff Central, but if staying out in Cardiff til the early hours a Taxi back from Cardiff Town Centre would cost around £28.00 on the meter (watch our of taxi firms who try to agree much higher prices and don't switch on their meters!).

Inside the hotel the rooms are a good size and comes complete with en suite bathroom with power shower, towels, tea and coffee making facilities and in room telephone. Adjoining rooms with connecting doors are available too for families etc staying together.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and a complementary breakfast is served each morning. For breakfast there is a choice of a Full English Breakfast as well as various cereals, croissants and fruit.

Reception closes around 10pm although there is a key code entry system which allows 24 hour access for guests.

When visiting Cardiff I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to friends / family.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Das66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2007

We stayed at the Gateway Hotel in Newport last night in a family room. The room was a good size with a double bed and a single bed and an en-suite bathroom (walk in shower, no bath). There was a good amount of tea/coffee making facilities, plenty of toiletries and towels.
All satisfactory so far but in view of the fact that this is a newly opened hotel I was disappointed to find that the furniture appeared very low cost, one of the chairs was broken and some of the bathroom tiles were cracked.
The breakfast was nice with a choice of cereals, cooked breakfast and toast but I don't know what they were using for bacon as it was unlike any other bacon rasher I have seen before.
On the plus side was the location as the hotel was just 10 minutes walk from the railway station and about 20 minutes walk from Newport Centre which was our evening destination.
As there were no facilities for evening meals or a bar area I would class this as more of a B+B than a hotel and I consider the price I paid to be expensive in view of the lack of facilities and poor room furnishings. If I were to stay in Newport again I would look for different accomodation.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maidenfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews