We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm and welcoming”
Review of Gallini's

Gallini's
Ranked #157 of 656 Restaurants in Swansea
Price range: US$23 - US$31
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“warm and welcoming”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Good food, friendly staff, great service and a really good atmosphere. We will definitely go here again, enjoyed every mouthful, the wine was good and the coffee delicious.
Just go and enjoy, I know you will.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ennarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    79
    44
    20
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, ENGLAND
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Average experience”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We were struggling a bit to find somewhere to eat in Swansea, we heard about the Maritime Quarter so thought this sounded like it had potential. We had seen Gallini's advertised in a brochure somewhere so tried to reserve a table for 8.30 but were asked if 8.45 would be ok, I thought this showed they were thinking about the amount of covers they could handle.
When we got to the marina we thought it was a shame there isn't more around there but the marina setting is lovely and although we arrived at the back of Gallini's (looks like a warehouse) - the front outlook is lovely. Inside the decor is quite dated it could do with a refresh and a bit of modernisation.
We arrived and were quickly shown to our table and offered bread and olives - the olives weren't great they didn't taste particularly fresh. Bread was average considering how amazing Italian bread can be.
We gave our order then we waited, and waited, and waited - nearly an hour until our starters came out. I had fish cakes from specials board, very fishy - good.
Fair old wait for the main course - meaning we ordered a second bottle of wine, I went for the pesto tagliatelle with tomatoes and pine nuts - it was ok but a HUGE serving which is off putting, some of the pasta was very stodgy and stuck together and overall the dish was quite dry. My boyfriend had spag bol which he said was nice.
I heard a lady complaining that her chicken pasta didn't have any chicken in it so they bought her some out on a separate dish!
The staff were lovely - that was the redeeming feature really. It was such a shame as in the setting it's in it has great potential. Having said that it was heaving in there so they must be doing good business. But if a competitor opens anywhere nearby they'll have to up their game!
We asked them if they could order us a taxi back to our B&B, I asked if they would tell us when it arrived they said it would just come to the back of the building - needless to say after waiting for 10 mins it hadn't arrived so we had to walk to main road and flag one down. Would have been nice if they had gone the extra mile for us a bit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GingerGirl1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Bad experience all round”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

What a terrible experience. Bad food including 'seriously off' prawns. Value was very poor with some protion sizes so small that we thought one of the 'special' mains was a starter. Two of our party were not well over night after eating the mussles. The service was off handish and bordered on rude. When we sent back the 'off' prawns there was no apology but they delivered another set of prawns 20 minutes later after we had all finished eating and were almost agressive when we said we didn't want them. We complained and had the prawn meal taken off the bill and we got an updated bill. Then when we went to pay they tried to negatiate partial payment . Overall a terrible experience and we won't be going back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim1002010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Superb Fresh Fish and a great atmosphere”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We called in on the off chance whilst we were staying in the Marina for the Swansea Half Marathon. They were very busy, but still managed to squeeze us in.
I'm very glad they did.
The meal was excellent, with superb fresh fish, and excellent friendly service.
The best meal we've had for a very long time - would definitely recommend a visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham,
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere, delicious food”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We were reluctant to go here because there are no other bars or restaurants around it but it came highly recommended by both the receptionist at the hotel and the taxi driver, and we weren't disappointed. There was only one waiter, and as the restaurant was quite busy we thought service might be a bit slow but it wasn't. He was friendly and very well organised. We had fish and it was fresh and delicious. Well worth a visit .

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank madaboutthemaldives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gallini's also viewed

Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Been to Gallini's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing